We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and homelike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar Bragancano

Solar Bragancano
Praca de Sae, 34, Braganca 5300 , Portugal
+351 273 323 875
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Braganca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a beautiful place in the central square of the historic centre of Braganca. Its situated in an old mansion and serves traditional Northern dishes (eg I had pheasant with chestnuts). Not many tourists go to Braganca, but if they do this is definitely an experience worth exploring.
Vila Real, Vila Real, Portugal
1 review
“Traditional and homelike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A house where everyone are welcomed served by the home owners with kindness and elegance. The food seems to have those secrets of our grandmother. Simple, familiar and so delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    65
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had lunch with a group of friends here and was delighted by both the food and the atmosphere. The restaurant feels like an old traditional house and it looks like quite a bit of care has been taken to keep it as authentic as possible. From the cutlery to the cupboards filled with antique tableware, it all oozes a cozy 18th century charm. Everything comes together to build a coherent feel.
The food is a perfect match for the space's charm. It's simple, authentic and very, very good. I had a pheasant with chestnuts and apple puree. There were no gimmicks to the food, just good products that were very well cooked.
The deserts were also quite nice. Ana told us that she makes them herself, every one of them, and has always made them ever since they opened the restaurant. And it's hard not to appreciate that kind of commitment to keeping the Solar Bragancano such an authentic gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good food but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved the food, but try to go early.
sadly we arrive when more 50 people arrive at the same time (almost), it wasn't an excursion but almost... and we wait 1h30 for the main meal, so it is not a good exemple, but be prepared.
But the wait was worth it... the food and wine were very good.
the servisse is slow but clean and nice.
Worth the try, but have time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetteren Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very authentic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We come in this restaurant since several years and each time we are happily surprised by the entire atmosphere, the good food and the great hospitality of the owners Antonio and Anna.
Thanks a lot for giving us a wonderfull evening during our holiday in Braganàa!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondragon, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old world Portuguese elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We chose Solar Bragancano on the basis that it topped the TA list of places to eat in Braganca. And we couldn't have been more impressed. On the first floor of a traditional 18thC Portuguese house, with linen tablecloths, fine crystal, china and cutlery, overlooking the most delicious patio garden; we ate some of the best home cooking we've ever been served in Portugal. The owners were wonderfully helpful and attentive and the home made liqueur they served at the end of the meal to die for. Truly one of the most wonderful dining experiences in a very long time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solar Bragancano also viewed

Braganca, Braganca District
 
Braganca, Braganca District
Braganca, Braganca District
 

Been to Solar Bragancano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar Bragancano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.