We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed hotel in peaceful and beautiful location - fully recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quinta Do Serrado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Quinta Do Serrado to your Saves list
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio do Pedregal, Porto Santo Island 9400-010, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well managed hotel in peaceful and beautiful location - fully recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We decided to take a five day trip to Porto Santo from Madeira and booked this hotel direct via the email address on their website - the booking process was simple and clear.

The hotel picked us up direct from the ferry port and took us to the hotel - a short trip perhaps ten minutes by car.

The hotel is on the north side of the island, so there are fewer people around - it is a very peaceful location with very impressive views over the northern coast and ocean.

The hotel itself is very professionally run and a lot of attention is paid to detail and customer care. We ate in the hotel for most meals - the food is of a very high standard, clearly much thought has been put into the menu and wine list.

The island is a short trip by car to the Porto Santo beach (5 minutes or so) - this means it is much quieter than the hotels actually on the beach so is a plus if you are looking to relax away from the crowds, noise of bars etc.

We visited the hotel with our two year old daughter and the staff helped greatly to accommodate her - this was much appreciated.

I highly recommend this hotel and would recommend it to others seeking a relaxing and enjoyable holiday in Porto Santo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    22
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just wanted a quick break in the sun during October half term, somewhere quiet. Arrived with my wife Mhairi to find we were the only couple here for the first 3 days.Oh no we thought, why only us. A little tired after travelling and arriving early evening we forwent the evening meal and retired to our balcony with a nice bottle of chilled rose and blanco. Pedro and Michaela were so freindly and helpful abs lovely. Our room was superb, high beamed and wooden clad huge bed and our own private balcony with seats and table. That first night we just sat and admired the views up the mountain (Pico de Castela) and not too distant sea. The peace was beautiful with only the sound of partridge on the hillsides to hear. We just sat and smiled at our luck at finding such a gem. As it got darker a mist came down and we could hear bells getting closer then goats appeared out of the mist followed by a young boy and a large dog whistling and herding them off the mountain for the night.....quite magical. We both slept like logs that night. Breaky was whatever we wanted, just ask, nothing was too much trouble, we were made to feel special. Pedro the owner Manuel's son took us into town and gave us a mini tour that first morning, very kind. We walked the length of Porto Santos superb beach that first morning, lovely sun(mid 20's) and great views (could see Madiera in distance on horizon). That evening we ate at the hotel. Itis one of only 6 recommended by Thomson/First Choice and we were not to be disappointed. The Black pork and Quita do Serrado Cod were superb as was everything we tried on the menu. As ever freindly attentive service from Pedro and amusing and informative chat with mine host with mostest Manuel Sanchez. He reminded us both of a Portugese version of Basil Fawlty a lovely man indeed. Took ourselves and some other guests on a mystery tour one night in the hotel minibus to take photos of Porto Santo at night, great stuff. Maria the little housemaid was our unofficial language teacher, anew phrase everyday and checking our pronounciation. All in all a great experience, beautiful hotel, setting, people and food. Manuel even put on a farewell barbeque the day we left. Highly recommend, a 10/10 from us for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We wanted a quite relaxing, holiday and this hotel is perfect for that. Wonderful staff, excellent home cooked food. Nothing to much trouble, expect a warm welcome that lasts throughout your stay that finishes with a send off drink from a hands on owner. Cant wait to go back

Room Tip: all rooms are quite, clean and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at Quinta Do Serrado and would highly recommend to anyone looking for lovely friendly staff, a relaxed atmosphere, immaculate beautifully decorated rooms, excellent food and a peaceful setting in the hills with gorgeous gardens, pool area and also an amazing Spa! The hotel and staff are simply outstanding and there are too many good points to mention them all (and no bad points at all). The restaurant is excellent and all tastes are catered for including vegetarians. The hotel Spa has a Sauna, Turkish steam room, Jacuzzi and a brilliant tropical shower. As with the rest of the hotel the Spa is so incredibly clean. When you book to use it the whole Spa area is your own- very relaxing and such a treat. The rooms are cleaned/towels changed every day and I have never stayed in a hotel with such a great service in terms of how the rooms were kept. Also the shower was hot and powerful every day/night which was awesome! There is a complimentary minibus to the town/beach to drop guests off in the morning for the day and collect them at the end of the day in time to get ready for dinner in the hotel restaurant. There are also several stunning walks which can be taken by strolling straight out of the hotel gates- Pico Branco/Terra Cha and Pico Castelo are beautiful and have well defined and maintained paths and views of the entire island from the tops of them (where there are also lovely picnic areas to eat a packed lunch). Porto Santo itself is a very safe friendly place with the most perfect unspoilt beach, great hill walks/views, a brilliant little Botanical Zoo (Quinta Das Palmeiras- which we went to twice it was so nice!), a charming pretty town centre AND the best hotel we’ve stayed in so far! Thank you to all at Quinta Do Serrado for the best holiday. Especially a certain Receptionist!! :o) THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Room 215 was lovely, very spacious. Nice view of gardens/hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east ham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Tracy and myself stayed here for a week. The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. I am a fussy eater and the kitchen was only to pleased to meet my needs. izza on satyrday night was ordered by a few people and we all struggled to finish.
The other couples who stayed at the same time made the holiday even more enjoyable after dinner chats and joke telling was great. Went on an 8 mile walk with John and we were escorted by a little dog for four miles. A big thankyou to you all without you the holiday wouldn't have been the same.
Mr Santos is fantastic always asking if everything is ok. Buying drinks for everyone and just going that extra mile to make the stay fantastic. ( A portuguese Bazil Fawlty but a real gent).
All the staff too many to mention were very accomodating and always greeted you with a smile.
The rooms were very nice and the shower was supercharged. (A kettle and a fridge would just make them perfect)
Asked at reception if they could do a packed lunch for our walk up Picoa Castela and this was done withing ten minutes.
Big thankyou to all the staff. Even Mecala whos is crazier than me ( not an easy task). x

Room Tip: 105 ground floor just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for a week for relaxation and total chill out
This was a very freindly hotel and amenities were spot on, except for maybe more Bus shuttle times in the day and at night
The beach and town was a bit of a walk so shuttle then, taxi's back were the order of the day
The hotel was charming and quaint with the staff forever at your beck and call, if you want it
The Owner was there all through our stay and always asking if everything ok
The staff were just lovely and was the chambermaids.. all so friendly and really worked hard so that your stay was enjoyable
In all a very nice place, we met some lovely people and had plenty of laughs
a special thank you to Micala too who was just perfect
Maureen and Colin

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place very pretty & totally clean & tidy all over ,good sized rooms and great shower .staff are just the nicest people ,very helpful .any little problems we my have had where very quickly fixed or sorted ,food good but portions where to large for me so could not manage more than the main course .great place if you like to walk and feel totally safe at any time of the day or night . First time we have been on holiday and got to know & got on with most of the other guests ,which in its self helped to make this a great place to stay & recharge the battery's .obrigada mr Santo and your lovely staff

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Quinta Do Serrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Do Serrado

Address: Sitio do Pedregal, Porto Santo Island 9400-010, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Do Serrado 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Quinta Do Serrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.