We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing honeymoon!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent two weeks in this amazing hotel, the manager was kind enough to give us one of their best rooms when we told them we were on honeymoon, we even got a bottle of champagne. The hotel is in excellent location, the beach and natural rock pools are right next to it, the bus stop is just opposite the reception. We stayed in a double room with side sea view, amazing view, we could see the sea, the beach and the mountains with all the fishing villages on it from our room. Staff was professional, very helpful. Plenty of choice for treatments in the spa. Breakfast was really good, never got bored of the choices. Worth every penny, would go there again, made our honeymoon very special.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the "side" sea view, we had an amazing view of the beach, the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for your kind words.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced memorable and relaxing moments at the Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Above all we are extremely proud that you have chosen our Hotel for your honeymoon!

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

Kind regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    144
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
73
238
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kosice, Slovakia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved our stay at GR! We got spacious, huge apartment, with equipped kitchen and gorgeous view. Dinners on the balcony were amazing with the sunset. Breakfast were pretty busy, tasty. Hotel swimming pool is a bit small but you have the sea just under the rocks. Natural lava pools few minutes walk from the hotel were great, with lifeguards, small bar, toilets, and the restaurant just above the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel!
Our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Residence Hotel soon!

With our kidest regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Residence in July 2013. We usually go 'All Inclusive' but decided to try a BB basis for a change and were really pleased we did as the food and service in Madeira is excellent.

Transfers- we booked an airport pick up for €25 directly with the hotel.

Rooms- we went for a 1 bed apartment. It was spacious, very clean and well equipped. No nice toiletries in the bathroom though and I think little touches like this make it a 4* rather than 5*.
We did have a few problems with the room key but all was resolved quickly. Free wi fi in all communal areas and in rooms - you need to get a lead from reception to use your laptop. Rooms cleaned daily.

Staff- all very polite and helpful.

Food- we had breakfast included and it was very good. Food was of good quality and a good selection. As others had said bacon and omelettes were not available every day which seemed a bit strange. We ate out every night and did not have a bad meal. There are some good restaurants nearby or down in the centre of Funchal. Our favourite was The Forte- amazing and probably the nicest meal I have ever eaten.

Pool area- lovely views over the bay but the pool is very small . I thought we would struggle to get a sun bed but this was never the case. Plenty of beds and umbrellas available. It was very quiet and relaxing round the pool, probably not suitable for families as no activities for kids but ideal for disabled as it has a disabled ramp to get into the pool. In fact the whole hotel is very geared up for disabled access.

Indoor pool and Spa- lovely indoor pool with jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. You could only use the steam and sauna after 5 pm which was a bit strange and it would have been nice to have access all day. Did not have any treatments in the Spa but all very reasonably priced. Gym- did not use it myself but my husband did and said it wasn't too bad.

Location- not in the city centre but a bus stop right outside with regular buses. Buy your ticket at the hotel as it is cheaper than paying on the bus. We did walk into Funchal 1 night but it took 50 mins- nice pretty walk along the front though. The new shopping Forum is just over the road and has a good selection of shops and a few places to eat. My daughter loved this being 15 and a bit if a shopaholic! There are lots of good restaurants locally. There is a small lido area just down the road that was nice and entry was a couple of euros.

Trips- we did not go on any trips as this holiday was to have a complete rest but we did do the cable cars in Funchal which was worth doing. We didn't come down the hill in the baskets as we had paid for a round trip and I made the mistake of thinking this option was included. If you want to come down in the baskets purchase a single trip.

All in all we had a lovely stay at the Golden Residence and would return to Madeira.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your experience in our Hotel!

On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I thank you for your comments. Our Guest’s opinions are always most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

On arrival reception staff very friendly and polite. Rooms outstanding and very comfortable, with fully equipped kitchen if you felt the need to cook.Shower room with large walk in shower, WC and basin.Towels replaced every day if required. Food excellent with multiple choices and efficient table staff. Bar is a no cash bar, so no need to carry money, just pay your bar bill when you are to leave. Outside pool, bar and sunbeds overlooking the sea with table service if required. Overall an excellent holiday destination for peace and relaxation. Highly recommended. Oh! and an indoor spa and shop if you feel the need.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Primarily we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Golden Residence Hotel with Trip Advisor readers.

We were very pleased to know that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive and memorable experience.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It would be interesting to see what Google translation makes of my title. Mostly French guests with a few Germans and Russians while we were there. GOOD POINTS: We had a comfy, spacious one bed apartment (Brits: take a kettle). Lovely pool, always plenty of sunloungers, gorgeous view from our clean room, super housekeeping staff, drinks brought to your sunlounger at poolside, wonderful rock pool near the hotel (lots of steps down to the sea), two supermarkets. Don't go to the one they tell you about. Come out of hotel reception, turn left then right. Cheaper, closer. Good value for money, great little kitchen in room. BAD POINTS: Very built up area. Charging for the room safe is very petty. Ours popped open while we were out. They "fixed" it, broke again. And again. Room card-key never worked. They finally admitted the whole lock was broken. The walk in shower didn't drain properly. Worrying smell of sewage when you ran the taps in the kitchenette. Fridge not cold enough. Breakfast was very average. Absolutely awful coffee. Fresh fruit nice though. Why don't they run a shuttle service into Funchal? You can get a public bus (cheap) from right outside but it's often a 30 minute wait and non-existent after 11pm coming back. We asked for an airconditioned cab to take us to the airport. It was 32 degrees and we were told this would cost another 8 euros (on top of 25 euro quoted for 20 minute journey). What car doesn't have aircon these days? We will rent our own in future as we do elsewhere. At the pool, despite a sign telling people not to reserve sunloungers (it's not necessary; there are lots), a French family reserved seven loungers with their towels and sauntered off for a long lunch.An elderly man with a disabled son in a wheelchair arrived and sat on one of the chairs. Two shouting, angry teenage girls appeared and started screaming at the man, shattering the peace and quiet. The old gentleman didn't speak French but stood his ground. The French teen, to our horror, pushed the man sideways and then punched him hard in the arm. We speak French so tried to intervene but got shouted at by the teens; an upsetting incident but the staff refused to do anything. Left us with a bad memory on our last day. We did have a lovely break and would definitely come back to Madeira but not sure we would return to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like you to know that we were very pleased to read your review and comments regarding your stay in our Hotel!

We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed for not having your doorhandle working properly. Plaese accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. As you may understand technology is sometimes difficult to control and very sensitive inspite of all our efforts. However, presently everything is working quite well.

Regarding the other comments we took good note of it and have acted accordingly.

Thanking you again for your opinions, we remain with Kind regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager




Arcilia Martin
Residen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Golden Residence what a gem.
Just returned from a week at this outstanding hotel.We were in A block 302 ,the apartment was very spacious, and had everything you would need,the wet room was amazing,cleaned every day it was spotless.The staff were all very lovely particularly the dinning room staff and the girls on reception where nothing was to much trouble, we asked for a kettle which was in the room within 15 minutes,for a large hotel it as amazingly quite.
The food was really good with plenty of choice, best we have had.
They do not take cash everything is room charged.
We will be going back and would have no hesitation in staying at The Golden Residence on our next visit certainly the best hotel we have stayed in.
This is our 3rd visit to this beautiful island and it never disappoints.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I took my mum away for her 50th Birthday along with my dad and sister.
Upon arrival we found the staff extremely helpful, friendly and spoke very good English.
We had 2 bedrooms located in block C, with one bedroom overlooking the rear of the hotel and one facing the pool.
Bedrooms were well appointed and very spacious, we even had a kitchenette in one room which was great for lunch as we were only half board.

The restaurant was clean and food on most days was delicious, however there were a couple of days where we all tried food which was either tasteless or not of good quality.
The restaurant has a theme each day which offers plenty of variety.

The hotel is located close by the Forum shopping centre and supermarkets.
There is also a great rock pool in the sea, around a 5 minute walk from the hotel which is fun for families.

The thing that made the hotel that more special was on my mum and dad’s birthday, the hotel arranged for a bottle of sparkling wine in the bedroom which proves they go the extra mile!

I would recommend this hotel to families and couples visiting the funchal area.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the hub of the hotel, request a bedroom in C Block where the restaurant and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you and your parents as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel and we thank you very much for the excellent review.

Looking forward to welcome you and your parents back at our Hotel in a not too distant future, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.