We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They found solutions to the problems I created” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Escondidinho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Escondidinho to your Saves list
Residencial Escondidinho
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Passos Manuel 135, Porto 4000-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“They found solutions to the problems I created”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was the one who messed up the booking - not them, so you can imagine their surprise at our arrival at 10.30 at night a day early. I logged onto a free WiFi near the train station on our arrival in Porto, quickly banged out a booking before the time ran out and then made our way there.

They were fully booked but found us a room taken out of service for a minor defect, that got us a bed for the night, we were moved into our new room as soon as one became vacant and was cleaned - 9 am.

All the staff were professional - very happy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
5
30
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The worse i ever seen so far. Room very dirty, no light in the toilet, room smelling very bad, very mold, old furniture in an old building. Staff very arrogant when we said that we want leave the place ( even not 5 min. after been in the room) because didn't liked at all the room.
Also is not a great value because 100 mt just around the corner we find a great hotel for just € 10 more than this one. I
I don't who rated this place,but for me is 0 star...just about...!!!!
The fastest check out i ever done !!

Room Tip: Highly recommend to see the room before you take it.!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Perfect place to stay if you are on a budget. Very central location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, however bathrooms would need a bit of revamp. Bottled water and soft drinks available from the reception at supermarket prices, breakfast also available for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed with a friend in a twin room. Good value, the staff were friendly and the room was cleaned everyday and we were given fresh towels, water was hot on demand in the bathroom. No tea / coffee facilities, but there are a few supermarkets and cafes very nearby. Did not have the breakfast so can not comment on that. Very central location but this means that it is noisy overnight. There is no air conditioning so could get stuffy in the middle of summer despite roller shutter blinds. Pillows were lumpy.
The pizza restuarant nearby which you get 10% off at is pretty decent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Room was too hot, no air conditioning. Bed was just about ok. Overall the room was kind of depressing - probably reminded some Portuguese guests what it meant to live under the Salazar regime... That said, on a budget it probably doesn't get any better.... Functional and no frills...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

For what you pay this has to be about the best there is around - Anywhere!
Great location, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, and all and a fantastic price!

If you're going to stay in Porto and you are on a 'Budget' - this one is for you - you'll find it hard to beat - really!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very good location is the only thing good to point out.
Old building, old furniture, old floor and old walls, dirty.
Everything is quite old although clean, but for their price range one can find better accommodation.
The furniture should be renewed, also they have blankets instead of duvets.
The heating system is also old and inefficient for the winter nights. Too noisy place, looks almost as if you were sleeping with open windows.
The bath towels had good quality but were in the room for too long so smelled not like just clean.
The water heater was electric, it was old and installed in the bathroom. Worst it was leaking, so needed to be changed. Really not acceptable conditions for a place that has 4 stars in the designation.
Just the staff was very polite and the breakfast was also ok, served in a place called travelers cafe, in my opinion had good quality, fresh juices and the food was good also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Escondidinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Escondidinho

Address: Rua Passos Manuel 135, Porto 4000-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Escondidinho 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residencial Escondidinho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Escondidinho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.