We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Triunfo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Triunfo to your Saves list
Residencial Triunfo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cativo,1 a 9, Porto 4000-162, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I arrived late evening and found the hotel thanks to the recommendation of the locals. The location is great - several minutes walk from the Sao Bento railway and REDE bus stations, right in the Old town, next to the National theater. The room was large, with TV, small desk, closet and tastefully decorated; the bed - comfortable; the spacious enough bathroom - sparkling clean, with large white towels. The hotel is recently renovated inside in the worn looking from outside old neighborhood. A portable heater provided warmth in the cold late November.
I spent 4 nights there doing day trips from Sao Bento to Douro valley, Guimaraes, Braga. There are trains every 10 minutes between Sao Bento and the main Porto Campanha for long distance destinations (no need for additional ticket).The museums and churches of Porto are withing walking distance. I started on the hill and found my way down to the river at Ribeira, where one can get a boat tour to the vine cellars. The funicular from the base of Dom Luis bridge takes you up to the Batalha square (at the Theater).
The hotel does not offer breakfast but there are plenty of places to eat near the Theater;
I could recommend the deli across Sao Bento - they make excellent sandwiches.
The lady owner does not speak English, but she is very friendly and it did not bother me. The experience was very positive.

Room Tip: I had room #103, on the level of the office. The occassional car on the street did not bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
25
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights here while running the Porto half marathon. We got a friendly welcome, were let straight into the room although we arrived at 09.30. The room was fine, clean, with ensuite bathroom, and even though it didn't have aircon even on the really hot days we were there it didn't get uncomfortably warm. We had asked to leave our luggage in Reception while we ran as we were flying out that evening, when we returned from the race the staff let us into an empty room that hadn't been cleaned so we could have a shower and get changed in comfort. Great friendly service. The location is terrific as well, really close to lots of interesting buildings in town of Porto, which incidentally we fell in love with. Also, the half marathon is the flattest I have ever done, the whole route is along the river, so for anyone who is looking to do an easy one I recommend it, it takes place each year mid September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We arrived at Triunfo, and discovered an old and naughty building. The nice receptionist met us in the door, and showed us that it looked completely different inside.
He didn't speak one English word, but he contacted an English-speaking woman on the phone.
We had a large room with a view over Porto's roofs.
He also offered us a garage for the motorbike, 5€ a day only a few meters from the hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

this hotel was incredibly cheap, 48 euros for two people. we were only there for one night so it was fine. This place would be good for someone on a budget.

The room was FREEZING cold but they brought up a small space heater. I had to take a hot bath before bed in order to sleep. The location is good especially for visiting the port companies which are just across the bridge. there was free wi-fi and we were able to find free street parking as it was a Saturday.

The rooms were small but clean. the bed was not very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the hotel.
In summary-
It was clean, larger than anticipated and very welcoming. the only drawback is maybe the location.

In detail-
We received one of the larger rooms.
The room was very clean, the bathroom was very large for a budget hotel. However only bar soap was provided and the showerhead could not be fixed to the wall.

The lady who operates the hotel was very nice, but she speaks Portugese. (which was fine for us).

The location is very central. but maybe is not the most safe. however I don't know if any other central locations are considered safe late at night.
We came back at 1:00AM and it seemed ok.

The street was quite noisy. It is a small street, but somehow cars manage to make a lot of noise there at night (if you are facing the street).

The room was cleaned everyday and clean towels were provided.
(but only barsoap was provided)
The room does not contain air conditioning, but the large windows provided a lot of breeze (and some noise).

The location was great as it is extremely center and very close to the churches, train station or any big attraction.

If you are on a budget I would diffidently recommend this hotel.
The only case I would not recommend it, is probably to a solo traveler who plans to return to the hotel late at night.

Room Tip: She will give you a good room if you stay long
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We arrived late evening and found parking in front of the hotel, for free but actually not the safest: the owner suggested us to keep averything with us and not to leave bags and luggages there.. safer :-) But it wasn't a scary district at all, it's in the heart of Porto!
We could bring surfboards upstairs under the owner supervision. She was really nice! The room was basic, everything that you need was in, but no more :-). It was clean all in all and tidy..
It was absolutely value for money suited for young travellers who want to spend time outside and need a bed to rest!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Porto is the worst place I have driven in Portugal but armed only with directions from via Michelin my partner managed to guide me in first attempt. We chose this place because it seemed that free parking was available (the last time we spent two nights in Porto the parking cost us 25euro) so we factored this in to the overall cost.

When we arrived all the street parking was to pay for but the man in the snooker hall moved his van for us (still on the street) and told us to park in his spot and not bother about paying - it seems that there is a loose arrangement whereby to help local businesses a blind eye is turned to parking payment. Sorry, if you are not travelling by car then this is of no interest.

Location wise this place is ok but unless you want to spend a fortune to stay in a hotel by the river then I think that all other accommodation is a compromise. In this one you are nearly on a level with the top deck of the Ponte Dom Luis I which you can walk across or drop down some steps to get down to river level. It's a tiring place to walk around being both steep and in some places cobbled (amazingly you still see women wearing shoes with silly heels).

Find the tourisimo as soon as possible and get a map that shows the bus routes as you'll probably want to hop on one at some stage to get across the river to / from the port wine lodges.

Rooms are basic and not a place you would want to spend a lot of time but they are acceptable. The lady who was there spoke no english (which is why the man from the snooker place spoke to us)
There is no breakfast here but there are a plenty of places to eat just down the street.

It's worth a trip to the port wine lodges and it's not necessary to book but in many of them whoever turns up or books a tour first determines the language for that particular tour. We went to Grahams and paid just a head of the 8 Germans and 2 Japanese so the tour was in English.

Casa Adao on the Gaia side of the river is a good place to eat and far better value than the Porto side.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Triunfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Triunfo

Address: Rua do Cativo,1 a 9, Porto 4000-162, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Triunfo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residencial Triunfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Triunfo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.