We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Shipston on Stour
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were very impressed with Golden Residence. Very comfortable and clean with charming staff who wanted to please us. It is in a good position on the outskirts of the city - a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport (E25 arranged by the hotel and the same friendly driver who took us back there a week later - very proud of his town and gave us a description of the place in his impossible to understand English). The bus service was very good (occasionally late) into the center of the city from a bus stop right outside the hotel.
We were on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were excellent and we also had 2 very good dinners there as well. I cannot praise the staff more highly - all very helpful and smiling. We discovered a lovely restaurant round the corner called Doca do Cavacas (left out of hotel and down to small shopping area and then right down steps almost to the water's edge). The perfect little family (I presume) run restaurant with a small menu of excellent seafood.
As VictorSPbK says in his review, the rooms in Block A which is the top end of the hotel, are a bit noisy. Ours was not at the far top so we didn't hear the road noise but it ran parallel with a block of flats so we heard their noise (plus endlessly barking puppy left on a balcony all day long) and the two buildings side by side channeled the noise upwards. We had to shut the windows at night and use the AC which was a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Regarding your opinion about the noises, it is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    133
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
67
226
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Convenient location of the hotel- not far from the down town (15-20 minutes by bus).
20 minutes by walk to the beach Praia Formosa.
Beautiful views from the rooms. Gorgeous panoramic view from the pool area.
Friendly staff speaking main European languages.
But I must mention that building A is located too close to the main thoroughfare - Estrada Monumental and it's pretty noisy in the rooms, especially when motocycles and buses pass by.

Room Tip: To choose a room in Building C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are happy that you have enjoyed it.

Sincerely hoping that you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were delighted with this well run hotel. We booked via Monarch airlines but our holiday turned out to be a package holiday by Cosmos. Despite this it was a very individual holiday i.e. we were not in a group of any sort.
First surprise was that the hotel gave us a free upgrade to a spacious apartment. They said nothing about this at check-in and we hadn't asked for an upgrade. We spent the week thinking all the rooms were this size! The room was beautifully appointed and had large bathroom and a mini kitchen. Rooms a re fully serviced daily.
We went on a B and B basis and the daily breakfast buffet was of high quality and huge choice. They also do an evening buffet or a la carte evening meal which was also excellent.
The pool and sunbathing terrace were first class, there are also sauna and gym facilities. Pool towels and robes can be hired from the hotel reception.
All the staff were really helpful and pleasant, especially the restaurant waiting staff.
The hotel is a bit out of the main town, it takes around 50 min to walk into Funchal, or you can get on the frequent buses for 3.80 Euros (for two). Funchal is an interesting and vibrant city to explore and you can see the whole town on foot. There are hundreds of restaurants to choose from, the Old Town area has a street of lovely restaurants where you can eat outside and people-watch to your heart's content. The Cable-Car ride up to Monte and the sledge ride down are very popular.
Best day out for us was with "Upmountainmadeira" (bookable online or at the many tour booths in Funchal) who specialise in off-road trips in ex-military jeeps. we went on their East island tour and went up to 1800 metres and looked down on the clouds from sunny mountain tops. We went through all the tiny hill farms and saw how they grow vegetables on tiny patches of sloping ground, and had a fabulous lunch a tiny non tourist inn. Our driver, Ricardo was very skilful, informative and funny and we were in a Small (7) multi-national group and we all got on like a house on fire. By far the best day of our holiday and highly recommended. Don't worry about the off-roading, it's thrilling but not scary, and bumpy but not uncomfortable (and we are both in our mid sixties!) Try it, you'll remember it for ever!
Altogether we found the Golden Residence to be a lovely comfortable hotel and an ideal base for a week's break in Madeira. We hope you like it as much as we did.

Room Tip: We were given a free upgrade to an apartment with separate sitting room and cooking area. we had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort and relaxing moments while with us.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just back from The Golden Residence and we found it to be an excellent hotel. We were 'room only' as the price difference we were quoted for B and B was excessive and it turned out to be a good decision. We had a lovely spacious suite of rooms that included a compact mini kitchen that had everything you needed for breakfast or a snack lunch (except a kettle). It was light and airy and furnished in a contemporary style that matched the decor of the hotel. We particularly liked the glass fronted balcony and wet room bathroom. Our room, C123, was disabled friendly with enough space for wheelchair use and an adapted bathroom. The only comment I would make is that the rugs should be removed as they are potential trip hazards for disabled people who can walk and the kitchen units sit on a wooden plinth that might mean that it is difficult to pull a wheelchair right up close. We used the restaurant only once for dinner and found it good and reasonably priced for what we had, which was from the A la Carte menu. We cannot understand the comment that it was like a cafeteria as it is modern in decor and nicely lit to create ambiance, certainly not somewhere you might feel you needed to eat quick and vacate. There is also a lovely outdoor eating area near the swimming pool and a decked outdoor bar - very swish. The only thing to be aware of is that it is a long walk to the main part of Funchal - about 3.5k up and down hills. The bus stops outside and provides a very good service, but even relatively modest fares add up if you want to go in and out at least once per day. There are a number of decent places to eat within a few minutes walk however, though these generally lack a bit of atmosphere.

Would we stay at The Golden Residence again? Our only reservation would be the distance from the centre; the hotel itself should be a 5 star.

Just a word oft warning regarding the yellow 'hop on and off' tour bus - at 12 euros each this is poor value as all you actually see is the main bus route and a few apartment blocks, absolutely nothing of interest that you might want to jump off for. Save your money for the scheduled bus service or for an organised trip out of Funchal to enjoy the rest of the island,

Room Tip: Room C123 is not overlooked and has a nice private balcony that gets the evening sun. It actually ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your kind comments regarding your experience at Golden Residence Hotel. Kindly note that our guest comments are always most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays and sincerely hope that you will consider our Hotel for your next stay.

In the meantime we remain wishing you best regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been to Madeira only for 3 days, stayed at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel.
And it was so pity because as island as hotel both need much more time to enjoy them completely!
We booked double room, but got apartments with bedroom, kitchen and side ocean view from balcony for same price.
Certainly, it was a pleasant surprice!
Room was enormous, clean and good equipped. Breakfasts, tasty and various, were included in price.
Helpful receptionists explained us how to get nearest opened beach, Praya Formoza (volcanic pools Doca do Cavaca was closed when we have been there). Not too close to hotel, in 20-30 min. walking. Dark grey volcanic sand, large and small pebbles, ocean waves - fantastic! You may walk along ocean promenade to neighbor fishing village Camara de Lobos (appr. 2-2.5 km).
Hotel is good for quiet and calm rest. At the same time you can easy get city center (in 3.5-4 km) by bus. They go often.
If I came to Madeira again, I will necessarily stay at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your experience in our Hotel!

On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I thank you for your kind words.
Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went to stay at this hotel for our 25th Silver Wedding, what a lovely hotel, had a side sea view room, nice clean room with a fridge and kettle, so you could have a cuppa. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As we arrived late we went for the buffet, lovely food, plenty to choose from it was 50 euro for two of us which also included half a litre of wine each as well - value for money. They did different theme buffets each night ie tropical, italian, caribbean,fish and portugese etc. We were on a BB basis so we could sample other eating establishments. The buffet beakfast was very good, had some lovley bread cobs and sliced ham and turkey. They had a selection of cereals, fresh fruits, home made yogurt, every other day there was bacon, scambled eggs, omelettes, selection of fine cakes, lovley food. Had a full body massage and facial in the spa centre, worth every penny, very relaxing. The hotel reception is across the road from the block what were staying in, but we didnt find this a problem, the hotel is in 3 blocks A,B and C. The hotel is in easy walking distance to 2 supermarkets and other restraurants. Its about a 50 min walk in to Funchal along the promenade/road unless you stop of at one of the many cafes on the way. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Primarily we would like you to know that we were very pleased to read your review regarding your stay in our Hotel!

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort and relaxing moments while with us.

The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked our room with Travel republic, was worried after reading some of the reviews re Travel republic that our room would be there for us when we arrived. I managed to find the email address for the hotel and sent an email asking them to tell me if they had us booked in. I got a quick respond from Rosana who confirmed that yes we had a room book. She was also really helpful with information re the airport bus, which stop to request etc. thanks Rosana.

We caught the airport bus, got a return ticket which cost us E7.50 each. the driver stopped directly outside the hotel for us. Like the previous review we found that we couldn't get in the door (you can only get in that way if you have your hotel room key/card. We walked down the flight of steps, which were quite steep, if you had walking or lifting difficults you would be best to walk down the road. Check in was really easy, reception staff were so helpful and friendly, they checked to see if our room was ready for us (we had arrived nearly 2 hours to early) It wasn't but we only had to wait around 20 minutes and we were in our room.

Our room was in C block, which is nearest to the pool and nearest the sea. We overlooked a piece of land that bananas were been grown, we could see the road from our balancy to that takes you down to the walk into Funchal, very quite and pleasant. Room was lovely, we just a had a double/twin room, but it had a kettle and a fridge for mini bar (nothing in it you had to request any drinks which was great, we don't drink so used it to put our milk in for our early morning cup of tea or coffee. Bathroom was a wet room (geared up for disabled use too) was fine.

We were only booked in for b/b. We found the breakfast fine, plenty of choice, either bacon or sauages on offer each day, fry egg, omelette, pancakes (which I thought were nice). Plenty of cheeses and cold meat, fruit, toast and cereals Orange juice was a bit watery but I have had worse.

We did go for a meal one night at the hotel, we had something from the A la carte menu, it was nice enough, but glad we didn't have to eat in there everynight, did seem very loud and a bit like a canteen, which is fine for breakfast but wouldn't want it every night. Staff work really hard.

We ate at the Mexican resturant and the Fish resturant which was just further down the road from the hotel, especially the Mexican one, staff were lovely in there, The Fish restaurant was quite expensive and the meals were so big!!. But if you look on the window before you go in there is a specials menu. 3 course meal for E14.50. 3 choices, but we had to ask about that, we were only given the main menu. We thought that we would get small portions how wrong we were they too were large, but it was very good.

There are two walks from the hotel, follow the road around and you can walk into Funchal, nice stead walk until the last part and then it can get a bit steep but very pleasant. If you go up to the top road via the door in Block A, go left, pass the large roundabout, carry on for around 30 metres and you see a footpath sign, down a steep slope that then turns into steps. At the bottom of the steps turn right and then take the next left this takes you down to the beach, turn right and you can walk to the next little village which is really quaint. You come to the power station carrying on walking upto the main road and you can see the footpath carrys on to the village. Its the one Winston Churchill used to paint. Little bars down there are really nice, you can catch the bus back to the hotel.

We went on one of the day trips the hotel arranged, think we might have paid more because it was done with the hotel ,but not a lot more, that was a great day, they were there early. We were the only english speaking guests on it, the rest were german but the poor guide, said everything twice, once in german and then again in english, felt really sorry for him. But he did a really good job.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, there wasn't many British guests, mainly germans but that wasn't a problem, found most people were really friendly and we managed to understand each other, sign language and a smile helps. There were 2 german couples staying there that we saw a few times, they ate in the same mexican restaurant, they were lovely

Its a quite hotel, modern, does seem strange for a start being in 3 blocks but we only really used Block C, restaurant, bar, indoor pool etc were all in that block, and we occasionally went to Block B to reception, or to walk up to the top road via block A

Thanks again to the staff, reception, dining room and room attendants, we found you all really helpful and professional in your jobs, you helped to make our holiday great, weather wasn't as good as it could have been but it wasn't a problem. We will be back :)

Room Tip: If you only want a double/twin room Block C is the best, we were overlooking the banana plantation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.