We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
notts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel is great with lovely ,spacious clean rooms and a great position. Hotel is new and everything is in excellent condition.We had a kitchenette in our room which was really useful. Breakfast good with lots of choice. A couple of small niggles - there isn't really a bar/lounge area to gather in at night although the outside decked area is lovely and will be great when it gets a bit warmer. Also there were no irons to borrow - unusual in a four star hotel. But overall a lovely relaxing hotel on a beautiful island. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Block c overlooks sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like to thank you for sharing your review.
We are very happy to know that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive experience during your stay at Golden Residence Hotel.

We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have a laundry service at our guets disposal therefore and for safety mathers we do not allow irons in any of our rooms. We sincerely thank you for your understanding and remain hoping that you will consider our Hotel for your next holiday.

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    200
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
116
315
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Unbelievable value for money, less than £500 for a week for two, B&B, only regret I did not upgrade to Half Board. We ended up eating 5 out of the seven nights, the quality, range and price is hard to beat, the buffet style offers something for everyone with a different theme every night.

The cleanliness and service is better than 5* hotels I have visited, You do not need to hire a car and would recommend that you arrange your transfer by the hotel or contact the company direct which is www.madeiralimo.com / madeiralimo@gmail.co. The transfers are 25 euro's each way and worth every penny.

The hotel also offers range of day tours around the island and there is regular bus service outside the hotel into Funchal.

The hotel as three blocks A,B & C but I would recommend block C as this is closest to the sea and as fantastic views over the bay.

Room Tip: Side sea view in Block C is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel and facilities.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services, facilities and rates is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Clean and modern hotel. About a 4o minute walk from city centre but has regular buses. Spa is good but can get crowded. Breakfast simple but satisfactory, but limited space so sometimes had to queue for a table. Rooms big with lovely views. Would recommend but would stay nearer city centre next time.mainly older couples, not really a young people hotel. But good shopping centre and great restaurants nearby.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Primarily we would like you to know that we were very pleased to read your review regarding your stay in our Hotel! We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us.

Kindly note that Golden Residence Hotel is proud to have a great variety of guests of all ages. We are sorry if you didn't have a very nice experience, however we will remain improving our services and facilities to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Hoping to welcome you back, we remain,

yours sincerely,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A modern hotel in three blocks with indoor and outdoor pools, great breakfast and a lovely terrace overlooking the sea. Staff were polite and efficient. Restaurant tip. There is a fabulous restaurant down on the sea front worth hunting out for a more local experience and great fresh fish - Doca do Cavalho. Also the number 2 bus leaves from outside the hotel and takes you to the centre in about ten minutes for 2E -much less hanging around than in the tourist busses.

Room Tip: C block is nearer the sea and away from the main road. It also has the gym, pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we thank you for having chosen Golden Residence Hotel for your stay in Madeira.
We are happy to have had the opportunity to leave you such positive experiences.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider our Hotel for your next stay.

Your's sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel itself was in excellent condition: rooms were spotless and everything worked well, outside areas/pool/restaurant, all looked immaculate. But what impressed me most was the quality of the food. Breakfast was the usual buffet but the selection was excellent and the fresh fruit was fantastic. We ate in the restaurant twice in the evenings and had two of the best meals of our stay. Both nights we ate from the a la carte menu, rather than the buffet, and the dishes were imaginative, tasty and beautifully presented. Good sized portions as well. And very reasonably priced. I have low expectations of hotel restaurants, but this place is good enough for diners to come in from outside the hotel, though I don't think many do. Recommendations: tuna steak and pork loin.

The staff were mostly very good as well. When we arrived there had been a mix up with our rooms - the holiday company had promised two rooms together/nextdoor, but we were put in different buildings. After only a little persistence we were upgraded to a two-bed apartment, which suited us even better, particularly as it was S/W facing, so caught shed loads of sun all morning and into the afternoon (ideal for Feb).

Location's not bad - bus for Funchal stops right outside, and nice restaurants in walking distance. Shame that Wifi isn't available in rooms (only in communal areas) - cable internet is available in rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms mostly seem to face either West (perhaps S/W) or East. The West-facing rooms are brilliant for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel and are pleased to have had the opportunity to leave you such positive and memorable experiences.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider our Hotel for your next holidays, we remain wishing you best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

£ 500 for two weeks b+b in a 4* hotel including flights could have been even cheaper if we had known about the deals a few days earlier, but we have no complaints! Lovely room overlooking swimming pool with easy access to gardens with extensive sea and cliff views. Shops at Madeira Forum, great local restaurants and regular bus services into town all convenient. The staff are BRILLIANT! - Generally young , cheerful and unfailingly helpful. We found the beds a bit hard, but extra 'padding' was provided without delay. The indoor pool is warm and inviting, but is located in a rather gloomy basement area and we never saw staff supervising the pool , so beware if taking young children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Block C . West facing rooms overlook outdoor pool but balconies are shaded, whilst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Pros: All the things that matter-Excellent apartment, spotlessly clean. Roomy with loads of storage space. Bathroom first class with instant hot water. Comfortable bed. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Location is good near a long promenade and on a regular bus route to Funchal with a stop right outside the door.
Cons: A few small niggles- Lottery as to which side of the hotel you are on. Both sides have sea views, but one faces more or less South East over a banana plantation, so sun all day and peaceful. The other (we were on) facing more or less North West over a street (cul de sac), so just a glimpse of the sun as it sets in late afternoon (Feb) and the delight of recycling collections at 3 am and early bottle deliveries to the hotel. Choice of English TV channels not great (just Sky news really), although there seem to be dozens of German ones. Had to ask for a kettle which is odd not to have one as standard. You will also need to take your own corkscrew and an egg cup (Now that is getting picky if I'm down to complaining about the lack of an egg cup !!)
Food: not tempted by the hotel offerings but there are restaurants nearby and two supermarkets in easy walking distance if you want to do some self catering.
Overall I would certainly stay there again, but perhaps request a room on the sunny side (even numbers) and not forget to pack my egg cup. (I bought a very pretty hand painted one in Funchal, the only one I could find, and it cost me a fiver !! Portuguese obviously not big into boiled eggs.

Room Tip: I would request a room on SE side (even numbers) if you like a sunny balcony. The other side only se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

It is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#29 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#26 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.