We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Porto Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Porto Centro to your Saves list
Ibis Porto Centro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Alegria 29 A, Porto 4000-041, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance saver
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just like any other Ibis, basic but clean and comfortable rooms. Ours was quite big for the average Ibis. Breakfast was at an Ibis standard, but the highlight was the portuguese tarts (or pastel de nata). Front desk staff wasn't too friendly at check in (we arrived very early in the morning and they didn't bother to organise a room for us, even though there were a few rooms getting vacant), but other than that it was fine. Location is quite central, walking distance to restaurants and shops. Would stay there again if looking for a budget accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    609
    137
    10
    3
See reviews for
180
570
82
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was very impressed with the IBIS Porto Centro Hotel. It is in a good location for the city centre. The hotel itself has friendly, knowledgeable staff who are only too pleased to help and it is very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

this is ok as far as hotels go ; nothing special really and there are better choices around if you search for them. but there's nothing wrong with this formula offering and you can sometimes get it at a good price...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I think the only positiv thing about this hotel is the location. It is located in the hearth of the city. Otherwise i have not any thing positiv to say. It is very gloomy. It is located in combination with av very little shopping senter. Very narrow and dark corridores. Elevator goes directly from street to the rooms. Even they told us we have to use the card but it was not necessary. The staff (some of them were rude). They checked our passport when we checked in. And first when she could not manage it she commented that it was false. A jook but not a good one. And when we asked for a pillow the same lady asked us why we needed a pillow?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Maybe the name of street (Portuguese: Rua da Alegria; English: Happiness street) make the staff be amazing, helpfulness and nice! The team of Reception and Bar was great! Thank you!
There is a metro station close to hotel (Bolhão) but I always was walking to Ribeira in front of Rio Douro (Douro River) where there are a lot pf restaurants and bars. A lot of tourists too, but ...
I think the best thing that hotel has the time of breakfast ... From 6h30 to 12h. Excellent time because you can sleep until you want ...
Very good, I recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is excellent value for money in the lovely city of Porto. We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was clean, our room was large and modern, and the staff were pleasant. There was even ChelseaTV which pleased my other half!!

There is a supermarket nearby which is convenient and there is also a tram stop nearby to get to the airport. Nearby there are restaurants and cafes which is useful for mealtimes.

Porto itself is a lovely little place and the Port houses are amazing. This hotel is located in the old town on the opposite side of the river from the Port houses (it's all close when you're down by the river though) so it is a bit of a trek up the hill in the evening to return to the hotel, but you can use the funicular which is cheap and easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. I chose this one because the rate was great (€44 per night including breakfast), there was a car park next door, and it was in central Porto. Turned out to be a very good choice.
Well located within an easy walk of the town. Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast.
The hotel was only let down by the fact that the air conditioning didn't work. It started off cool, but after a while started to get warm. The only answer was to open the window, and then it got a bit noisy. I did report it, but as far as I could tell, all they did was to open the window!
That was the only downside of the stay. Having said that, I would certainly stay there again for the convenience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ibis Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Porto Centro

Address: Rua da Alegria 29 A, Porto 4000-041, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Porto Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.