We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Porto trip…and Portugal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Douro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest House Douro
Save
You added Guest House Douro to your Saves list
99 - 101 rua Fonte Taurina, Porto 4050-270, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 105 Porto B&B and Inns
seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of Porto trip…and Portugal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The highlight of our trip to Portugal was our time in Porto…and it was because of our stay at Guest House Douro. Carmen and Joao took such good care of us as guests in the inn and tourists in the city they know and love. The Guest House is so perfectly situated just off the river and provided a great place to access both the Porto sights and visits to the port houses across the river. This is a magical place!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the river side and it was so quiet and the view enchanting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
377
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is the only place you should stay in Porto. Unless you're travelling with 10 people. Or want a big business / conference hotel. What Carmen and João have done is special. This hotel has incredible location on the waterfront in the old historical region. It's an old building that got gutted and the interior is fresh and modern. These rooms are not massive, but fine for a couple. Views of the river available. But most importantly, Carmen and Joao make you feel like you're visiting family. The good kind of family. Everything is taken care of including hugs in the morning. I felt like I was leaving for college when I was departing...

Breakfast is wonderful. Directions and arrangements are fantastic. Everything is within walking distance. Port served when you arrive. And at anytime you're there. The whole place is filled with little touches of class and love. Stay here.

Room Tip: Get one with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family of 4 arrived at Guest House Douro on a rainy afternoon the day after Christmas and we could not have received a warmer welcome from Carmen and Joao. They are the best -- they instantly made us feel at home and like we had known them for years -- they are charming, fun to talk with, and have a great sense of humor. From the moment we crossed the threshold, they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and well-cared for. This beautiful historic house has been meticulously renovated with a modern and elegant sensibility and everything is maintained in pristine condition. As mentioned by other reviewers, the breakfast is beautiful to behold and delicious to eat. Each day Joao or Carmen helped lay out our itinerary, sent us off with bottled water and umbrellas, and arranged dinner reservations that were spot-on. When we returned in the afternoon and evening, Carmen or Joao offered tea and beverages for our room. Internet connection was great and unlimited. We stayed for 3 wonderful nights, and the morning we had to depart at 6:15 AM, Joao arranged for our taxi, and prepared fresh squeezed orange juice and a picnic breakfast for the road. The 3rd floor set-up worked very well for our family-- we had the floor to ourselves; room 302 with a double bed overlooking the river, and room 301 with twin beds overlooking the street. We're already looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Guest house Douro.
The welcome was so warm, Carmen gave us a lot of advice on what to see in Porto and was so friendly, witty and full of life. Joao prepared an amazing breakfast and was also super friendly and personable.
The room was small but beautiful with great attention to details.
All in all, this made our stay in Porto feel very special.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel with only 8 rooms. Better suited to adults than children. Rooms on the water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Amazing stay at Guest House Douro. As hosts, Carmen and Joao are everything one could wish for: warm, welcoming and knowledgeable. We felt like we were staying with really good friends -- friends who also happened to have great recommendations for restaurants and places to see in Porto!

Attention to detail can be seen everywhere, from the little sachet of potpourri hung in the elevator to the beautiful (and delicious) fruit platter at breakfast, to the offer of hot tea or coffee upon returning back from an outing.

Our experience at Guest House Douro ranks up there with the best, and we definitely plan on a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the water for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I just cannot say enough about what a joy it always was to come back to our welcoming hosts (Carmen and Joao) after spending the day and/or evening touring the magical region of the Douro!

Carmen and Joan take enormous pride in the level of service that they provide and they never disappointed! Everything from the welcoming smile and conversations that always greeted us when we stepped into our home away from home, to the immaculate cleanliness of the entire guest house, to the decor, and right down to the magnificently sculpted fruit that Joao prepared for us each morning. Going down to breakfast to eat the wonderful food and enjoy the enlightened conversations with Joao was indeed one of many highlights each day.

Carmen and Joao, congratulations on developing and delivering a truly exceptional B&B experience. It was worth every penny!

Jim.
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Carmen and Joao were the warmest and most welcoming hosts we have ever encountered. Both were eager to chat and offer suggestions for sightseeing or dining and listen to our daily experiences in their charming city. Breakfast was a work of art. When we arrived back at the guest house after walking an entire day in the chilly rain, Carmen took pity on me and brought a pot of hot tea to our room. It was thoughtful little touches like this that made the visit so enjoyable. Our room overlooked the river and gave us a beautiful view of the lights reflecting on the water surface. Leaving them was difficult - we hugged goodbye and sadly left our new friends.

Room Tip: A room with a view may expose you to people talking along the waterfront, but really didn't dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Douro

Address: 99 - 101 rua Fonte Taurina, Porto 4050-270, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of historical Oporto, the Guest House Douro offers a unique and personal experience. It is the first and only guesthouse on Oporto's waterfront. Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site, the G.H.D. enjoys breathtaking vistas. All rooms offer direct views, either of the Douro river, the Dom Luis bridge and the Port lodges that line the riverbank or of the romantic Fonte Taurina, one of the oldest streets of Oporto. Only steps away from an abundance of attractions and historical monuments. Create beautiful memories and let the Guest House Douro be one of them! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House Douro Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Douro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.