We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ze Bota

Ze Bota
Travessa do Carmo 16/20, Porto, Portugal
222054697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 987 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This isna small and very pleasant place for lunch or dinner. Food is fresh, tasty and not expensive at all. At the beginning you get some very nice appetizers (ofcourse you have to pay for them if you decide to eat them), like fresh prosciutto, cheese, faboulous tuna spread, olives. Main courses are very nice and you can feé and see th difference between Ze Bota and othr neighbouring restaurants.

Why then not 5 stars, only 4? Well, we already ate all of tuna spread when they brought fresh and warm garlic bread :( If they would bring it at the beginning it would be definitely 5 stars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    70
    20
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Most memorable meal in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My friend and I shared an amazing meal: roasted pork with juicy meat falling off the bone, fingerling potatoes, and cabbage all cooked in the same earthenware pot. We also had delicious alheira sausage with a side of the most amazing garlic bread. To top it off, we got a carafe of the house red wine - only 3 euros and it deliciously complemented our meal. We would have had dessert, but were completely stuffed by the end of the meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Down the hill is a comfortable restaurant-hangout, and a little further, a wonderful pedestrian walkway. A beautiful church. We arrived without a reservation and luckily managed to get a seat straight away. The waiters were reasonably friendly and we did try our best to order in French, rather than English (but they did speak English, we could hear them talking to the others). The menu is extensive and we chose the local speciality of slow cooked beef stew with ravioli, the roasted rabbit and a stuffed pork option. We also ordered the house wine, which was very reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food in Porto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very best food in Porto, nice small place, good service, great deserts. Perfect for a great dinner! Simply loved it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Codfish is great; dessert is surreal and service is superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Love the service in this restaurant, they always make us feel like we are part of the family. The quality of the food is very good, specially the codfish and the meat. The desserts are also a high point!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ze Bota also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Ze Bota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ze Bota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.