We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Nacional 108 | 4300 Campanha - Porto, Porto 4300-316, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Porto
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wished we stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Majestic, marvelous, and top notch. As a member of the leading hotels of the world, this hotel is the place to stay. The lobby, bar and meeting rooms are amazing, with high ceilings, tasteful decor, amazing paintings on the ceiling. Everywhere in the hotel, there is class and attention to detail. It explains why people want to have their weddings here (there were 2 happening when we were here). Best of all, the beds & pillows were very comfortable. If ever back in Porto, this will be my place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    178
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
142
469
5
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
480 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. It was amazing. The public areas are in a former mansion and the rooms are in a former warehouse. The rooms are clean, large and comfortable. It is also very quiet. Our room was a corner room and it was huge. It overlooked the Douro River. High speed internet is free and there is a high definition TV in the room. The breakfast served is amazing. The choices are many. There is no public transportation to the hotel and cabs are about 6 to 7 euros to the touristic parts of the city. The hotel is full feature with every amenity that you can think of. The only criticism is that the bath tub is irregularly shaped with high sides and hard to get in and out of if you are a big person. The staff was always willing to help and called cabs and obtained and printed boarding passes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Everything was wonderful! The setting is beautiful on the Douro River. We had our twelve year old grandson who enjoyed the infinity pool. We walked to the boat harbor for a casual meal one evening. Our only regret is that we should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A lovely former palace converted into a hotel. Just a mile or so up the Duoro River with a lovely pool and almost sea side feel. It's a nice riverside walk (45mins) into the town centre but the taxis are cheap (6E) or there is a regular bus service for 1.85E. Breakfast buffet is huge and staff are helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauly, Inverness-shire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a fabulous hotel. It more than lived up to expectations. The setting was stunning, The rooms in the palace were beautiful, the gardens gorgeous and the leisure facilities were beautiful. The breakfast was fantastic. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. I wanted to find somewhere really special to stay for our wedding anniversary and this was a fantastic choice. We will definitely return to this delightful place. The hotel is a bit of a way out of town so requires taxis, but we knew that before we went and it was a small price to pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Egg Harbor NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at hotel as part of a Vantage river cruise package. Beautiful hotel. Our first room was missing a safe so they moved us right away to a beautiful suite. Staff were wonderful. Meals were great. So nice to sit outside by the river.

Shout out to Vantage since they always book the best hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Pousado do Porto is the most lavish, over-the-top hotel experience I've ever had. The reception, bar, restaurant and other common areas are in a gorgeously baroque riverside palace (built in 1742), surrounded by spectacular gardens and a stunning infinity pool. The rooms themselves are in an impeccably renovated building (and one-time grain storage structure) with fifteen foot ceilings, massive windows, and sleek, elegant bath facilities. Below the hotel structure are ballrooms, and below that (on the river) is a beautiful indoor pool with spa facilities. The staff is helpful, friendly, and oh-so-professional, and the amenities are second to none. The hotel is east of the Ribeira and the rest of Porto (and down a long, steep hill from the main train station), but other than a slightly-remote location, you won't find a more luxurious hotel on this or any other continent. The rack rate for a room is 240 Euros, which for a hotel of this splendor is a relative bargain.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on ground floor of the south side of the hotel, facing both the palace (on one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Pestana Porto Hotel
Pestana Porto Hotel
#10 of 96 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#11 of 96 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#3 of 96 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel

Address: Estrada Nacional 108 | 4300 Campanha - Porto, Porto 4300-316, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto’s Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pousada do Porto, Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo’s outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant at Pousada do Porto, Palacio do Freixo serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel’s bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.