We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious treat in beautiful Guimaraes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha to your Saves list
Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Domingos Leite de Castro | Lugar da Costa, Guimaraes 4810-011, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Guimaraes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A luxurious treat in beautiful Guimaraes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We treated ourselves to a night in this beautiful hotel, and enjoyed the comfortable room, magnificent architecture and ambience and fantastic food. The swimming pool and children's playground were also welcome. Guimaraes itself is a gem of a town and must not be missed!

Room Tip: We were in a room in the new buildings, with an extra bed. It was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    99
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
201
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this extraordinary pousada and were extremely taken by it´s different atmosphere..
It´s located on a hill overlooking the village (great view) with a large garden behind it.
Inside the pousada there were several large rooms with decorations that were almost
spooky. You almost expected some ghosts showing up around the corner. The rooms
(thick walls) were very nice and comfortable. The food and sevice were very good.
Interesting surroundings in the area, with a walk down to the village.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the village if you want a view or towards the garden if you want to see the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Customer, we're glad you've enjoyed your stay. It is said that the Monastery was donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154).This Pousada has superb gardens, a magnificent stone staircase and an artificial lake can also be found among the tree. is in fact an excelent heritage. Guimarães is one of the most historical cities in Portugal, being considered the birthplace of Portugal.
Thank you very much for your nice regards on the staff, the room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

One of the grandest hotels I have ever stayed in. The scale and lavishness of the historic public areas was breathtaking - the corridor with the rooms leading off must have been about 50 feet high and 20 feet wide, and 150 feet long. Other public spaces included furnished rooms in 18th century style, grand staircases with beautiful azulejo tiles, gorgeous terraces with fountains and views of Guimarães town, and a full blown cloister - an oasis of tranquility, as well as a full-blown baroque church next to the pousada . The grounds alone were worth the price - woodland walks, ancient stone staircases, old pools and lakes. Immaculately maintained, with great staff, flawless English spoken. The price we paid (about £100 pn for a couple) was one of the best bargains I have ever had. About 25 minutes walk from the historic mediaeval centre of Guimarães. Also - there is a great 2.5km walk from right outside up to the peak at Penha, with great views, and a rocky rustic area with numerous paths, monuments, grottoes in the rocks, and a cathedral!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Customer, we're glad you've enjoyed your stay. It is said that the Monastery was donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154).
Guimarães is one of the most historical cities in Portugal, being considered the birthplace of Portugal.
Thank you very much for your nice regards on the staff, the room
Hope to welcome you again in Pousadas de Portugal.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Been there, my wife and I, for two nights.

The building is an old monastery with amazing indoors. Stay in the top of a hill, very close to the center of Guimaraes.
The food was fantastic. I suggest the daily buffet for dinner, good price, many choices. Excelente breakfast.
Park for free.
Nice pool

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

what a fantastic building with beautiful gardens and grounds - but what a shame that the rooms are fairly ordinary (especially small bathrooms with limited soaps, shampoo, towells, etc)
Dinner was very ordinary - nothing special, and breakfast was OK but not outstanding.
We stayed for one night - dinner bed & breakfast for a couple and it was €214, whereas the previous night we has stayed in the Palacio de Cardosa in Porto which was a genuine 5 star hotel at €157 per night for a couple. This Pusada needs to up-grade the cuisine for dinner and breakfast before it can start to compete with the proper 5 star hotels like Intercontinental.
What a shame, considering the grounds, gardens, and the general surroundings.
In the morning, we walked all around the old city centre of Guimaraes which was truly beautiful - the Duke's Palace and the colourful tiled-fronted buildings - and all the old squares. Lovely !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had decided to spend an extra night in Portugal after enjoying Porto so much. We chose this hotel for its location and history. The location was stunning,as were the grounds and the public areas. An amazing historic building, the staff at the front desk were polite and well trained. BUT, our room was a disappointment. It only had a double bed, on enquiring whether we could have a larger bed or twins were told this was the only type available in the main building. Twins apparently were in the modern annexe but from looking at the exterior we wouldn't have wanted to have been there. 1970's style with full windows taking all the afternoon sun. Our bathroom was very outdated and poorly equipped with very thin towels and few toiletries. We had dinner in the hotel which was awful except for the desserts. The bread was solid and stale.
I ended up sleeping on the floor as the bed was too small. Not what I wanted at £150 sterling per night, but when a lizard ran out from under the mat I requested another room at 2.30am. I was not charged for using the other bed.
This hotel was the most expensive we stayed in either in Porto (which was the intercontinental) or in Spain when we stayed mostly in Paradors. Apart from the historical interest not worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room 516. Even numbers overlook Guimaraes, odd numbers look at the gardens. Both good. The character of the restored classic main rooms is great. Lost of places to just sit and admire or with a ice cold super bock beer! Breakfasts and dinner highly recommended but main praise goes to the staff for their friendliness and willingness to help. First class. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garden side rooms might be slightly quieter. We had a persistent rooster and dog competing from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha

Address: Largo Domingos Leite de Castro | Lugar da Costa, Guimaraes 4810-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guimaraes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city of Guimaraes, the Culture Capital of Europe 2012, you find the majestic Pousada de Santa Marinha, National Award of Architecture in 1985. The Pousada is a result of the restoration of the Monastery dos Agostinhos from the twelfth century. It is around 2 km from the historical centre of the city (classified as a Heritage Site by UNESCO). The Pousada de Santa Marinha is a fantastic escape, where tranquillity is an absolute certainty. Possessing a magnificent view of Guimaraes and considered the cradle city a cultural capital in 2012, where the first king of Portugal, D. Afonso Henriques was born. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool or take walks through the scenic gardens of the Pousada or through the mountains of the historical city of Guimaraes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha Hotel Guimaraes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.