We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should become number one !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 6Only Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added 6Only Guest House to your Saves list
6Only Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Duque De Loule, 97, Porto 4000-325, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 103 Porto B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Should become number one !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We choose this place because it is so well ranked on TA but after our stay I am certain that it will soon be number one! As a group of 8 we stayed there last week for 3 nights and found nothing to complain about. Eventually we were spoiled by the service and kindness of Marianna, the owner. Although still very young, this is the kind of person who really takes care of her guests. From the nice breakfast until the open bar in the evening, everything was perfect. The rooms are basic but very well maintained and clean.
As sometimes owners ask what could we do better, the only thing that I would suggest is: if you ever need to renew the beds (actually very comfortable now) then maybe think about larger and longer beds.
This is the only suggestion I could make and all of us would be happy to come back to Porto and for sure no one would need to look for another place to stay.

Room Tip: 4 rooms at the back (2 doubles + 2 twins) and 2 larger at the front (with double glass windows) Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    41
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
231
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We got the prime room, first floor (Second to us) front. A lot of stairs as the ceilings are very tall, the second floor (Third to us) is almost four flights up Nice breakfast of Scrambled eggs. fresh squeezed OJ, croissants/bread and ham and cheese, but the same everyday.. The owners and staff are wonderful, and eager to please. Funicular to the river/waterfront is only two blocks away, unfortunately it only ran from 8am to 8 pm while we were there so we would take it down to the river for dinner and then taxi(€6 or 7) back. The funicular goes to midnight starting May 1. There is a tram line close but tram transportation in Porto is not really a viable option as it is in Lisbon. Ten to fifteen minute walk to the Santa Benito train station (€8 taxi from the Capahan train station). If and when we return to Porto we will make sure to return here also. You need to note that there is no sign at all in front which confused us when arriving. Look for the address and the blue door.

Room Tip: Second floor front (First floor in Europe) is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

6Only attends to the details that make for a memorable visit. First and foremost, Mariana is a hard-working, attentive host. She really listened to our requests and helped us find places (e.g. restaurants, sites, etc.) that would meet our needs. Brochures would "magically" appear in our room after we inquired about a day-trip out of town. She recommended great restaurants. And, on hearing that I was under the weather the first day, she checked up on my status nearly every time we saw her. Her attentiveness was never intrusive....she was simply diligent in her effort to ensure guests were comfortable and well-informed.

The building itself was a fascinating blend of old and new. Our room, outfitted with modern furniture, also had the original refurbished ornate ceiling. The grand staircases were kept and decorated with modern art. Do be advised that there is no elevator, in case you have mobility problems that would keep you from climbing stairs.

I loved the little touches:
- our towels were different colors. I can't count how many times in other hotels I have wondered which of the towels was mine, rather than my husband's. Easy to remember here that I used the orange towel and he had the blue.
- in addition to the duvet, which many guests love but are much too hot for me, there was a blanket on the bed that I could use instead.
- an apple on each of the bedside tables.
- a reading lamp next to the comfortable sofa (unbelievably many hotels don't offer adequate lighting)

Even if I could afford more expensive lodging, if I ever traveled to Porto again, I would stay at 6Only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A wonderful renovated old house with an absolute sweetheart (Mariana) as your host. We were warmly welcomed with a glass of Port wine after a long train ride from Lisbon. The room was large and spotlessly clean with a huge bathroom and plenty of closet space. There is no TV in the room, but after a long day of exploring Porto you really won't miss it. An amazing breakfast really got each day off to a good start. It featured fresh squeezed orange juice, local jelly, scrambled eggs, meats, cheese, yogurt and plenty of breads and croissants. And Mariana's restaurant suggestions were spot on! Local places that were very affordable and delicious. She also provided us with tons of information on Porto. The location is perfect as it's on a quiet street just a few blocks from the center of town. We had a very early flight so Mariana packed us some goodies and arranged for a really nice taxi driver to take us to the airport. She was probably the most gracious host we've ever had while traveling Europe for many years. Can't recommend 6Only enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

You'd never know it from the outside, but the 6Only is large and quite spacious on the inside. As with most places in Portugal, be prepared to walk up a few stairs. It's clean, efficiently run, and perfectly located. I had thought that the location would be a bit out-of-the-way, but it was only about a five-minute walk from where we wanted to be.

Mariana was friendly and helpful, answered all of our questions and gave us recommendations. Our room was clean and comfortable, if a tiny bit cramped (we had the only twin room, and knew that it would be a bit small, but it wasn't nearly as small as other reviews have made it out to be). There was even a small patio so we could step outside for air.

Breakfast was simple, but plentiful and delicious. Checking in and out was smooth, and Mariana helped us deal with parking. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it for any trip to Porto on a budget.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Run by fantastic, Mariana, who could not be more helpful. It is an old stone house converted to provide comfortable, contemporary-style, accommodation in the interior. Mariana provides a great breakfast and is an endless source of information. The surrounding area itself is not interesting, but it is only a short downhill walk to the Sao Bento railway station and the centre. The B& B represents excellent value and is a good place to stay in Porto for any holiday break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is an absolutely fabulous place to stay in a central but not touristy part of Porto. The house is a beautifully renovated old Porto house, with absolutely beautiful buildings opposite. Inside the house many of the original features have been retained eg large wooden staircases, granite lintels, but it has been modernised to make it comfortable - very light and airy inside. Architects were involved in the renovation, and that is obvious. It looks like design standard.
The breakfasts are fantastic - freshly squeezed orange juice, and interesting pastries. On one day Mariana baked the guests an orange zest cake. She was also very good at suggesting local restaurants to eat in, some of which are completely off the tourist track. It was a wonderful experience, and I have already recommended it to others.

Room Tip: I was in room 5, a twin room with a balcony looking over the back patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 6Only Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6Only Guest House

Address: Rua Duque De Loule, 97, Porto 4000-325, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 6Only Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only six rooms,the 6only was created for those who appreciate urban and modern environments.Situated right in the centre of the city of Porto, it is a unique, cosy and familiar space.It is not a Hotel, but our house, where the old lives together with the new.We are very pleased that you come to visit us. Pedro e Mariana ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 6Only Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6only Guest House Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 6Only Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.