We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Baliza

Restaurante Baliza
Rua 62, 37, Espinho 4500-364, Portugal
+351 22 734 0607
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Espinho
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Carcassonne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

If you're staying in esphino this is by far the best restaurant we found. So much so we ate there 3 times in one week, which is unlike me. This is used by the locals and was full when all the other restaurants were empty which was a recommendation in itself. Servings were huge, good house wine and they leave the bottle of port on the table at the end......big mistake with me! And very friendly staff......a must!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited with a large group(20) and was very pleased with both the food and service we received.
We got a variety of starters and a selection of meat and fish dishes, all were very good and at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Variety and Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

For a first time experience, I was very satisfied with the Restaurant. The menu presents a significant variety, and of all the dishes served had a very pleasing aspect. Fish and meat dishes are available, and the servings are sufficient.
The desert variety is also interesting, and flavourful.
Certainly worth a second visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed at third visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Our third visit did not end up in a pleasant experience. I had recommended this restaurant before. This time we ordered a portion of spare ribs for two. The price was Euro 12 which compared well to the pricing in other restaurants in Espinho at Euro 6 per person.
The quality of the main meal was good. The homemade piri piri sauce excellent as usual. The side was a portion of fries. The rice never showed up on the table and the salad turned out to be a small garnish - just a few salad leaves and slices of tomato.
The surprise came with the bill. They charged Euro 12 per person and not for the plate. That was more than their huge plate of top sirloin with all the sides, salad, vegetables, fries was priced at.
It was probably our fault for not questioning the owner in more detail when we ordered. I mistakenly assumed that prices would be in line with other restaurants and in comparison to other dishes on the same menu.
Stay away from their "specials" unless you don't care about what you spend.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable - good food and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have visited this restaurant twice, decendeding into the basement and navigating around a table filled with old, dusty wine bottles. The atmosphere suffers from being overlighted as many if not most Portuguese restaurants seem to be.
The first time we ordered a mixed grill platter. The serving was huge but dominated by flavorful but thin and not very tender pork slices. Some smaller beef medaillons, pork belly (both good) and cheap frankfurter sausages completed the selection. The plate was overflowing with french fries and garnished with a cabbage mix. Altogether okay but certainly not memorable.
The second time resulted in a much happier visit.
We ordered a Brasilian Picanha (top sirloin) which arrived super tender and very flavourful. Again, a very large serving. Grilled fresh pineapple and bananas with char marks from the wood fired grill were perfect and not overly sweet. Fries were served as side. Pan drippings and juice from the meat substituted nicely for the sauces that I tend to miss in the Portuguese cuisine.
Overall highly recommendable!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Baliza also viewed

Espinho, Aveiro District
Espinho, Aveiro District
 
Espinho, Aveiro District
Espinho, Aveiro District
 

Been to Restaurante Baliza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Baliza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.