We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Do Elevador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Do Elevador to your Saves list
Do Elevador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte Do Bom Jesus, Braga 4710-455, Portugal (Nogueiró)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Braga
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrific view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

While attending a conference at the University of Minho in Braga, I selected the Hotel do Elevador partially because of its location and size. With fewer than 25 rooms, it proved to be an intimate experience. It is located above the city, overlooking the statuary on Bom Jesus... views are simply spectacular. The plaza/terrace outside the hotel has informal eating/bar/picnic facilities, perfect for a summer evening socializing with friends.

My room was well-appointed, clean and comfortably air-conditioned; although small by US standards, it more than met my needs. There was a beautiful view of the valley (as do most of the rooms). There is an elevator so both floors are accessible. They have a meeting room on the lower level which would be perfect for small business meetings

My conference provided a shuttle each day, with the buses navigating skillfully the many sharp hairpin turns as we descended/ascended the Monte do Bom Jesus. (I was grateful for the skill of our local drivers!) Other transport needs were easily arranged down to the town by the hotel staff. It is also accessible by city bus, connecting to the historic water-powered funicular railway, an experience in itself. The cathedral across the plaza is currently under renovation, but the bells ring out on schedule. (Braga is known as the city of the bells). One must not miss the historic statuary just a short walk down the terraces.

The restaurant serves a complimentary breakfast buffet with a wide assortment of choices. They also serve luncheon and dinner (menu service). The three dinners I had there were well-prepared, with considerate service. Prices range from moderate to expensive. There are also many other interesting places to eat in the city. Of course, being in Portugal, a wide variety of local wines are on offer.

One drawback is that the closest airport is in Porto, a 45 minute (90 Euro) ride away. However, if one is touring northern Portugal, I would recommend making Braga, the Monte do Bom Jesus, and the Hotel do Elevador one of your stops. The city is historic by any standards, with cobblestone streets and many historic buildings such as the Theatro Circo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The view is wonderful. Tool a walk through the park and listened to singers at the church the first night. After that there is nothing to do. There is no pool. The pool is shared and located one of the other 3 hotels on this park. It is small, hot, and indoors. You have to take a cab to go anywhere you can't walk down the hill easily if at all. Rooms are older and small more European.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed two nights here very comfortably. I think every room has a view over the valley. We ate here a couple of times, food was OK but not spectacular. There is no transport down to Braga town, so you have to take a taxi. It's a pretty location at the top of the funicular railway, which is powered by water only. Very green.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Devon, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The area is very beautiful architecturally and has a privileged location, with wonderful surroundings - sitting in the restaurant giving an amazing view over the city of Braga. We stayed at Hotel do Templo but were asked to eat at Elevador Restaurant which is located just across the courtyard. The staff were very attentive helpful the meal was excellent complemented with wine from the Douro region.

Room Tip: All seating has lovely views over looking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I stayed in Hotel do Elevador for five nights as a Prestige Travel client.
It is very beautiful architectonically and has a privileged location, with wonderful surroundings and an amazing view over the city of Braga. Although the rooms are a bit small and the decoration is poor, in need of a room remodeling. The bathroom, on the other hand, seemed recently renovated and was very spacious (almost as big as the bedroom)!

Unfortunately the room assigned to us didn’t have wireless internet, besides during our visit a group of youngsters stayed at the hotel, which made clear its problems in sound isolation.

The breakfast was rich and delicious, the restaurant staff very friendly and the view delightful! However I made a reservation for dinner and when we arrived they told us to wait, not acceptable. The food was good and the presentation as well but there was a lack in vegetarian dishes, the buffet of deserts saved the dinner!

The hotel has a bike rental service, however they were all broken, despite of the efforts of the kind staff. The reception staff was also very welcoming and friendly, always trying to help and make our stay pleasant!

I hope Hotel do Elevador overcomes these failures.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011 via mobile

Nearby attractions are fabulous. Services are good, i didn't try the Restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Not being the best navigators, we were intimidated by the possibility of circling Braga streets in search of a hotel. I remembered from the literature that there were several hotels at Bom Jesus do Monte and, as we were arriving in late afternoon, we drove directly there -- no parking problems and Hotel do Elevador (on the same level as the Santuario do Bom Jesus do Monte) offered a room with a spectacular view of the gardens and city of Braga - and volunteered a small discount! It is modern, clean, friendly with a fine restaurant (also with view of the town). There is a common owner for several of the hotels at Bom Jesus, but the restaurant is in Hotel do Elevador (at the top of the finicular). To me it was romantic; my husband was more impressed about spotting the soccer stadium! We enjoyed strolling around the church and gardens. The next day we went down to explore Braga at a time when the traffic wasn't so difficult. The hotel receptionist going off duty even led us down the hill to make sure we got the right turn off. In all, a great spontaneous experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Do Elevador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Do Elevador

Address: Monte Do Bom Jesus, Braga 4710-455, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga > Nogueiró
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Braga
#7 Luxury Hotel in Braga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Do Elevador 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private hillside villa furnished in a plush manner with antiques, paintings and objects d'art - In the suburbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Do Elevador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Elevador Braga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Do Elevador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.