We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel in a cool city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Braga POP Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Braga POP Hostel to your Saves list
Braga POP Hostel
Rua do Carmo No 61, 30, Braga 4700-309, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Braga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hostel in a cool city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in Braga for only one day, but really enjoyed the city. This hostel is located in the centre (the city is quite small), next to the market and a culture centre. The staff are really helpful and offered us their free parking spot in front of the door. They set the table for breakfast with homemade jams and yoghurt (next to cereals, butter and bread). The room was nice and light, we were happy to find a fan as it would have been too hot during summer nights.
A detail some people might find good to know: the hostel is on the third floor, so you have to carry your luggage upstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    29
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
17
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

i had a very nice stay at a hostel. it is not too fancy but i has everything u have for a nice stay.
helena, the owner, is the perfect hostess. she is very friendly and make u fell home immediately. she also helps u with daytrips and so on.
the breakfast is not the best but okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguacu, PR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed two nights in this hostel and the experience was great. I went just by myself but it was impossible to feel alone there. The staffs were really nice people, and so were the other guests that were there at the time. The rooms are good, and so is the rest of the structure of the hostel. There is a nice breakfast. One day I had to go out really early, and before the time that the breakfast began, and the staffs made the breakfast earlier on that day so I could have breakfast before I went away. This really meant a lot to me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I went to the gourgeous Braga city to perform a Burlesque show, at the best bar in town: Quatorze Bar, which is just a few meters form the Hostel. I was amazed by the cosy and peaceful place that is the Braga POP Hostel. Amazing people work there, and making good friedships when we are having the delicious breakfast is pretty cool.
Watching the sunset in a nice and big balcony it was the top item to describe the peaceful and relaxing place that is this Hostel.
I´ll be there soon, for sure.

Manu De La Roche

Room Tip: If you are alone and want to have more privacy and moments of relaxation take the room for couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Galicia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I went Braga to play with my folk group and This Hostel is very nice and confortable, they have a very good price and the people who works there was adorable. The rooms are new and safetly, and there was a living room for take a moment for you. I want to comeback. There is a good place for take a few days in Braga!!!!!!! Thanks Braga Pop Hostel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went to Braga on a group of 13 people and we decided to stay at Braga Pop Hostel. Since the very beginning Helena, the manager of the Hostel, was super helpful and nice. She knows the city really well and is keen on advising people about the good things the city has to offer you. The Hostel is located in the most charming part of the city and is one the cleanest Hostels I've ever visisted. Since we were 14, we expected some difficulties with showers. However, once again Helena managed everything perfectly. We had a superb weekend in Braga and can only recommend this Hostel and praise its staff. The common areas and the balcony with a beautiful and relaxing view also deserve to be mentioned. Enjoy :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglet
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The night is spent with 2 friends in the POP hostel was great. Wonderful welcome, nice place to meet, share, discover and learn. Simple and convivial for everyone with a reasonable budget. Strongly recommended
Merci à Helena et Flo,
Muito obrigado et à bientôt

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Braga POP Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braga POP Hostel

Address: Rua do Carmo No 61, 30, Braga 4700-309, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Braga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braga POP Hostel is the first hostel of Braga and is located right in the heart of the city, in a 5 min walk from the train station and bus central. B POP Hostel is right at the biggest urban walking area of Europe, where the historical downtown, comercial areas and leisure areas, with bars and restaurant, are. We are just by the City Market.Braga POP Hostel has 6 rooms (single, double bed and dorms), fully equiped kitchen, leisure room with games and music, eating room and a balcony to relax at the sunset. All rooms have key card access and security lockers.In the hostel you can use free Wi-Fi internet and there is a computer for guest to access internet. At our front desk you´ll have guides, maps and all the tips to enjoy your travel.Cash payment only, on arrivalCheck In: 14:00 to 20:00Check Out: 12:00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Braga POP Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braga POP Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.