We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Porto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Star Inn Porto to your Saves list
Star Inn Porto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Senhora do Porto 930, Porto 4250-453, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really nice hotel located a bit outside the centre. It has a minimalist design but it suits really good!
All the staff was pleasant and helpeful. Toilets were clean and bed was extremely comfortable. Only bad point: the walls were quite dirty.
I totally reccomend this hotel especially for couples or if you are looking for a cheap place to stay one night before catching your flight. If you don't have a car it can be far away from the centre but easily reachable by taxi.
Overall was a good experience specially comparing quality/price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel, altough we feel a litlle dispointed for the reasons that took you to leave us so soon.

We're happy that you liked Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    145
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
115
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great price. Nice rooms - beds and good service. Bathrooms are clean. Free Wi-fi in the looby, Breakfast is good to be a continental one. It has everything your looking for a business trip or for a couple of days in Oporto. Nothing fancy, just exactly what you need. There is a supermarket and some good restaurants near, you can go walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms walls are very thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel, altough we feel a litlle dispointed for the reasons that took you to leave us so soon.

We're happy that you liked Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good no frills hotel, basic but comfortable,free internet and friendly staff. A bit away from the center so good if you have a car, also has free parking. Good value for the low prices! Bring some earplugs as the walls are bit thin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel and Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours
Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on my business trip to Porto. This hotel was chosen by my business partner and I accept it. The total price for 3 nights including breakfast was 108 EUR, i.e. it was very cheap. The hotel called himself design hotel. As for outside view, lobby, bar and restaurant I would agree. But the rooms are let say standard design, not bad, I would say good room for budget hotel. In the room there is really everything that you need: wardrobe, writing table, tv, internet bathroom.
The only problem I felled was some smell in the bathroom. It seemed to me that in one of the next rooms someone was smoking and the smell came through ventilation.
The breakfast was corresponding to the price of 6 EUR, There were some variety of sweetness, corn flakes and on kind of cheese and ham. For more days it could be boring, but for 2 breakfasts it was OK. Last day I was leaving early morning so they prepared for me breakfast box to take away.
The stuff was friendly and help me with everything that I needed (taxi, wake up call).
For me as I was on business trip the location of the hotel was not problem, about 500 m from the hotel were one supermarket and 4 restaurants with several kind of cuisines (receptionist explained me the way).
Finally in this hotel I consider excellent the value for money.I would recommend it for business trip (if you do not want to save money), but for tourism I would choose another hotel.,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Pavel

In name of our team i would like to thank you for leaving your feed back about Hotel Star inn Porto.

We hope to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards

Alfredo Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had booked 4 nights at Star inn , Porto but ended up staying only 1 night.
The Hotel is not bad, the lobby is very modern, breakfast is ok and the rooms, although REALLY small, are tidy, clean and the bathroom, despite its size, is clean and modern.
The staff was really friendly, I have nothing to complain about this aspect whatsoever.
However, as we booked through internet and looking at the location map, I could not fully realize how far it was from downtown.
On our firt day we were given directions to the nearst bus stop , 5 min walk from the Hotel. We stayed there around 40 min waiting for a bus. Then it was more 40 minutes until the bus reached downtown, as the streets are totally jammed, traffic lights every block, holding you for endless minutes every 100 metres... I was already tired when we finally reached the centre of the city. On our way back we took the subway and from the station near a hospital we took the taxi . €7 .
On the next day we decided to avoid the bus altogether and went straight to the subway station, on our way back, again, more 7 euros for taxis, plus all the hassle of taking subways, waiting for trains etc.
This was the main aspect that motivated us to change hotels.
another thing was that the Hotel has wifi on its lobby but only hold a laptop cable connection in the bedrooms. As we travel with our tablet, this meant we had to stay at the hotel bar to browse the internet to check tours, maps etc.
It was on our second night, 10pm , at the hotel bar when I decided to move to another hotel downtown and I really dont regret it! I booked via an internet hotel site, got a discounted price, went up to the bedroom and packed my things. 1 hour later I was at an EXCELLENT hotel on Rua Sta Catarina, one block from the metro, with shopping center, downtown, restaurants and cafes at my door step. And with wi.fi in the bedroom, a mini bar and a very decent breakfast! . as well as a big bedroom, big bathroom and very polite staff around. These were the best nights in Porto!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Júlio G, Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Cristiane,

First of all, i would like to thank you personally for leaving your testamonial about your short stay with us.

We feel happy that you liked our Hotel, altough we feel a litlle dispointed for the reasons that took you to leave us so soon.

We undesrtand your question concerning the lack of wi-fi internet connection in our rooms, and we are already menaging that, so in a near future all our guests will find the possibility of easily getting a wi-fi connection all over the Hotel.

We're happy that you liked Porto after all and have a pleasent staying in our town.

If you need anything from us in the future please feel free to contact us.

Sincerily Yours

Júlio Guerra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We chose this specifically to be close to the airport for our departure the following morning, and it did put us within 15 minutes of the airport. The hotel is fairly basic--it touts its artsy edge while also forefronting its reasonable price, but it's clearly more reasonable than artsy. We had a family room for our family of four, which worked very well; the separate bedroom was an unexpected plus. The major drawback is trying to find someplace to eat; the hotel itself had nothing more than frozen pizzas and prewrapped sandwiches (although there was a continental breakfast offered in the morning); we had to drive several miles to find someplace for a light supper, which was challenging for those who don't know the area. It suited our needs, but for a prolonged stay in Porto I would choose lodging closer to the center.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance, especially if you want a family room, since there are very few of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSIP, Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Leslie,
Thanks for your review to our Hotel.It was good to know you and your family had a pleasant stay in our company.Hope to see you again, and please do not hesitate em contact our recepcion services, we will give you our sugestions for nice places to eat nearby.
Best Regards
Júlio Guerra - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Cleaning could be done much better. Room and bathroom were not 100% clean. The staff have little knowledge of porto, or it seemed that way as they were unable to reccommend a restaurant.,
A car is a must to stay here.
Good low cost option

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSIP, Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Em nome de toda a equipa agradeço o feed back registado em relação ao Hotel Star Inn Porto*** . Será um prazer voltar a recebê-lo no nosso Hotel sempre que desejar regressar a nossa cidade.

Atentamente

Júlio Guerra
Diretor Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Inn Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Porto

Address: Rua Senhora do Porto 930, Porto 4250-453, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Star Inn Porto is the first low-cost design hotel in Portugal. Offering simple yet comfortable accommodation, this contemporary hotel appeals to all travellers looking for a reasonably priced hotel. The rooms are well-designed and feature lcd flat screen, power-shower and hair-dryer. The Hotel Star Inn occupies a strategic position between Oporto city centre and the airport. Offering good public transportation links, all of Oporto’s major sights and commercial centres are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Star Inn Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.