We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa to your Saves list
Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio Do Cabeco Da Ponta | Apartado 243, Porto Santo Island 9400-909, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just got back from 7 nights all inclusive and have to say if your idea of great holiday is walking on 9km of perfect, unspolit, rubish free golden sand with the the bluest of seas rolling in and staying in a hotel where the staff are just so helpful and nothing is to much trouble then this could be the place to go.
it is a very popular hotel with Portuguese and Italian Familes so the odd crying child at meal times is going to happen.
The food was of a good standard and plenty of choice some really good fresh fish dishes and local style food was a joy to try.
met some nice folk in the quite bar all 14 Brits got together most evenings.
If you want burger bars, big all day English breakfast and sky sports bars then look else where if you want Maderia with a beach and a slow pace of life then this could be for you.

Room Tip: top floor (8) front of hotel for best views and shade on hot evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff and food quality and entertainment.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    375
    86
    23
    8
See reviews for
220
342
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I booked this one week All Inclusive holiday just 10 days before travelling on the 8th July 2013 based on reviews posted on this site. We were not disappointed. We just wanted a quiet weeks holiday to recharge our batteries before child minding duties with our grandchildren during the summer holidays, and the location was perfect.

Porto Santo is a small island with only a handful of hotels and Vila Baleira being one. The Hotel has been open approx. 13 yrs we were told and the main source of custom is from the Italian market consequently a lot of the announcements at the pool etc are in that language.

Direct travel to the island was very smooth with Thomson Airlines and all hotels are within a few minutes transfer from the airport. On arrival at the hotel registration at reception proved a very pleasant experience with welcoming staff and our room on the 7th floor proved to be very pleasant. The room was quite large with roomy bathroom, double bed, wardrobes and drawer space and table and chair inside the apartment and duplicated on the balcony which gave a view across the harbour and the nearby beach. The room was spotlessly clean and serviced daily with towels and bed linen changed regularly. The room has a safe and no charge is made for use of it.

The hotel restaurant is spacious with buffet style meals throughout the week and there is a plentiful choice each day, and food was fresh and tasty. Service from all staff throughout the week and particularly so from Luis and David.

The main building is connected to the Thalassotherapy Centre, outdoor pool and beach bar via a tunnel that passes under the roadway making it very safe for children. The outdoor pool is salt water, not particularly big but sufficient to enjoy some serious swimming or just a dip to cool off. There is also an indoor pool if preferred. Sunbeds were plentiful during our stay but I imagine the demand will increase during the school holiday weeks. Towels are available from reception for a returnable deposit of 7.50 Euro each and can be changed at the poolside.

The Beach Bar is a purpose built building and has a good menu choice (limited if on All Inclusive) but very satisfactory with good food and service provided by Christina and her staff.
The bar will serve alcohol and soft drinks throughout the day up to 6:0pm, however from the 15th July the bar was to be re-opened from 8pm until midnight for the summer season as the evening entertainment was switched from the main building to the beach bar area. The animation team worked hard during the day enticing guests to take part in their various activities, and they also provided the evening entertainment. One downside from a personal viewpoint was their unnecessary use of their Sound system around the pool - often left on loud albeit they had gone for lunch. Good background music YES, but when trying to have a restful holiday it was not always welcome.

The beach at Porto Santo is about 5 miles long and the quality and cleanliness of the and was of a high order. Contrary to what we were told by our rep, the walk into the town of Vila Baleira from the hotel took just under one hour (not the suggested 20 minutes). We walked in along the main road and returned along the beach - the latter being slightly shorter and much pleasanter. There is not a great deal in the town, a few restaurants, bars, cafes and shops , and the ferry terminal across to Madeira but worth a visit. Two espressos and a small mineral water at the Apollo 14 cafe cost the grand sum of 2 Euro (Yes for the lot).

Whilst the beach walk was very enjoyable the one disappointment was the dearth of beachside restaurants - a nice fish lunch would have been most enjoyable but there's nothing there - some entrepreneur could make a killing!

The weather during our holiday was very goof, in the region of 28-30 degrees daily. Our last two days there was quite a bit of cloud but still very warm. Be mindful that you are on an island in the Atlantic and that there is a wind of some description each day. On one day it was particularly strong which made it feel quite cool despite the blue sky and strong sunshine.

Overall this holiday fully met our expectations; a quiet resort, good quality hotel with some very good facilities, courteous and attentive staff that met every request made of them with a smile on their face, and food and drink of high quality and plentiful. We have returned home fully rested therefore objective met.

Rob Wright

Room Tip: Be polite to Reception when you register! The Hotel is "nose on" to the sea therefore mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff, the rooms, food quality, pools and entertainment.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Unfortunatly we had terrible weather which does affect our perception of the Island.
We have returned this week after spending a week at this hotel. The actual hotel is very nice but the all inclusive deal that first choice offers is very limited. All the evening entertainment was in Itallian therefore we were unable to join in. The evenings were very hard as there is only one inside bar and there is nowhere else to go.The food is not really up to scratch of other 4 star hotels we have stayed in before. Beware of the mosquitoes.
The Island is quiet and unspoilt and one week is more than enough.

Room Tip: We were on 7th floor over looking the front of the hotel. Very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

Of course that with bad weather you coludn´t appreciate as suposed.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests. And that´s why we have changed the all inclusive package, offering now more variety and places where to eat and drink in the resort.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Travelled as a family with two children, we found all the staff friendly both to us and the children, and the service we received was excellent. The Island is unspoilt and it is very relaxing. We travelled with First Choice on an All Inclusive Basis and found it to be good Value. The room was cleaned daily, only down side the air conditioning was not that good so we slept with the doors open, which was not an issue as we were on 6th floor. The Hotel is about an hours walk from the town (with two children), Bus service was on time and 1.35euros per person each way. Go on a jeep safari while you are there - very good. Lovely Café at Calhetta half an hour walk from Hotel, turn right out of main gates. Dive Centre based at the Hotel very good with very friendly staff. Hotel pool is very cold - if travelling with children well worth taking pool/surf suits. Beach is lovely, hire umbrellas from the hotel as there is no shade and you will need it if the sun is out. On site children's club and Animation Team activities for Adults and Children if you want to join in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, espacially about our welcoming staff, cleanliness, entertainment and the diving center.

Your comments are very important and motivate us to continue pursuing service improvement to exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

i returned home 0n the 17 june and i was to sad to write a thing about the hotel.but being back in the real world now a week later its my first time writing a review so here goes we arrived at the airport at porto santa
and the thomson flight was full 250 or so went to see the greeters to find out what coach we was on everyone was on big coaches apart from 7 of us got a litlle minibus with are bags and tthe rest went to the pestana down the road from us my first thoughts were have i picked the wrong hotel how wrong i was. nothin but the saftey of the moneys and passports comes at a cost in every hotel i have stayed in not at the hotel vila baleria it was free of charge which made me happy right away the
room was nice, the breakfast was really nice .the island is very green and the hotel makes its own water and produces most of the electric which i was informed from marco the general manager nice of him to take time to explain what was going on in the hotel the animation team were a bit on the crazy side which was good i have spoken to all the staff and if not busy could spare you a few minutes with a nice smile and a beer or two. the really sweet lady is the hotel P R greets all the guest on arrival and when they leave which is nice even at two in the morning and then she up first thing going speaking to guests to see if everything is ok the pool bar was nice and the afternoon tea was the best i have seen in any hotel and the young mini chef which i called her decorated the table with some stunning flower arrangements which sets off the table
i thought the place was well run and i would go back there again lots of guest have mentioned the food and beds and the grounds so no need to write about that there are quite a few italians there i bit noisy at times but dont forget there on holiday to. no germans though
i did enjoy having a go on the quite fast free wifi in the reception area which was quite large plenty of seats and even reached the bar which was super stuff. i could not understand why taxi cost more at weekend nevermind i could have walked i cant wait to go back next year all being well i would recommend this hotel to anyone i have cooked for nearly 40 years and chef even let me have a peek in in the kichen it was as clean as the hotel.well all you guys at the vila baleria thanks for my stay with you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira. You really have chosen the best hotel :).

It is really a huge pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, the room and breakfast. The lady you mention is our dear Margarida.

Your comments motivate us even more to continue pursuing service improvement and exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Took a one week break here. Fairly early season, and not too busy, either at the hotel or non the beach. A couple of minutes walk to the beach through a tunnel under the road, past the swimming pool (unheated, salt water).
All inclusive cuisine was moderately varied, lots of fresh produce. Try the local rye bread, it's excellent!
The hotel was spotlessly clean, all the staff were very helpful, and managers did the rounds regularly, asking for impressions, any problems, etc.
As others have pointed out, beds are on the hard side, but suited 90kg me and 60kg wife just fine.
Overall, a nice stay, and we've never had more attentive or helpful staff.
The tip from the pool guy is worth passing on though: don't place too much reliance on the weather app on your mobile device, the weather can be quite variable - although consistently 20 - 24 C on our stay.

Room Tip: Top two floors are good if you like sitting on the balcony watching the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira :)

It is really a huge pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff and cleanliness.

Your comments motivate us even more to continue pursuing service improvement and exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently came back from a week's holiday at Vila Baleira and the hotel and complex exceeded our expectations.The hotel is spacious and comfortable.The staff are very friendly and the food absolutely delicious.Local Portugese cuisine.If your looking for burger and chips,this is not the place for you.If you're looking for fresh tasty clean local cuisine then this is the place to come.Most of the guests were Italian and we found this a welcome change.They were friendly,loved our children and made us laugh.Entertainment staff are superb.Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were friendly,approachable and professional.Don't miss the 80's disco nights.We had such a good time at these with people of all ages strutting their stuff.It was brilliant.Wished that was on every night.Our room was huge,spotlessly clean and comfortable with a large sea view balcony.Management staff could not do enough for you.We would definitely return and hope to see some familiar faces.This is one of the most pleasant hotels we have stayed inIsland is lovely and unspoilt.Beaches go on forever and are absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your "Excellent" Review! :)

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, cleanliness, food quality, entertainment and our wonderful beach.

Your comments motivates us to continue our work, every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa

Address: Sitio Do Cabeco Da Ponta | Apartado 243, Porto Santo Island 9400-909, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located about 4 km's from the center, the Hotel Vila Baleira Thalassa was originally built with the intention of attracting to the island who wanted to take advantage of the medicinal qualities of its sands and is the best equipped hotel in Porto Santo. The complex consists of 3 distinct areas: In the main building are the rooms, reception, main bar, restaurant, shops, conference rooms, kids club, games room, amphitheater and indoor swimming pool. Connected to the hotel by a tunnel is Baleira Talassa & Spa, a fully independent structure where all thalassotherapy and spa treatments as well as gym and Diving Centre Rheadive work. Also accessible through the tunnel is an outdoor leisure area with outdoor pool, children pool, outdoor children's room, children's playground, shooting, <>, volleyball and beach soccer, the Beach Club and the walkway beach access. The social areas of the hotel and the rooms are spacious and decorated with light colors and local materials. Open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabaleira Thalassa Porto Santo
Hotel Vilabaleira Thalassa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Baleira Hotel Resort & Thalasso Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.