We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My parents live in Madeira and i had to ask for them to check out the hotel as i thought it was too good to be true and there had to be a catch. The hotel really is exceptional for the price. The position was ideal for me as it was also next to my favourite beach Doca do Cavacas. The apartment is spacious and well equipped. I have recommended this hotel to all and sundry. Ideal for anyone who needs wheelchair facilities too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind review of your experience at the Golden Residence Hotel.
On behalf of all our team of professionals, I thank you for your kind words.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    138
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
71
231
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Though some reviewers have rightly stated that the hotel is not in the centre of Funchal, it should also stressed that the frequent and inexpensive bus service to town stops right outside - as does the airport bus. It is in no way remote - all very convenient ! In this respect the hotel offers excellent value for money in a quiet, privileged position, with coastline views. For those who select half board there will be little necessity to go into town at night when the buffet dinner is of such a high standard. This makes for a very relaxed break especially when the rest of the hotel facilities are of an equally high standard . This hotel, indeed this island, does not attract the normal rabble associated with the Costa s . So forget "fish and chips" and think more in terms of salmon and saffron, haddock in coconut etc ie a varied and interesting menu without repetition catering for many tastes.
The staff are very attentive and - as a general point I would say of all the island's inhabitants - want their guests to enjoy themselves. Considering this a "year round" resort I was surprised that no one I met was battle weary of tourists and always keen to engage with their guests. Maybe there s some advice : do not be remote and critical - engage and all will do their best to ensure your experience of this hotel and Madeira in general is one thats worth writing home about. (And for that that they have free wi fi )
Top Tip: Get up into the mountains by bus, especially if there if there is a fiesta going on.

Room Tip: I understand most rooms have a view but not all of the sea.If travelling alone ask for a balcony : o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to inform you how much we have appreciated your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel and are happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience.

We sincerely hope that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, and remain wishing you all the best.

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Golden for one week. The hotel has a great interior design, very stylish, well organized and good selection of facilities. We only had breakfast,,which was very good, at the hotel. My only complain is about the bed; it is quite hard and uncomfortable for sleeping during one week. The mattress was too hard and the pillows too soft. I had to take the mattress from the cough in the living room to make myself comfortable. I woke up couple of times at night and definitely didn't enjoy sleeping there. I think it's a pity because everything in the bedroom was quite nice; the living room, the kitchen, the bathroom, the balcony...

something to highlight is the attention. During my stay was my boyfriend's birthday and the hotel gave him a nice card with a bottle of champagne.

Golden is a bit far from the centre, so you will have to take a bus. I rented a card which was very convenient, not only for getting to the hotel but for going around. It definitely make your trip much more enjoyable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Subsequent to your review, we would like to thank you for sharing with our Tripadvisor readers. It was a great pleasure to have had the opportunity to provide you and your boyfriend a memorable stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

In regards to your opinion concerning the matress in your room, we would like to inform you that all our matresses were bought thinking on our guests comfort and needs, nevertheless, we very much regret to have disappointed you. It is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your boyfriend back to the Golden Residence Hotel and remain taking this opportunity to covey our best wishes to you.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just back from week at this hotel. Quality of accommodation cannot be faulted, the apartments are large, decorated to a high standard and cleaned every day. Shower was great....large and controllable. All staff are friendly and helpful.

The outdoor swimming pool and terrace is lovely, with stunning views. Beach towels are provided.

My only comment is to be aware that the hotel is some way out of central funchal. There are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a supermarket, but you really need to catch a bus ( which are plentiful) if you want to go into the centre. We did walk it a few times, but it takes a round an hour and makes a long round trip!

Room Tip: I'd suggest higher floors for best views from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to have had you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for your review about our hotel and facilities. We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the enchanting Madeira Island and to the Golden Residence Hotel, we remain,

with kindest regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent a week with my husband in block A and a friend had a room in block c overlooking the pool , sea and gardens. Room is an understatement and it was more like an apartment, cooking facilities with a full size fridge, sofa, table , chairs and huge balcony overlooking the sea.
Hotel was very clean everywhere. I have a dust allergy , but didn't sneeze once until I reached home.
Staff were super , always polite and charming.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, good choice of fresh fruit salad, yogurts etc and various cooked breakfasts
There was a good mixture of people from different cultures, Norwegian .. Great fun, Dutch, very relaxed, English, American , no Russians ...
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and where it is situated, very quiet , by the ocean, fantastic sunsets and great restaurants near by.not far in the centre by taxi or regular bus service.

Room Tip: Though we stayed in Block A , which was very spacious, think I would prefer the smaller rooms in blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel and would recommend us to friends and others.

We sincerely hope that in a not too distant future you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holidays.

In the meantime looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spent with my wife our honeymoon at Golden Residence Hotel in Funchal/Madeira. Everything was so great. We found a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived. It was a surprise from hotels staff.
Some details :
- Very good location (in the new built part of Funchal)
- Close to the Ocean (1 min. to walk)
- Close to Forum Shopping Mall (2 min. to walk)
- BUS station near the hotel reception
- Big apartment with a very good side-sea view balcony
- Room extremely clean
- Flat TV with a lot of channels
- Breakfast was so tasty and varied
- Very clean garden with Ocean view
- Quiet rooms and garden, excellent for relaxing

Staff was very friendly. Everybody smiles and helped us in case of any questions.

I will recommend Golden Residence Hotel to everybody who wants to go in Madeira. It was my best choice definitely!

Thank you Golden Residence Staff because you made my honeymoon amazing !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals with our TripAdivor readers.

It was an honour for us to have been choosen as your preferred hotel to spend your honeymoon.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort and memorable moments while with us. Please be sure that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Golden Residence Hotel, we remain,

Sincerely Yours,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at the Golden Residence Hotel. We had a room in Block A, and it was lovely. It was spacious, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed and a beautiful sea view. We had breakfast each morning and there was lots to choose from. We also had dinner two evenings and that was every bit as good as breakfast, again plenty on the buffet to choose from. Really cannot fault this hotel, all the staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel is out of the town centre, but not a problem as there are plenty of buses and taxis, and it is only about 45 minutes walk. Would love to go back to this hotel and to the beautiful island of Madeira.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind review of your experience in our Hotel!

On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I thank you for your kind words. It was a great pleasure for all of us to have had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;