We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delfim Douro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Delfim Douro Hotel to your Saves list
Delfim Douro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Quinta do Loureiro | Samodaes, Lamego 5100-758, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Lamego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights as we travelled around Portugal. This hotel really does have the most amazing views - nestled in the hillside on the Douro River, it provides the perfect view from the comfort of any of the hotel rooms. Whilst all rooms have a view, we chose to stay in a terraced room, which is on the "ground level" with a working vineyards just outside the door. The thing that really sets the terraced rooms apart from the other rooms is they have very large sliding doors, which is a great way to take in more of that view.

The rooms are great (spacious, clean, great shower), but the hotel could improve on a few things. First, it would be great if there was an area to put things in the shower, as there is no shower tray/caddy to hold shampoo, soap, etc. Also, the terrace rooms would benefit from having chairs on the terrace to enjoy a glass of wine and enjoy the view just outside the door. Finally, the current Internet interface is quite clumsy - e.g. interface is slow to connect and does not automatically reconnect if your device sleeps, which all mobile devices do.

It is worth noting the hotel is very quiet, which is probably made more apparent in the small common areas. It might benefit the hotel to always play music in the common areas, so it doesn't seem so quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    42
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
81
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our room was very nice, and the view was amazing.

Some warnings:
* we got massively lost because maps say the hotel is on N222, but this road is not marked. Finally, a local person had us follow him there.
* the wifi works fine for surfing, but not for Skype. I had a scheduled business call with a client, and was very embarrassed. After 2 tries in different locations of the hotel, neither worked.
* we ate dinner there, because it was too dark to try to drive. Our entrees took over an hour, and weren't good - just weird-tasting.
* this was the 2nd hotel I stayed at in Portugal with a glass window between the room and the bathroom. Delfim Douro has a curtain, but it doesn't work, so very awkward.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've spent Easter at this Hotel and despite the bad weather we had a very good time.

The Hotel has a fantastic location, on the Top of a Hill with a 180 degrees view, the setting could not be better.

All the rooms have river view and they are very spacious, well decorated and with good materials. one thing that impressed me very much was the good sound isolation which made the rooms very quiet, ideal for some days resting.

The Hotel has a summer pool, and should be ever better during the Hot Season May-October.

The food is excellent, the breakfast is very good, not a huge choice but all good quality products, and the dinner was also very good with good options from the chef and a good wine list to complement.

Last but not the least, the service is fantastic, staff is very friendly, they do anything they can to make you feel well at this Hotel.

After all the good things I must recommend this Hotel, is the best 4 stars I've been in my life, exceeding lots of 5 stars hotels in many aspects.

Room Tip: They are all River facing, so maybe the difference is the Floor, the -3 seems the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oporto/Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you're wondering to take a trip to one of the most unique wine landscape in the world - the Douro Valley in Portugal - experience this fantastic hotel in the rivers' banks. Nicely furnished rooms, top cleanness, very good breakfast service (in the room), wide range of wine tasting in the surroundings, an unique region to have a restful vacation, along with a lot of tasty gastronomic experiences. A must in this region of Northern Portugal!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views from balconies to Douro river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After staying at many quaint hotels through this amazing country, we arrived at Delfim Douro Hotel. There were about 20 people in our party and the staff immediately seemed on edge. Being in the industry, I take note of how employees and management act (especially when they are annoyed). After the kind receptionist checked us in (with a mean manager/owner breathing down his neck), we headed to our beautiful room. The view (FROM EVERYWHERE) is spectacular! The rooms are modern and the shower pressure will blow you away... literally.

We headed back to the pool and bar area to meet up with everyone else. The staff was running around like they have never waited on 10 people before. We all had wine in hand so an hour wait for a turkey sandwich didn't bother us much. And the servers were sweet just confused. We were just happy to soak up the sun and view.

We headed to some local vineyards ( http://www.wonderfulland.com/pacheca/ ) and had a wonderful afternoon. After dinner out, we headed back to the hotel. With new, great bottles of wine in hand, we relaxed poolside. They had candles and lanterns lit. "well, this will be a wonderful night to sit around and enjoy the weather" I thought. I went into the bar to order drinks if they were still open, or to ask for wineglasses if they were not. The bartender said no, he couldn't. then snuck me an empty wine glass.....scared. It all made sense when the HORRIBLE owner just started turning off lights and starring at us through the glass doors. Keep in mind: The time was 9:15pm. The young girl at the front desk was terrified and eventually told us to had to be quiet because the room above us was complaining. The restaurant was the only room above us.

I hate writing negative reviews especially for such a beautiful hotel. The owner/manager completely ruined the experience. I have great pictures from here too but I refuse to post them.

And do not eat here. The food is a complete joke. :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and just wished we had stayed longer! Everything about it was just perfect, loved the confy, stylish decor and quite unique bathroom! Breakfast was to die for with sliced fresh fruit, bread and pastries. Will return for a short Easter break and hopefully try the pool if weather permits.

Room Tip: Request a Room with balcony facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOLKESTONE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend here, and can only say what a wonderful new hotel this is. We had a ground floor suite with a terrace and fantastic views of the Douro. All the staff were first class and ensure that your stay is very enjoyable. You are close to many vineyards and restaurants. We also ate in the hotel restaurant where the food was of a very high standard. There is an outside swimming pool with a nice terrace for sun bathing. We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delfim Douro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfim Douro Hotel

Address: Quinta do Loureiro | Samodaes, Lamego 5100-758, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lamego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Delfim Douro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Delfim Douro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfim Douro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.