We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and cheap, best in porto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spot Oporto Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spot Oporto Hostel to your Saves list
Spot Oporto Hostel
Rua Goncalo Cristovao No 12, Porto 4000-263, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great and cheap, best in porto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

One of the best hostels i've ever stayed in. The staff we're super helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms great. there is a bar downstairs with tv and cheap beer, as well as a living room with a tv near the lobby. Location is great, 10 min walk down to the river. Free walking tours and 10EUR pub crawls on the weekend. Included free wifi. A very affordable hostel. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    23
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
20
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. We booked into a 3 bed dorm, but was given at 4 bed dorm with only the 3 people living in the room- so it didn't bother us too much. The staffs were very friendly, showed us to our rooms when we arrived, even help carried our bags.
The hostel itself is very new, clean and the beds are comfortable. Not too big a hostel, just nice and cozy. (Warning: The top bunk bed is very high).
There is a big kitchen area, and lounge area.
Wifi signal in the room is weak, but in the common area is fine.
Breakfast include bed, ham, cheese, variety of cereal and tea/coffee.
Definitely one of the nicest hostel we have stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beja, Portugal
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spend only one night in the spot oporto hostel and it was really a very nice stay.
Begining with a warm welcome from Iris, she walked throught the whole hostel with us, over the fantastic roommats, up to a nice and free breakfast at the next morning.
The only downside is, the hostel is situated a little bit offside of the city but only tem minute walk to the heart of the old town.
Beds, kitchen, Tv-room and bathrooms - everything Ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I just experienced great two nights in Porto, in small, alive, kind hostel, where you feel very relaxed, like at home.
Free tour with Pancho tours and sweet Mia was excelent because it was interesting and relaxed.
Thats the right choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palotina, PR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Excellent place to stay in Porto.
The hostel is clean, safe and the staff is very cool. If you need anything they will help you a lot. I made a lot of friends there. It's also close to the Trindade station and if you like to walk it's close to Ribeira riverside.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here in an 8 bed room. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms were always clean and the beds were comfy. Has a really cool downstairs bar and outdoor area with tables etc - and a BBQ which you can use! Also a nice sitting room and kitchen for chilling out or preparing your own food. It's located a short walk from the city centre - Porto is not too big and can be explored on foot. Free breakfast was a good selection of bread, cheese, ham, jams, nutella, cereals, coffee and juice. Definitely recommend, and a bargain for the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you come here expecting a hostel, you're going to be really impressed. If you come here expecting a hotel, all the stuff that's normal for a hostel will bother you- crowds of people hanging around, banging doors during the night, having loud conversations in the hallway that can be heard clearly in the rooms. Their was also no mirror in the room, which means you need take your stuff to the bathroom down the hall every time you want to use one.... The hostel itself and the people running it were really nice- the people visiting it, not my cup of tea, and it's because of them that I don't know if I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spot Oporto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spot Oporto Hostel

Address: Rua Goncalo Cristovao No 12, Porto 4000-263, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Spot Hostel offers great rooms, great fun in an architectural milestone, fully refurbished for your comfort. Porto Spot Hostel is here to surprise you.Located in the city center, in a 5 min walk from the airport tube, Spot is close to all the beauties of this world heritage city: Clerigos Tower, Old town, Port Wine cellars, night life (at a sound proof distance). Our friendly staff will love to give you all the tourist information, and also those hints you won't find in a guide.The building was constructed in 1935, and was designed by Armenio Losa, well known Portuguese architect. It is one fine example of Estado Novo, a Portuguese style born out of Art Deco. The refurbishment respected the building's originality, adding the expectable amenities of modern comfort. The rooms are spacious, each one with its unique decoration, with key card access, large beds and free security lockers. We also offer you a bar and a nice patio where you can rest at the end of your day, and where we serve our famous dinners daily.A fully equipped kitchen is available, were you can cook your meal if you ever get tired of the fantastic food you will find around town (ask our staff for tips). The living room and the media room will also make your delights. The hostel offers free internet points and free wi-fi is fully available inside the house.We also have a tourist corner where you can find information about the city and its surroundings. Our staff will be more than happy to give you tips on the places you can't miss, and make you a tailor made routing for your stay.Every day we organise walking tours, for you to get to know those special places only locals know. We also organise pub crawls, to be sure you have the best night Porto can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Spot Oporto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spot Oporto Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.