We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Facilities and Beach, Food Average, Staff Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-015, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Facilities and Beach, Food Average, Staff Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at the Pestana in July 2012 with my wife and 2 teenagers. The highlight for me was the staff; without exception they were extremely pleasant and welcoming. The food wasn't top-drawer but there is a perfectly good selection to keep everyone happy. The entertainment at night was variable, but we were there more for the family time together, rather than expecting entertainment laid on. It's not a 5 star, but it's good enough that we booked again next year.

They do lift the beach towels if left unattended, which was a great thing to see. This means that you can normally find somewhere to recline and everyone is a little more reasonable in their recliner use than the normal beach holidays I've been on.

The island overall is small, with not a huge amount going on, so make sure you're there for the hotel and beach only.

They need to introduce a better booking system for the tennis court too.

See you in 2013.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa and for taking the time to post your review, which was highly appreciated.

We were all very happy to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s atmosphere and staff courtesy.

It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Our kindest regards,

João Martins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    313
    77
    13
    4
See reviews for
500
663
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went with Thomson back in September for 2 weeks. Very well designed hotel complex. Staff are amazing considering the long hours they work..an inspiration! We were there on the only day it rained in 14 months (it was short, sharp and gone) Clouds over the hills each day and sometimes cloudy mornings mean nothing..the sun always appears and you must use lotion as there is no pollution but plenty of lobsters ..ouch!. Took a smart jacket (waste of time this is casual island). Tried all hotel restaurants and all good with large portions - be warned unless you do some exercise you will put on the pounds. The Thomson beach walk (with Mario) could be a killer on a hot day as he is built like a marathon runner and a lot of us weren’t. It would be easy not to leave the complex but try and get out, Jeep tour is a must. Walk to town along road is easier than along the beach. We hired a quad - never again. I ride a scooter at home and wished I had hired one or a car or cycles. The quad is hard to steer and even harder when 2 up. It tends to go with the camber of the road or ruts........If I could change one thing it would be to get the thermometers to work at the poolside (we love to know what the daily temp is).

Room Tip: We took the ferry to Funchal Madeira for an overnight trip. Best £300 we ever spent as we were going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback, is very important for us and future travellers.

It´s through guest feedback that we are able to confirm new improvements for the season 2013.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the last two weeks of the season before it closed for winter.
We have never had such a relaxed arrival! From landing at the airport within about 45 mins we were in our room ! The island is lovely very quiet with a small town and we knew we had made a great choice!
The hotel is immaculate and all the staff very friendly in particular Andrea who our little boy Harrison loved going to see at the reception everyday and still talks about now !
Our room was lovely very clean and spacious the lay out of the hotel means your never far away from anything, pool was lovely a little cold but that was more due to the bad weather we had( I think we would go slightly earlier next time)
The food was lovely I am very fussy with food and I always had something to eat but I do agree it could be a bit samey.
No problem with any flies while we were there.
The beach is stunning and what swayed it for us to book this holiday it's lovely soft sand we have been to the maldives and are always dissapointed with the beaches in europe but this was gorgeous and stretched for miles, the sea is warmer than the pool! We spent most of our time on the beach relaxing and building sandcastles all day bliss! ( when the weather allowed )
we are hoping to book again soon for next September and hopefully have a suite room as these were lovely!
Thanks to all the staff for the great job you do!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa and for taking the time to post your review, which was highly appreciated.

We were all very happy to learn that the hotels services and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel’s atmosphere and staff courtesy the most.

It´s through guest feedback that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

All the Team wish you Happy Christmas.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon in 2012. We couldn't of asked for anything more. 10 minutes by coach from the airport. Situated directly in the beach, with superb transportation to anywhere on the island within an hour. The staff were all very welcoming and made there best efforts to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
We would both happily return back to the pestana in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa, they are very important for us and future travellers.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, thank you.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

Looking forward to welcome you in Porto Santo in a near future,

João Martins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

me and my partner stayed at hotel pestana earlier on in the year, it was an amazing experience and wish that it could get 6 stars. i have very little that i could complain about. the only criticism is the entertainment, its terribly double cheese burger and despite the effort from the participants you cant help but cringe a little. so bearing this in mind its not a party animals resort. also the food selection although varied i struggled for things to eat around breakfast and dinner time, everything seemed very much the same and it might be difficult finding something that you like if you have special dietary requirements, but the environment, the accommodation, the staff are all perfect welcoming and is defiantly worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa, and for taking the time to post your review.

It´s through guest feedback, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement, therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us and we'll use them to garantee improvements.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the Pestana at the end of October, just before it closed for the season. Unfortunately, weather was quite wet, although, not cold. Totally our fault because we should have done our homework.
However, the hotel was lovely and the location even better. It was on a fantastic sandy beach and the sand was golden. It would have been a perfect location at the right time of the year.
The resort itself is very quiet and it's about a 45 minute into town, although, the town is small and there isn't much to do there.

The food at the hotel was good and the menus were very varied. The rooms were very clean.

We went on the jeep safari and thoroughly enjoyed it - very informative.
I can completely recommend the holiday to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxed break.

Room Tip: Don't rent one of the villas with private pool because they don't have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa and for posting your review on TripAdvisor, which was highly appreciated.

We were all very happy to learn that the hotels services and facilities met your expectations and you enjoy the fantastic beach in front of the Hotel.

We have in Porto Santo 9km of sand beach nominated as one of the seven wonders of Portugal.

Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Our kindest regards,

João Martins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in August.
I know the island well and visit every year. This is the most expensive hotel on the island so I expected it to be the best.
The location is awful. It is situated on the worst bit of beach. The sand isn't golden and the sea has rocks everywhere.
If you stay at any other hotel the beach is excellent.
You can't walk any where from this hotel as it is in a bad spot.
The food choice is mainly buffet. Limited choice, vegtables are not fresh and I got very bored after 3 days.
The staff were nice.
The island of Porto santo is so beautiful it's a real shame that you don't get to see it when in the pestanna.
If you want a standard all inclusive resort full of children and basic food you'd probably love it. If not you'd be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort

Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-015, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa is located on the fantastic Porto Santo beach , a sandy beach 9 km long, and it is surrounded by a tropical garden of 30,000 m2 and two enormous outdoor pools of a natural style, making it one of the best hotels in Porto Santo. This hotel in Porto Santo operates under an "All Inclusive" regime, making it the ideal location for anyone wishing to spend holidays in Porto Santo without any concerns at all. So, if holidays to you mean time with friends and family, enjoying the sun, the sea and the therapeutic sands of Porto Santo, taking a dive into the pool, exercising in the gymnasium, playing a game of tennis on the multi-purpose court, or simply relaxing in the spa, then the Pestana Porto Santo is the hotel for you. The rooms of the Pestana Porto Santo are decorated in tones of blue and ocean green and include a private balcony. Although it is a hotel with "All Inclusive", it has 3 restaurants that offer a selection of Italian and Madeira cuisine and three enchanting bars, which includes the "Sunset Bar", which has fantastic views over the sea. The concept of this resort in Porto Santo underscores the philosophy of preserving the environment, taking into account the needs of sustainability of the surroundings where it is located. Various solar panels have been installed and the hotel has its own desalinisation plant, which has earned the hotel "The Green Key" certificate for its environmental management. The beach of Ribeiro Salgado, which is a concession of Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa, was presented with the Blue Flag by the FEE - Foundation for Environment Education, due to the quality of the water, the information and environmental education, the environmental management, and the safety, services and support infrastructures. The main village, Vila Baleira, is a mere 5 minutes by car from this 5 star hotel, as is the 18-hole golf course, which offers you the unique opportunity of playing on a course designed by the Spanish champion Severiano Ballesteros; all this, with the sea as your horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Prestigia, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.