We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, unique style, phenomenal staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Teatro Porto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sa Da Bandeira, 84, Porto 4000-427, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 hotels in Porto
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, unique style, phenomenal staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

If you are the type of traveler that enjoys unique hotels, then the Teatro Hotel is for you. The hotel's interior is unique and very comfortable. The restaurant and bar in the hotel are perfect for relaxing after taking in all that Oporto has to offer. The restaurant offers a variety of selections for the picky eater and is quite reasonable priced.

The room was very comfortable. Perhaps the one thing that stood out to my wife and I was the quality and power of the shower. It was the one thing that kept us going on our super-power tour of Oporto. The room was extremely clean and well kept. We joked that we must have been the first occupants of our room.

Now, if everything about the horrible, I would still rate this hotel a five based on the staff. The staff was out of this world. From the cleaning staff to the front desk to the bartender, everyone we encountered greeted us and act genuinely concerned about 1. Our stay at the hotel and 2. our visit to Oporto. My wife and I are very low maintenance travelers and often try to figure things out on our own, the staff was having none of that....they want you to fall in love Oporto not just visit.

The only thing we did not like was the front door to the place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    271
    72
    13
    10
See reviews for
55
446
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is a super hotel for atmosphere - very dramatic! i stayed for a friends wedding in July and they were smashing - very helpful and kind. I had an in- room massage which was very good and I love the free smellies in the gold bathroom. Breakfast good with loads of fruit and eggs, coffee ok. Nice area and close to old teashop and lots of fabric and jewellery stores - bliss!

Room Tip: Ask for the best -lit room, unless you like gloom! It all adds to the ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The concept is very modern and I found the subdued lighting downstairs attractive. The foyer seats were splendid and the reception staff were truly wonderful. They were always smiling and did all they could to be helpful. The location is good right in the old town and near the river. The problems are in the bedrooms. The designs are attractive and modern but this is at the expense of function. The rooms are dark, certainly too dark for men to shave properly and women to make up. There are no plugs in the basins so washing and shaving are done under running water. The wonderful shower is in a glass walled room as is the separate lavatory. If therefore you would rather that your partner did not watch you sitting on the toilet and wiping your bottom this may not be the hotel for you. Very few have curtains in front but they are difficult to obtain.

Room Tip: Our room 505 had a curtain in front of the loo which we got after 3 choices of rooms. It was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila do Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

In the heart of Oporto, two steps from Avenida dos Aliados, this hotel offers a very unique decoration inspired by the old Theaters. Nini Andrade is the interior designer and as usual she surprise us with incredible details such as the seat in the lobby and the bath tub in the bedroom. Good services, good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandhurst
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Loved this hotel - so different from the usual - subdued lighting that added to the atmosphere. Friendly helpful staff that were only too happy to recommend a restuarant or direct you somewhere. Fresh buffet breakfast which was constantly replenished.Comfortable,cosy beds and a fabulous rainforest shower. The only drawback for ladies is that you could do with maybe a make up mirror light. But all in all we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here for 2 days and had a great time. Service was very personal and professional. Breakfasts complete enough. Good scrambled eggs (not over cooked!), fresh orange juice and a large variety of breads.

One issue was the lateness of rooms being cleaned. Came back at 5pm after a day out sightseeing and room was still not cleaned despite leaving the sign outside the door since the morning. This was quickly sorted out after a call to reception to their credit.

Well worth a stay, especially as a couple.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Teatro Hotel is situated perfectly for the tourist. It's in a beautiful and interesting neighbourhood. It's in close proximity to many attractions. There are good restaurants nearby, shopping streets and the 'hop on - hop off' bus. We walked from the hotel, down through the old city to the river. Also, the specific deal we bought for the hotel included a 7 course dinner that was spectacular!
The hotel design itself is quirky but fun and extremely comfortable.
Because of this hotel, we sought out a Design hotel in Lisbon (which we loved) and are on our way to a Design hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa Da Bandeira, 84, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teatro Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.