We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Teatro Porto to your Saves list
Hotel Teatro Porto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sa Da Bandeira 84, 4000-427 Porto Portugal, Porto 4000-427, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bucharest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

very nice and special decoration, large and modern rooms, excellent restaurant, very nice and friendly people, perfect location for visiting the old town. First evening in the hotel restaurant we got a special 7 courses dinner, accompagnied by different portuguese wines. Excellent kitchen and wines. A place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    351
    97
    14
    11
See reviews for
80
561
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great hotel very very good tapas , quirky rooms great showers after a days walking a good base to explore Porto good reasturants close by we had a great welcome on our checkin and all staff helpful peope say its dark inside I think it all adds to the atmosphere all in all great hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We admired the fact that whoever designed and owns this hotel, they had the nerve to go 100% with the idea and make something different. Modelled on a movie theatre, the interior is different shades of brown; the room numbers are like lights on a theatre seat and the corridor lights look like ones from a film set; the carpet has a film strip woven into it and even the seats in reception - from above - look like the middle of a film reel. Our room was large and comfy with a huge free standing bath in an alcove and a brilliant walk in shower. Just as impressive was the restaurant - we tried a tasting menu with twinned wines and the food and drink was out of this world. Breakfast was good too and I couldn't resist a glass of fizz. Location is good for all the touristy things you might want to see and the staff were brilliant. If they gave out Oscars for hotels, this should win one.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a lovely trip to Porto and this hotel and it's staff and restaurant was outstanding. Large room with a big walk in shower which was great. Excellent bar area with some good music. The restaurant is pleasant to dine in and the food is great. The staff are the big stand out for me however. All of them were exceptionally friendly, helpful and had lots of time for us. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful with proper orange juice which was a big bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a great place to stay in a wonderful city.

Thanks Teatro :-)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Teatro Hotel in Porto was a real favourite for us in Portugal. Not only is it very central and an easy location to base yourself from, but the service we received from all of the staff was exceptional. Oscar and Amikar were stand outs.
The rooms are tastefully appointed, the beds incredibly comfortable and lovely bathrooms with a great shower (and no bath - yay!). Breakfast is really good value and has a good selection.
Only downside is it is very dark, but this goes with the theatre theme
I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Teatro Hotel is one of the best we have stayed in it is stylish very clean and the sevice was very good.
We stayed in 308 which has an amazing huge bed and bath that is open to the room, the design and colurs are really well done and the combnation of the browns and coppers really works well, yes some might say it is a bit dark but thats the style of the Hotel.

And the best air conditioning we have ever had it is fantastic after a long day sightseeing to return to such a cool room with no noise or draft from the air con.

The staff were very friendly and provided us with all the info we could have needed ( get the yellow bus for the site seeing tours e12.00 for two days available from the hotel recption ) The bar and resurant staff were freindly and quick.
Breakfast was superb with free champagne !!! and we ate from the bar one night a sort of tapas selection which was superb and beautfly served.

And the best thing about Porto is it is really inexpensive e3.00 for two coffees and bottle of water !!!
Do The boat trips 5 bridges for e10.00 the Sandeman port tour e4.00 the cable car 4.00 euros go to the portocruz wine lodge next to Sandman and go to the new roof terrace fantastic views and 3 euros for a glass of chilled tawny port !!!! amazing.

we also went to the beach on the yellow bus which was a lovely safe area and with some very stylish bars and cafes and clean water.

The hotel is inbetween too Metro stations an the service from the airport is every half hour and takes about 25 mins get off at Trinadad and walk down to the Teatro Hotel, it is a bit hilly so plan your route well and it gets really hot !!!

I would recomend this hotel it was fantastic would defnately return

Room Tip: choose 308 no noise and very cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Teatro Hotel Porto was definitely our favorite hotel in Portugal. It felt very modern and was in a great location near two metro stops, though a lot is within walking distance. The staff was great throughout – very knowledgeable, friendly, and eager to help us enjoy their great city.

I remember reading in other reviews before taking this trip that the hotel was dark. It’s true that the corridors are dim and that the color scheme has a lot of thick brown textiles. Some guests might not want a curtain for a closet door or bathroom door. I didn’t mind it – it did give the place character. My friend stayed in another room and since it was a ‘single,’ there was only a glass door between the bathroom and bedroom areas. I still say 'character;' he says a door would have been better. Décor and personal taste aside, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. We stayed three nights here and that we were able to settle in easily.

The amenities were very nice – from the delicious smelling shampoo and body lotion to the complimentary slippers, there wasn’t anything that they hadn’t thought of.

I usually don’t go for hotel restaurants, but we had a voucher for the on-site restaurant (Restaurante Palco) and decided to give it a try. It. Was. Fabulous. I had one of the best meals of my life there. What a pleasant surprise. Guests are also given a voucher for a free port tasting -- this was a nice touch and so much easier than driving through wine country (though that is great, too!)

If you are driving to the hotel, simply pull up out front, and the valet will take the car to their garage. Compared to our other experiences parking at hotels in Portugal, this was the best system we encountered, and it was well worth the 10€ per day surcharge.

I highly recommend this hotel and think that any trip to Portugal should definitely include a few days in beautiful Porto.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa Da Bandeira 84, 4000-427 Porto Portugal, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teatro Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.