We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, music and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Guarany

Cafe Guarany
Avenida dos Aliados 85-89, Porto, Portugal
223321272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 1,020 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food, music and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a good mid-price restaurant-café which often has traditional Doro music in the evening. We had a meal there and stumbled on the concert which made for a great evening out. Would recommend it strongly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    244
    68
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Smart cooking: flavors well balanced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

our hotel desk recommended this place as it was just around the corner from Hotel Pao de Azucar. And we are glad we did try it.
The place is spacious and airy and well maintained. The welcome and service overall was good.
I had a duck dish cooked with port wine and my girlfriend just a soup (yes, the portuguese cooking can be heavy:)
The duck was really well cooked with a light port sauce and some tiny bits of pineapple some greens with a bitter taste and potatoes. Wouah, the flavors were great. The sweetness of the pineapple, the slightly bitter flavor of the greens and the port sauce really went together really well. This dish was well balanced with no flavor overpowering the other. Excellent.
We treated ourselves to dessert: not the cheapest, but they come with some excellent port wines.
We had the creme brulée and the chocolate cakes which come with a 10 year old and a 30 year old port wine. Incredible! the combination of flavors was perfect.
In this day and age, where it is all about "eye candy" and were flavors and quality of ingredients are left out, Café guarany gets it right with some really smart and balanced dishes.
We had 1 duck dish, a soup ( which was very tasty too), beer, half a bottle of wine, two desserts with ports and a coffee. The bill came up to about 50 euros which we gladly paid.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“elegant and tasteful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our best meal so far in Portugal. the staff is super professional, the setting is elegant but comfortable, and everything we ordered was extremely well cooked and tasty. recommend: the duck magret. The waiters are all male, in uniform, which may seem too formal. But, in fact, they are just friendly enough, very intelligent and serious about their work. Nothing wrong with that! The deserts are also fabulous. Recommend: Crepes Alaska, almond tarte with pistachio ice cream. Very lively, warm atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Glad we dropped in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Gloomy rainy day here in Porto and my son and a friend decided to get out of the rain and grab something. The place is bright and airy with lots of windows. Live piano music was nice. We snacked on appetizers and had some nice port and dry red wine. Nice place, I would come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good cozy cafe / retaurante in Porto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice food, kind staff, good live music (fado, cuban, piano), definetly a place to return everytime and to spread a word to all the friends.the decoration and staff uniform reminds a classic and trendy place from early 50 or a cruise boat dinners with all tne elegance and posh

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Guarany also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Cafe Guarany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Guarany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.