We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely unexpected surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canelas de Coelho, Porto

Canelas de Coelho, Porto
Rua Elisio de Melo, 29/33, Porto, Portugal
+351 22 2015824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #425 of 911 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New restaurant opened in June 2010.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We chose Canelas de Coelho as a place for dinner on a Tuesday night since the other restaurant located at Foz was booked out.

Parking is available across the street, although much of a rip-off, so we managed to find free parking spots not far (300meters) from the restaurant.

We had salmon roses and scallops for starters. My scallops were cooked to perfection, it was just a pity that for 8eur, only 2 of them were served.
The tenderloin steak was cooked as instructed, i.e, medium rare. Very very juicy, tender, wonderfully seasoned. The syphon Port foam was a great complement, altough the steak didn't need any sauce/jus at all since all the flavors were there. The duck confit was tender, crispy skin, unfortunately the asparagus risotto was a bit on the overcooked side.

What did surprise us the most was the wine pairings (very very reasonable priced and available by the glass, which is not frequent in this price range restaurants). The co-owner owns a winery in the Douro valley and did a perfect job choosing the wines, also the service was great - pleasant, nice, but not poshy or pretensious. The wines were between 3 and 4 euros per glass, and there were at least 3 choices of white, red and green,

Certainly a def. come back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    37
    12
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean, attentive, good range of drinks - but not what I would call a Tapas bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

For a restaurant that describes itself as a Tapas bar we were a little disappointed on the Tapas food.

We selected their meats (cold cuts), cheeses and sausages - expecting them to be served in smaller individual plates, but no they were all served on large plates. The sausage (expected to be chorizo) were in fact simply sliced cold sausage meats of the mortadella style.

The range of the menu was certainly varied and from hearing other diners of good enough quality, but the Tapas side of the menu was certainly in my opinion neither acceptable nor reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Fine meal with attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a lovely meal here. The meats and cheeses were well chosen as an entrée, and the foie gras was subtle, in filo and a little almond. We thoughts the pork with cumin and orange was subtle and well executed. The desserts were the real stars, especially the chocolate fondant with lime sorbet. Excellent wine pairings, esp. the port (of course). The service was the real star: very attentive to food allergies. I have noticed on this site that some downgrade this restaurant because the other guests light up their cigarettes after dinner. I hate smoking, esp. in restaurants, but this is hardly the restaurant's fault, but rather a question of culture. I have seen this all over Portugal and this restaurant should hardly have its rating affected by something which is culturally prevalent (however regrettably).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, really nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We run into this restaurant 'by accident' because the one we wanted to go to (in the neighbourhood) was fully booked and we were really pleased: nice athmosphere, traditional Portuguese food interpreted in a very original way, very warm 'service' ... We liked it so much that we decided to turn back on our last day of our 4-days' stay in Porto and we were even more pleased then than during our first visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ideal for romantic dinners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Dim-lighted, trendy atmosphere, in the epicentre of Porto's nightlife district, ideal for sitting back and relax a good meal, while watching people stroll by.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canelas de Coelho, Porto also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Canelas de Coelho, Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canelas de Coelho, Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.