We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Paparico

O Paparico
Rua de Costa Cabral 2343, Porto 4200 232, Portugal
+351 22 540 0548
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 911 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cape Town
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fantastic Portuguese classics with incredible service. A short cab ride away from the centre but within the city limits,but this should not deter you from eating at this great restaurant. Intimate and cosy.
Great sommelier who delivered a great local wine according to our particular tastes. When the volume and richness if the food had us truly beaten our maitre D produced a sorbet topped with a superb Galician gin which did just the trick to bring us back!
Locals everywhere, always a good sign.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    95
    30
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Perfect service, wine & food. I already gave up my search for good restaurants in Porto but this one proved me wrong. Quality has its price though, expect around EUR 50 for 4 courses without wine. Worth every cent. Reservation definitely required, even on a Monday evening. A little bit off the center but the taxi ride was only EUR 7.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

In concurrence with the majority of reviews here - went here as a party of four - excellent food from the cold starters (the mechanics of this has been outlined by others - suffice to say we found it pretty obvious) through to the warm starters and the shared mains (specific mention here for the Veal which was fantastic). Great service - lovely wines / ports / coffee & chocolates etc. the only dish that was sub par was the soup but to be honest I'm still giving this restaurant a well deserved five stars - in short - go to O Paparico....

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“How it should be done....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I booked a table at O Paparico to celebrate my wife's birthday on a short holiday trip to Porto. Even though it's a short distance outside the centre, taxis are very reasonable and it's well worth the trip. The decor and atmosphere is perfect for a quiet, intimate dinner and the service and food was excellent.

It would have been nice to have been asked if we had wanted a drink at the cosy looking bar when we checked in but it was no big deal. With a cheerful "happy birthday" to my wife, we were shown to our table which already had some delicious looking starters ready and waiting for us. The head waiter (didn't get his name) was excellent and attentive, offering wine and food advice. The starters or couverts were so delicious that we ordered some more. The portions were perfect, the scallops and prawn dishes excellent.

For main courses we went for regional specialities.........We chose an accompanying red wine from the Douro region which matched the veal dish we had perfectly.

For the amount and quality of food we had, the price was excellent. It is, of course, an upmarket restaurant, so don't expect it to be cheap. But we have had a lot worse meals for the price of this fabulous meal in O Paparico. Don't be put off by the prices on the menus - in the style of Porto, they are per "dose" i.e. priced for two people. Of course, it isn't a problem to order a half portion.

The head waiter even offered us a tasting of the current cocktail that he was creating and asked for our tips and advice on making it taste better.

Only a couple of small negatives - we didn't get the glass of champagne which was promised by e-mail to celebrate my wife's birthday while, if the restaurant aspires to obtain a Michelin star, it probably needs to focus on a couple of things. For example, providing surprise "amuses" between dishes. When the restaurant got busy, the service level dropped off a little, so we missed the 100% attentiveness that a really top restaurant provides such as keeping the water supply constant to your table, or constantly checking if your wine glass needs to be replenished.

But these were very minor things which did not take away from the wonderful meal and evening we had there. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The taxi dropped us of outside a building that did not have a sign on it indicating that it was in fact the restaurant. However in the window was a menu with a tiny heading saying it was O Paparico. We had booked for 7:30pm but the place looked closed. we knocked on the door and was welcomed in with the explanation that it was likened to entering the home of a friend where you are going for dinner.
we had aperitifs which were very good. After we were taken to our table it was explained that the menu choices were served as a meal for two, so we picked veal as our main course.
The covers (couvert) were placed between us and they were delicious. Our starter was Alheira (Smoked pork sausage) with cabbage. The sausage was good, but unfortunately the cabbage was a bit "stringy" as it included the leaf vein.
When the main course came I expected the veal to be lovely and tender but both my wife and I found it had the consistency of well done steak and was quite "chewy". We managed three of the four pieces before deciding it was too heavy to continue.
We did not point this out to the manager - we were uncertain if this was how veal is normally served. On returning to the UK we have been told it was probably overcooked.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Paparico also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to O Paparico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Paparico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.