We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Triunfo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Triunfo to your Saves list
Residencial Triunfo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cativo,1 a 9, Porto 4000-162, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Residencial Triunfo is located on a perfect location to visit Porto. Near the station, near the centre, near the amazing Ribeiro quarter and very near to the little elevator-train that brings you uphill after a day of climbing and descending in the city.
It's a simple place with simple but clean and comfortable rooms. The owner does only speak Portuguese but is always there to help you. You can park your car in a private garage around the corner for 5€ a day, you won't need it in Porto, you can walk or take cheap public transport or taxi.
We have stayed here several times in the last couple of years and will return for sure next time we are in Porto. They don't serve breakfast, but there are several good breakfast places very near, there are also several good and cheap places to eat, though most of them only serve meals at lunchtime.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you mind climbing stairs, try for a room at the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The description of the hotel does not match the reality. I stayed in two different rooms and neither of them had windows. The price when a reservation was made was different when I paid. It was very noisy. The description said it included breakfast either in the room or in the dining room. There was no dining room nor breakfast available! This could NEVER be a 3 star rating as advertised. It was clean, but that is all the positive. Be careful if you book.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice atmosphere and great, clean spacious room. Well-equipped bathroom, great for a couple's getaway.
The hotel is well-located to all the sightseeing, the shopping street is a 5min walk away.
Close by there's a 24h guarded parking lot, where bicycles could be parked for free, so we found it very useful.
The reception lady was very nice, but doesn't speak a word of English. The wifi is fast.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

1.no advice where hotel is.
2. No parking anywhere to allow baggage drop off
3. No one at reception twice!!!!! No advice as to when be there.
4.Try and get 3 x23 kg suitcases up 2 flights of stairs
5.No wonder no photos of outside!!!!!!!!
6. Stayed at some 3 stars hotels eg. Paradores Haro this must be 6 star compared.
7. Worst representation of 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had to book out of Hotel B&B just up the road so we went here to residential Triunfo to find a lovely lady who didn't have a word of English but showed us two very clean rooms.
We chose the bright and sunny double with two windows and a tiled bathroom.
The room is quite large, with a queen size bed a wardrobe and a desk, chair and radiator.
The bed is firm but comfortable and warm, and the room is quiet. The wifi is good too. And the price of €35 per night was good value.
There are plenty of eating options just up the street one block near the theatre.

Room Tip: Tip; instead of trudging up the very steep R de 31 de Janeiro, which runs up the left hand side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I arrived late evening and found the hotel thanks to the recommendation of the locals. The location is great - several minutes walk from the Sao Bento railway and REDE bus stations, right in the Old town, next to the National theater. The room was large, with TV, small desk, closet and tastefully decorated; the bed - comfortable; the spacious enough bathroom - sparkling clean, with large white towels. The hotel is recently renovated inside in the worn looking from outside old neighborhood. A portable heater provided warmth in the cold late November.
I spent 4 nights there doing day trips from Sao Bento to Douro valley, Guimaraes, Braga. There are trains every 10 minutes between Sao Bento and the main Porto Campanha for long distance destinations (no need for additional ticket).The museums and churches of Porto are withing walking distance. I started on the hill and found my way down to the river at Ribeira, where one can get a boat tour to the vine cellars. The funicular from the base of Dom Luis bridge takes you up to the Batalha square (at the Theater).
The hotel does not offer breakfast but there are plenty of places to eat near the Theater;
I could recommend the deli across Sao Bento - they make excellent sandwiches.
The lady owner does not speak English, but she is very friendly and it did not bother me. The experience was very positive.

Room Tip: I had room #103, on the level of the office. The occassional car on the street did not bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights here while running the Porto half marathon. We got a friendly welcome, were let straight into the room although we arrived at 09.30. The room was fine, clean, with ensuite bathroom, and even though it didn't have aircon even on the really hot days we were there it didn't get uncomfortably warm. We had asked to leave our luggage in Reception while we ran as we were flying out that evening, when we returned from the race the staff let us into an empty room that hadn't been cleaned so we could have a shower and get changed in comfort. Great friendly service. The location is terrific as well, really close to lots of interesting buildings in town of Porto, which incidentally we fell in love with. Also, the half marathon is the flattest I have ever done, the whole route is along the river, so for anyone who is looking to do an easy one I recommend it, it takes place each year mid September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residencial Triunfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Triunfo

Address: Rua do Cativo,1 a 9, Porto 4000-162, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Triunfo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Residencial Triunfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Triunfo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.