We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely mix of old and new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Nacional 108 | 4300 Campanha - Porto, Porto 4300-316, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Porto
2 reviews
“Lovely mix of old and new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The restored palace is fabulous. The modern rooms are very comfortable. Service was pleasant. The "mood lighting" in the bathroom and hallways is a bit dark. Pool is lovely. We passed by the main entrance three times before we found the hotel. They could certainly do with a bit of landscaping and water in the fountain out front. Location requires taking a 10 minute drive to the heart of Porto

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your constructive comments have already been shared with our management and we promise to focus on improving them.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    145
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
108
374
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was the first Pousada Hotel we stayed in and received the warmest welcome by the staff.
The main building has been restored so beautifully. The staff were so helpful we could not fault anything at all they offered recommendations for restaurants which proved to be amazing and places we would never have found ourselves.
The hotel facilities were first class, the rooms large clean and peaceful.
There is not one thing I could fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Finding the entrance to this hotel by car was a bit of a challenge, approached through was seems like some waste land surrounded by industrial buildings but once you drive up a ramp into the car park everything changes. Reception in the original building was very welcoming and efficient. The rooms are in a separate block which was fine once you worked out the layout. Our room had what should have been a great view across the hotel pool and river beyond but a large historic industrial chimney blocked some of the view - another odd feature of the setting. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and the buffet breakfast was first class. We chose the location to be a little out of the city so it was easy to get to in our car from the motorway and that proved to be the case (apart from finding the entrance as above). We took a cab to the centre of the city for about 7 euros and then walked down to the river and across to the port cellars. The walk back to the hotel from there took about 40 minutes. Overall, the hotel was perfect for our short trip to Porto and we would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent three nights here before heading off inland. The reception staff were excellent throughout our stay. Good sized rooms with robes/slippers to make a trip to the infinity pool easy. dinner in the restaurant was 150€ for four but 3 of us had 3 courses and two bottles of wine. Great service in restaurant at dinner and breakfast (which had a great selection incl a free glass of sparkling!). Couldn't fault this hotel and loved the decor in the public room areas. Provide a shuttle bus into town centre AM and PM.

Room Tip: Go superior for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments about the service provided by our staff! They are indeed a great team.
Looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We has a week there with our 9 month old baby.
At first I thought that the hotel may be a bit stuffy to cope with babies but I couldn't have been more wrong. He was fussed over and talked to and accepted everywhere. Once we had navigated round the hotel using the many lifts (easy if you can use the stairs!) we got everywhere fine.
The room was kept spotlessly clean. So much so that I always bring my own travel cot but the one provided was so perfect I didn't bother unpacking mine.
Beautiful and fascinating hotel with really great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilities very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Any of our Pousadas.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent our last night here as it was only a 25 minute drive to the airport.

What a place! Lovingly brought back from dereliction. A real palace with some of the original paintings on the walls and ceilings. Appropriate furniture for the grand setting and pictures of the renovation can be found. The old grain\cereal factory next door has been transformed into the accommodation and a couple of lifts connect the two.

Not easy to find the entrance to this pousada. We ended up at the back on the wrong side of a wire fence and were directed to go up a ramp round the corner. This we did but it was the wrong ramp! Back to the roundabout and try again. We saw no signs on the road directing us. This could easily be corrected.

We started off in room 207 but the noise from the air conditioning plant outside was annoying when the window was open so we were moved to room 317 on the opposite corner of the building and had a view of the Douro. The noise stopped at around 9.00pm but this varies and can be earlier we were told. In room 207 the music can be clearly heard from the palace as it is directly opposite and not sure what time it stops. Helpful and efficient staff who immediately offered to move us.

Wonderful outdoor pool set overlooking the Douro so one can lean on the edge and watch the boats go past.

Apart from the dustcart coming soon after midnight and two members of staff laughing and tipping the empty bottles into the skip in the early hours we had a quiet night.

We ate a tasty but rather small portioned dinner in the restaurant. Choice of numerous and unlimited desserts set on a table for 8 euros. Tendency in Portugal for desserts to be very sweet.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the air conditioning plant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Porto. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koksijde, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here with family (3 children) in july.
Big rooms very clean, we had 2 interconnecting rooms, great when travelling withsmall kids.
AC works very good.
Nice gardens and pool side with great vieuws on the river.
Two swimmingpools one inside(with hamman and sauna) and one outside.
Bar and snack available at the pool bar.
Superb breakfast with anything you want!
Very good restaurant with special attention (menu) to small childeren.
Nice wine list with very good wines around 20-20€, in all very nice restaurant for dinner and really not expesive. Good service as well, very polite.
Hotel staff is great, we arrived at 3 am(flight cancelled) and no problem.
Free wifi everywere and works flawless .
5 min. drive to the Citycenter.

I do agree the signage at the entrance could be more clear(but we arrived at night)

In all great hotel, good restaurant, nice for families, good location and friendly staff.

I can only recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms available great when travelling with small childeren
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others and also thank you very much for your comments about our services, facilities and staff.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel

Address: Estrada Nacional 108 | 4300 Campanha - Porto, Porto 4300-316, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#5 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto’s Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pousada do Porto, Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo’s outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant at Pousada do Porto, Palacio do Freixo serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel’s bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.