We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Newport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Madeira & the hotel was better than we expected. All the staff were very helpful & courteous. The reception staff had a lot of useful knowledge & we found Bernard particularly helpful. We were on HB basis and the food was very good, plentiful and with plenty of choice.

Sun terrace was very relaxing and away from the pool if you want peaceful relax.

Rooms were spacious and all good facilities and kept very clean.

Location is good although little far out for walking into Funchal every time but local buses are regular and easy to get the hang of.

A great place for a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

We sincerely hope that you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holidays.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    132
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
61
216
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Madeira is a lovely island and well worth a visit. The type of hotel you choose is important and this is a nice 4 star accommodation right on the coast with great views of the Atlantic.
It's important to note that this is a very quiet location. The loudest things there are the cockerels and howling dogs that 'chorus' on occasion (A bit annoying but it goes with the territory and you can hardly fault the hotel for that - Close your window?).

It is close to shopping and transportation services with easy access to Funchal (About 15 minutes on a bus). You can buy a Giro Pass for the day for about 5 Euros, if you're going to make more than two bus trips it is worth it to get one. If you like a good walk there is a coastal pathway you can walk along and enjoy the views.

On arrival the lobby staff were very attentive and helpful and maintained that kind of service through our time there. It was my Birthday and the hotel had put a bottle of champers in the room with a card, nice touch :-)

Maid Service was again efficient. Bar Service and Restaurant could have been quicker. Everything was a little overly laid back for us. Drinks were slow and tables were not cleaned very quickly for other guests.

We stayed in the centre building and had a large suite. It was clean and spacious with a nice balcony, offering a view of the hillside and the Atlantic. Very relaxing in the evening with a few drinks and snacks. Plenty of storage and a small kitchenette. Living area with a couple of couches and an average sized flat screen TV. Beds were ok but we aren't very keen on the twin beds. There are no rooms with double beds or with a bath according to reception.

We only had a look at the Spa so we can't really comment on the service but it appears to definitely be a place to relax. There is a heated indoor pool in the Spa area as well. There is also a gym available which is well equipped.

All in all, we had a good time here. It is a lovely place to relax and get plenty of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for your review about our hotel as well as about our facilities.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were very impressed with Golden Residence. Very comfortable and clean with charming staff who wanted to please us. It is in a good position on the outskirts of the city - a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport (E25 arranged by the hotel and the same friendly driver who took us back there a week later - very proud of his town and gave us a description of the place in his impossible to understand English). The bus service was very good (occasionally late) into the center of the city from a bus stop right outside the hotel.
We were on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were excellent and we also had 2 very good dinners there as well. I cannot praise the staff more highly - all very helpful and smiling. We discovered a lovely restaurant round the corner called Doca do Cavacas (left out of hotel and down to small shopping area and then right down steps almost to the water's edge). The perfect little family (I presume) run restaurant with a small menu of excellent seafood.
As VictorSPbK says in his review, the rooms in Block A which is the top end of the hotel, are a bit noisy. Ours was not at the far top so we didn't hear the road noise but it ran parallel with a block of flats so we heard their noise (plus endlessly barking puppy left on a balcony all day long) and the two buildings side by side channeled the noise upwards. We had to shut the windows at night and use the AC which was a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Regarding your opinion about the noises, it is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Convenient location of the hotel- not far from the down town (15-20 minutes by bus).
20 minutes by walk to the beach Praia Formosa.
Beautiful views from the rooms. Gorgeous panoramic view from the pool area.
Friendly staff speaking main European languages.
But I must mention that building A is located too close to the main thoroughfare - Estrada Monumental and it's pretty noisy in the rooms, especially when motocycles and buses pass by.

Room Tip: To choose a room in Building C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are happy that you have enjoyed it.

Sincerely hoping that you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were delighted with this well run hotel. We booked via Monarch airlines but our holiday turned out to be a package holiday by Cosmos. Despite this it was a very individual holiday i.e. we were not in a group of any sort.
First surprise was that the hotel gave us a free upgrade to a spacious apartment. They said nothing about this at check-in and we hadn't asked for an upgrade. We spent the week thinking all the rooms were this size! The room was beautifully appointed and had large bathroom and a mini kitchen. Rooms a re fully serviced daily.
We went on a B and B basis and the daily breakfast buffet was of high quality and huge choice. They also do an evening buffet or a la carte evening meal which was also excellent.
The pool and sunbathing terrace were first class, there are also sauna and gym facilities. Pool towels and robes can be hired from the hotel reception.
All the staff were really helpful and pleasant, especially the restaurant waiting staff.
The hotel is a bit out of the main town, it takes around 50 min to walk into Funchal, or you can get on the frequent buses for 3.80 Euros (for two). Funchal is an interesting and vibrant city to explore and you can see the whole town on foot. There are hundreds of restaurants to choose from, the Old Town area has a street of lovely restaurants where you can eat outside and people-watch to your heart's content. The Cable-Car ride up to Monte and the sledge ride down are very popular.
Best day out for us was with "Upmountainmadeira" (bookable online or at the many tour booths in Funchal) who specialise in off-road trips in ex-military jeeps. we went on their East island tour and went up to 1800 metres and looked down on the clouds from sunny mountain tops. We went through all the tiny hill farms and saw how they grow vegetables on tiny patches of sloping ground, and had a fabulous lunch a tiny non tourist inn. Our driver, Ricardo was very skilful, informative and funny and we were in a Small (7) multi-national group and we all got on like a house on fire. By far the best day of our holiday and highly recommended. Don't worry about the off-roading, it's thrilling but not scary, and bumpy but not uncomfortable (and we are both in our mid sixties!) Try it, you'll remember it for ever!
Altogether we found the Golden Residence to be a lovely comfortable hotel and an ideal base for a week's break in Madeira. We hope you like it as much as we did.

Room Tip: We were given a free upgrade to an apartment with separate sitting room and cooking area. we had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort and relaxing moments while with us.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just back from The Golden Residence and we found it to be an excellent hotel. We were 'room only' as the price difference we were quoted for B and B was excessive and it turned out to be a good decision. We had a lovely spacious suite of rooms that included a compact mini kitchen that had everything you needed for breakfast or a snack lunch (except a kettle). It was light and airy and furnished in a contemporary style that matched the decor of the hotel. We particularly liked the glass fronted balcony and wet room bathroom. Our room, C123, was disabled friendly with enough space for wheelchair use and an adapted bathroom. The only comment I would make is that the rugs should be removed as they are potential trip hazards for disabled people who can walk and the kitchen units sit on a wooden plinth that might mean that it is difficult to pull a wheelchair right up close. We used the restaurant only once for dinner and found it good and reasonably priced for what we had, which was from the A la Carte menu. We cannot understand the comment that it was like a cafeteria as it is modern in decor and nicely lit to create ambiance, certainly not somewhere you might feel you needed to eat quick and vacate. There is also a lovely outdoor eating area near the swimming pool and a decked outdoor bar - very swish. The only thing to be aware of is that it is a long walk to the main part of Funchal - about 3.5k up and down hills. The bus stops outside and provides a very good service, but even relatively modest fares add up if you want to go in and out at least once per day. There are a number of decent places to eat within a few minutes walk however, though these generally lack a bit of atmosphere.

Would we stay at The Golden Residence again? Our only reservation would be the distance from the centre; the hotel itself should be a 5 star.

Just a word oft warning regarding the yellow 'hop on and off' tour bus - at 12 euros each this is poor value as all you actually see is the main bus route and a few apartment blocks, absolutely nothing of interest that you might want to jump off for. Save your money for the scheduled bus service or for an organised trip out of Funchal to enjoy the rest of the island,

Room Tip: Room C123 is not overlooked and has a nice private balcony that gets the evening sun. It actually ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your kind comments regarding your experience at Golden Residence Hotel. Kindly note that our guest comments are always most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays and sincerely hope that you will consider our Hotel for your next stay.

In the meantime we remain wishing you best regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been to Madeira only for 3 days, stayed at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel.
And it was so pity because as island as hotel both need much more time to enjoy them completely!
We booked double room, but got apartments with bedroom, kitchen and side ocean view from balcony for same price.
Certainly, it was a pleasant surprice!
Room was enormous, clean and good equipped. Breakfasts, tasty and various, were included in price.
Helpful receptionists explained us how to get nearest opened beach, Praya Formoza (volcanic pools Doca do Cavaca was closed when we have been there). Not too close to hotel, in 20-30 min. walking. Dark grey volcanic sand, large and small pebbles, ocean waves - fantastic! You may walk along ocean promenade to neighbor fishing village Camara de Lobos (appr. 2-2.5 km).
Hotel is good for quiet and calm rest. At the same time you can easy get city center (in 3.5-4 km) by bus. They go often.
If I came to Madeira again, I will necessarily stay at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your experience in our Hotel!

On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I thank you for your kind words.
Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.