We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Teatro Porto to your Saves list
Hotel Teatro Porto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sa Da Bandeira 84, 4000-427 Porto Portugal, Porto 4000-427, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A total experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in room 210 which was their least expensive room category. Room was moderately sized, accommodating our two large pieces of luggage and leaving space to walk about comfortably. It overlooked the hotel's internal courtyard, which contained a few tables used for breakfast and dinner seating. We kept the windows closed due to the hot weather & noticed no noise from below. Room's windows allowed in limited but adequate daylight. Our door was distant from any elevator noise but near a door to a seldom used public stairwell. Overall, room was quiet. Mattress, linens and pillows were very good. Room has no drawers (none!) but many shelves. Odd at first but quite fine actually (and think, no drawers banging in the room next store or above!). By the shelves is a bar for hanging clothes but only eight clothes hangers for two people, which is slightly insufficient. Convenient electrical outlets and a bedside table on each side of bed. We checked in late (9 pm) and the AC made room too cold our first night (thermostat broken?) but the front desk made some changes and it was better for remainder of stay. On our final day, we received a complimentary bottle of red wine and some fresh cheese. A nice touch! Missing was a robe (until requested), hair dryer, and clothes iron.

The bathroom was very clean and had a good rain shower head. Insufficient # of hooks and shelves in bathroom. No conditioner (shampoo only),

As others reported, the wifi/Internet cuts out frequently so you must re-connect every hour of so if using it for long periods. Also, very slow early in the morning when everyone is checking emails, reading news, etc..

Hotel's restaurant (Palco) was excellent! Hotel guests receive a 10% discount. The maitre d', Jorge, was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel offers a 2-hour afternoon "cooking workshop" currently for only 40 euros a person! It was not well advertised so be sure to ask about it, You get to talk with the chef in the hotel's kitchen while he prepares for you a 3-course meal of some traditional Portuguese food. Each course is accompanied with local wine. (Food and wine is included in the price.) Two of us did this on a Friday with chef Miguel and Ivo, an assistant or wine steward. They spoke excellent English and talked knowledgeably about food, wine, politics, history and geography. We had an incredible time. DO NOT MISS THIS OPPORTUNITY!

Breakfast buffet (included) was very good, having some cold and hot... even sparkling wine! Sufficient seating indoors and outside.

Gym/fitness center? Never saw it (but did not look for it). The lobby, bar, and hallways are rather dark. Hotel offers valet parking for 12 euros/day.

The porters and folks at the front desk were always friendly and cheerful. (They gladly translated the poetic writing on the hotel's front doors for me.)

Location is very good & central, near the city's train station. An outdoor market is just two blocks away. Also nearby are various shops and cafes. (One night, if not using the hotel's restaurant, try Abadia do Porto, nearby.)

Room Tip: Courtyard-facing room was quiet but daylight was only moderate. Do try the hotel's 2-hour "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    361
    102
    17
    11
See reviews for
84
581
32
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Background: Porto was the first stop on our two week adventure across Portugal and Spain. We had heard good things about the city and were looking forward to tasting port, visiting the sites, and watching the World Cup during our visit. We rented a car and drove from the Porto airport (25 minutes with light traffic).

Hotel: Nice
- clean, modern
- interesting "theatre" decor
- very, very dark just like others have mentioned, still I didn't expect it to be as dark as it was inside the room. Women may have trouble putting on makeup…
- quiet with some street noise and on the eve of the festival it was quite noisy (this was expected, everyone was out on the streets, blowing whistles, etc.)

Amenities: Lacking
- complimentary glass of port at the hotel bar (nice touch)
- breakfast was good, but the room in which they served it was way too small. Guests were literally cutting each other off in line to get a table. I hate feeling like you have to fight to get a table at a hotel breakfast.
-parking available for 12 euro per day (reasonable)
- no iron! I repeat, no iron available for guest use.
- the "gym" is simply an elliptical machine, bike, and exercise ball crammed into a tiny, open room. Honestly, we felt like this was false advertising. Luckily, Porto is a friendly city for runners and we ran across the river to Vila Nova de Gaia and enjoyed spectacular views of the city in the morning.

Staff: Excellent
- friendly, helpful
- multilingual

Location: Excellent
-walking distance to major sites
-cabs readily available

Overall: We enjoyed this hotel, but it was simply average in our book. It was nice, but we probably won't return. Porto is an enchanting place and the hotel is well situated in the city. However, it is lacking several important amenities (iron, larger breakfast space, better lighting). We get the theatre motif, but a bit more light is seriously needed. We are a young couple and we had trouble! We still had such a great visit, being there during the Festa de São João. There was a lot going on and the streets were packed with lively festival goers. We couldn't help but have a great time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great hotel that despite being dark inside (like the other reviews state) is actually very modern & funky in the centre of Porto. Apparently the restaurant is one of the best in Porto - I just wish we knew earlier so that we could reserve in advance

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel was a recommendation from our travel agent and I found myself agreeing with many of the other reviews about the pros and cons of this experience. The style and ambience of dark bronze colours and dim lighting reminds me of the Paramount Hotel in NYC - mood lighting and a bit quirky - but in the aisles and inside the hotel room, a bit too dark and sombre for my liking.

The huge waterfall shower was great but lights are somewhat problematic for effective reading and it was too cold for my liking despite fiddling with the aircon. Breakfast was good value - fresh, hot and a diverse variety although hot items fairly standard.

Location-wise we thought initially it was too far from the touristy Ribeira area but once oriented, it is less than 15 minutes walking along cobble-stone streets with plenty of shopping to distract you from your target destinations.

Not bad hotel if you're into mood hotels, but I'd probably try some others next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparwood, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We were pleased with our stay here. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The location is really nice as you are near the train station, river and shopping. The breakfast was great as it had plenty of food and selection. Our room was clean and a nice big shower. The drawbacks are: the hotel is very dark- the lobby, bar, hallways and room are decorated in dark brown and spot lights inline with the theatre theme. It definitely adds mood but I found it to be too much and hard to see anything. As well, we visited Porto for the sun & the hotel does not accent the sun (tinted windows). My other concern is the bathroom is separated from the rest of the room with a glass door which does not offer a lot of privacy. The hotel is reasonably priced. I would recommend it but it wouldn't be my top pick if I returned to Porto.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We spent three nights in Teatro. All and all we were pleased with this hotel, welcoming at the reception was very warm. They really cared about you ja helped with everything. Compare to this restaurant staff ( bar and breakfast) was suprisingly cold and distant. Theme works at public areas; looks classy and stylish. In rooms it does not work so well; lightinig should be more efective. We had to use our own flashlight to see shelves. Found one more plug there, it was othervise invicible. If you have problems with eyesight or nyctalopia, you should choose another hotel.
BUT we were pleased with with our stay and would recommend this hotel. Location if perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Designed like a theatre set, dark carpets, lots of curtains, dimmed lights, spot lights etc. even costumes on display or hanging on dress rails. Yes it is quirky but in a good way. So different from your usual large city hotel or hotel group. The staff were so helpful, courteous in every way. Breakfast was great, choice and variety.
We went with the Adviser reviews and booked for Dinner. This was excellent, gorgeous and melt in the mouth flavours. Beautifully displayed food on all courses plus a gorgeous bottle of Wine. Doña Maria. Atlantis.
We had a standard double Gallery Room. If you can go up a size, I would recommend it but no complaints, except those given as Advice on Traveller Tips.
Central location, you can walk easily down to the River Edge, Bridges and Historical Sights Hop on/ off Bus nearby. Main shopping, Cafés and Restaurants also within walking distance.
We felt we made a good choice for a three day break.

Room Tip: We had the standard double Gallery room on Floor 4. Room 403. Tight for space. Also as an older tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa Da Bandeira 84, 4000-427 Porto Portugal, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teatro Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.