We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cosy setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O Cacula

O Cacula
Praca Carlos Alberto 47 | Porto, Porto 4050-157 , Portugal
00351222055937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 917 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: Pizza, Portuguese, Vegetarian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, cosy setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This restaurant came recommended highly by a Porto local, it was a cosy intimate setting on the same square as our apartment - handy! Its located in the nightlife area of Porto, so a great area to eat and drink in as an alternative to down on the river.

The food was really good, chicken with roquefort sauce was delicious and came with awesome polenta fries, pizza and Francesinha were also great - we wish we'd had space for desert!

Its not cheap, but pretty much in line with other touristy options and much better food than most in my opinion!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    16
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

O Cacula was recommended by our hotel concierge (Eurostar Das Artes). Though the restaurant was somewhat crowed, they quickly arranged a table for 6 and settled us in with drinks and some very tasty Hors d'oeuvres. We had tapas, sandwiches and dessert and really enjoyed the creative presentation and wonderful variety of tastes. Everything about this experience was top-shelf.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very friendly people, lovely food and great prices. Located at the Night Spot. Try the goat cheese with veggies or the curry!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Delicious! Truly gorgeous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went twice to this amazing place. Fantastic location in a hip boutique hotel street suburb of Porto-easy to walk to, and a beautiful location. The service was fast, super friendly and professional. The food was simply to die for-seriously. We're vegetarians and there were too many options to choose from for one meal. The menu was large-they had fish and meat options too. Many tapas, lovely wines and juices and the sobremesas (desserts) were probably divine had we had enough room in our stomachs to try them! Next time for sure! You must go to this gem of a restaurant if you're in Porto.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food in A trendy and Very Friendly Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ended up going to to O cacula totally by chance.

Not only the staff and the owner are extremely professional they are also very friendly ( the owner speaks english very well )

The Pizza is GREAT! I had just returned from Italy and was taken aback by their Pizza. I think it is the only wood oven there is in the whole of Porto. As I noticed the menue was very varied I returned again the following day so that I could try other dishes.

I highly recommend the Black Pasta with Shrimps, and Pepper. My husband had the Picanha Brasileira which was superb.

The dessert were great too! I recommend the Frio and Quente. It is something like Chocolate warm pudding with either lemon or Tangerine Ice Cream!! It is really Superbe. My Husband had the Panna Cotta which was also good.

We tried other restaurants while in Porto but this one became our favorite. Both food, decor, and people are great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Cacula also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to O Cacula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Cacula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.