We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, spotlessly clean, good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil, spotlessly clean, good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

On arrival we were slightly disappointed as the hotel appeared to be a modern concrete complex divided into three separate blocks A, B and C. We were soon very happy though! We were in Block B and had a suite which provided us with a large bedroom, lounge and kitchen area and a balcony with a great view of the sea. Here you get the benefit of self-catering facilities as if in a Villa but combined with the comforts of a modern hotel On going over to Block C which has the restaurant and pools we were amazed by the incredible sea views. The location is excellent because any closer to Funchal and it is much less peaceful, with this location you are close to the Forum a large shopping centre with good supermarkets as well as a number of restaurants and other shops; this really is ideally located as you get peace and quiet but are also close to many amenities. The hotel was spotless, modern and comfortable and has access to the internet in several places should you need this. We didn’t use the spa facilities but guests we spoke to who had were delighted with them.

The staff were excellent, friendly and efficient at all times, especially the young trainees and appeared always to work as part of a team. Although we booked room only we ate in the hotel restaurant one night and were amazed at the efficiency of the operation with even the restaurant manager clearing tables and helping out throughout the evening, that is how the staff work. They were all multi lingual speaking Portuguese, English, French, German and probably lots of other languages too, were informed about local attractions and incredibly helpful at all times.

Buses run at regular intervals into Funchal and stop either immediately outside the hotel (number 1 I think) or near the Forum (number 2) which is then a short walk to the hotel.

We really missed everything about the hotel on leaving and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave such positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    154
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
80
252
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed her in a side view suite (two people) for 5 nights on a 'rrom only' basis.

Emailed hotel prior to arrival requesting 'good' sea view and was accommodated in block A (block C which is nearest the sea has rooms not suites) Probably had one of the best sea views and also overlooked the banana plantation and (what looked like some derelict) houses next to the hotel. It was not a problem though as it was peaceful and we had morning sun (when it did shine!)
Level 5 of this block gives immediate access to the main road (but noise was never a problem) and a bus stop to Funchal. Also a 5 minute walk to the pleasant Forum Shopping centre which has a great supermarket to stock up on bits and pieces.Its approx an hours walk to Funchal.

Suite
Modern, spacious and spotless.Perfect!

Reception.
There seemed to be numerous new young staff who were all very efficient and friendly.Check in and out was easy and it was never busy.

Pool.
Visited this on a couple of occasions--weather was not good enough for anything more than this. Pool is lovely and there were ample beds. It was very windy when we were there.

Spa.
Visited this to escape the rain and was pleasantly surprised to have sole use of jaccuzi and pool. Didnt use sauna.

Restaurants.
Didnt visit as booked on a 'room only' basis, though did have a drink poolside which was duly delivered promptly by the waiter. There are a few restaurants near the hotel so you dont have to access Funchal to eat. (see my other reviews)

Couldnt fault the accommodation despite it being a fair distance from Fuchal. I did of course know this prior to booking and wanted to avoid any impact of the seafront construction work going on in the centre of Funchal.Its easily accessible by bus no 1 or 2 which stop just outside the hotel.

I would recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Email hotel prior to arrival with your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It it's with great pleasure that we thank you for sharing such good comments with all TripAdivor readers.

We were very happy to have had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience while staying at our Hotel.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence for your next holiday, we remain looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights b&b was an amazing stay . our room was clean tidy and very comfortable kitchenette was very good . we had a lovely view, we was in block b my mum and partner was above us in block b also . The staff was very helpful and friendly i was sending post cards home and i had been looking for a post box one morning . The receptionist was amazing and very helpful to me and posted my cards which was great help . was a little disappointed with the gym as says open 7 days a week but was not open on a Sunday plus we could not use the sauna, or Jacuzzi till after 5 pm :( . the outside pool was a tad cold but once you got in it was fine has a little changing room by the pool which i thought was a great idea. i thought it was a shame that the floor around the pool side was stony think it would of been better for something different as my hubby and i could not walk around bare footed . also the stones where in the pool :( but overall was a lovely hotel and would go back again next year .

Room Tip: block b room number 605 :) very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like thank you for your comment, which has deserved our best attention.
It is always a great pleasure for us to know that we had the opportunity to leave in our guests positive and memorable experiences while staying at the Golden Residence Hotel.
Concerning your comment, please note that we are one of the hotels in Madeira that does not charge for the use of Sauna, Steam baths and Jacuzzi – because the majority are already charging for it.
Due to the fact that most of our guests spend the day out of the hotel visiting this beautiful island and are back to the hotel at the end of the day; we have decided that only after 17h00 these services should be available for free.
With this management of costs and also thinking about the environment we are able to save and grant that we can continue to have this services for free for some time more…
Certain of your understanding we remain looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Your’s sincerely,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for one week; we booked a suite with (side) seaview. Bed & breakfast only. We stayed in Block B (the hotel has 3 Blocks - you will find the restaurant, swimming pool, sauna in Block C).
The suites are very spacious; the bedroom could be closed off from the living room by sliding doors. We had a little kitchen in our room - couple of plates, cups, glasses etc. were available.
The room was cleaned on a daily basis; the towels were replaced on a daily basis as well. No bath tub.
The breakfast buffet was very nice. Good choice of breadrolls, fresh fruit, yoghurts, eggs, etc. We did not try the dinner buffet.
We could park our rental car next to the hotel at no extra charge. We ate in a couple of restaurants close to the hotel. There are two supermarkets nearby the hotel (on large supermarket in the Forum shopping mall, another one in a building called Centromar).
Madeira is a beautiful island. If you would like to stay in a quiet area of Funchal, I can recommend the Golden Residence Hotel.

Room Tip: The Hotel has 3 blocks. In Block B you will find the reception desk. Block C and B are separated by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guests at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel and facilities.

We were happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays and will look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is very clean and smart with excellent facilities including a heated indoor pool (which we used every day since the outdoor pool was somewhat "chilly"! Lovely large rooms with a kitchen, comfortable beds and balconies with sea views. The hotel is spread over three blocks with the pools. spa and restaurant in block C overlooking the ocean. Reception staff very friendly and helpful although beware of buying the trips/tours from the leaflets in reception since we found the trip by MB Tours to be dearer and not very good. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice but cannot comment on dinner as we ate out.

The hotel is conveniently located near to the Forum shopping centre and several good restaurants (try Real Canoa - you will probably need to reserve a table and the Monumental Grill. These and others are within 15 minutes walking distance. A cheaper alternative to a restaurant is the take away next to the supermarket in the Forum.

A walk into Funchal centre is possible if you are fit and healthy. It tales about 45 minutes up/down some steep inclines. Better to catch the bus (Numbers 1 or 2) from outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider our Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you best regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.hants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had walked pass this hotel on previous holidays and always said how nice it looked.so this year decided to book it.we were not disappointed.we had a Westside facing apartment(as did my daughter and son in law they were below us)in block B which we found to be peaceful.apartment was spacious,bright clean and very modern.kitchenette was well equipped but take your own travel kettle.also a plug for the sink!!huge wet room .we were on b&b basis and it was good value for money.staff were helpful and friendly.only negatives were the cold outside pool and not being able to use the sauna,steam room and jacuzzi until after 5 pm.also was unable to use the gym on Sunday even though it was advertise as open 7 days a week.but even so it is great hotel,good value for money and we will return again next year.would recommend this hotel if you do not want to be in the built up tourist area.it is quite a way out of funchal.there is no courtesy bus.but the local bus stops outside reception.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like to apologise for our late reply. We were very pleased to read your review regarding your stay in the Golden Residence Hotel.

Kindly note that the use of our Sauna, Steam baths and Jacuzzi are only available after 17h00 due to the fact that most of our guests spend the day out of the hotel visiting our beautiful island and in most cases are only back to at the end of the day.

This decision was taken because as an environment friendly hotel and in order to save we can still grant our valuable guests the use of these services for free.

In regards to our Gym schedule we have to inform you that as per their information board, they are open from Monday to Friday from 09h00-21h00, Saturday from 09h00-14h00 and on Sundays as well as on Bank Holidays it is closed.

Certain of your understanding we remain looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Your’s sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Residen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel was very comfortable and well situated with a good communication with the center of Funchal. Room was very nice and quite big with a sea view. Restaurant was serving delicious and various food. The view from the hotel garden was amazing especially in the evening sitting with a glass of portuguese wine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tui.pl

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for your kind words and for sharing them with Trip Advisor readers.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort as well as relaxing and memorable moments while with us.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your holidays, we remain wishing you our best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.