We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Derbyshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went to stay at this hotel for our 25th Silver Wedding, what a lovely hotel, had a side sea view room, nice clean room with a fridge and kettle, so you could have a cuppa. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As we arrived late we went for the buffet, lovely food, plenty to choose from it was 50 euro for two of us which also included half a litre of wine each as well - value for money. They did different theme buffets each night ie tropical, italian, caribbean,fish and portugese etc. We were on a BB basis so we could sample other eating establishments. The buffet beakfast was very good, had some lovley bread cobs and sliced ham and turkey. They had a selection of cereals, fresh fruits, home made yogurt, every other day there was bacon, scambled eggs, omelettes, selection of fine cakes, lovley food. Had a full body massage and facial in the spa centre, worth every penny, very relaxing. The hotel reception is across the road from the block what were staying in, but we didnt find this a problem, the hotel is in 3 blocks A,B and C. The hotel is in easy walking distance to 2 supermarkets and other restraurants. Its about a 50 min walk in to Funchal along the promenade/road unless you stop of at one of the many cafes on the way. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Primarily we would like you to know that we were very pleased to read your review regarding your stay in our Hotel!

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort and relaxing moments while with us.

The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    132
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
58
215
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked our room with Travel republic, was worried after reading some of the reviews re Travel republic that our room would be there for us when we arrived. I managed to find the email address for the hotel and sent an email asking them to tell me if they had us booked in. I got a quick respond from Rosana who confirmed that yes we had a room book. She was also really helpful with information re the airport bus, which stop to request etc. thanks Rosana.

We caught the airport bus, got a return ticket which cost us E7.50 each. the driver stopped directly outside the hotel for us. Like the previous review we found that we couldn't get in the door (you can only get in that way if you have your hotel room key/card. We walked down the flight of steps, which were quite steep, if you had walking or lifting difficults you would be best to walk down the road. Check in was really easy, reception staff were so helpful and friendly, they checked to see if our room was ready for us (we had arrived nearly 2 hours to early) It wasn't but we only had to wait around 20 minutes and we were in our room.

Our room was in C block, which is nearest to the pool and nearest the sea. We overlooked a piece of land that bananas were been grown, we could see the road from our balancy to that takes you down to the walk into Funchal, very quite and pleasant. Room was lovely, we just a had a double/twin room, but it had a kettle and a fridge for mini bar (nothing in it you had to request any drinks which was great, we don't drink so used it to put our milk in for our early morning cup of tea or coffee. Bathroom was a wet room (geared up for disabled use too) was fine.

We were only booked in for b/b. We found the breakfast fine, plenty of choice, either bacon or sauages on offer each day, fry egg, omelette, pancakes (which I thought were nice). Plenty of cheeses and cold meat, fruit, toast and cereals Orange juice was a bit watery but I have had worse.

We did go for a meal one night at the hotel, we had something from the A la carte menu, it was nice enough, but glad we didn't have to eat in there everynight, did seem very loud and a bit like a canteen, which is fine for breakfast but wouldn't want it every night. Staff work really hard.

We ate at the Mexican resturant and the Fish resturant which was just further down the road from the hotel, especially the Mexican one, staff were lovely in there, The Fish restaurant was quite expensive and the meals were so big!!. But if you look on the window before you go in there is a specials menu. 3 course meal for E14.50. 3 choices, but we had to ask about that, we were only given the main menu. We thought that we would get small portions how wrong we were they too were large, but it was very good.

There are two walks from the hotel, follow the road around and you can walk into Funchal, nice stead walk until the last part and then it can get a bit steep but very pleasant. If you go up to the top road via the door in Block A, go left, pass the large roundabout, carry on for around 30 metres and you see a footpath sign, down a steep slope that then turns into steps. At the bottom of the steps turn right and then take the next left this takes you down to the beach, turn right and you can walk to the next little village which is really quaint. You come to the power station carrying on walking upto the main road and you can see the footpath carrys on to the village. Its the one Winston Churchill used to paint. Little bars down there are really nice, you can catch the bus back to the hotel.

We went on one of the day trips the hotel arranged, think we might have paid more because it was done with the hotel ,but not a lot more, that was a great day, they were there early. We were the only english speaking guests on it, the rest were german but the poor guide, said everything twice, once in german and then again in english, felt really sorry for him. But he did a really good job.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, there wasn't many British guests, mainly germans but that wasn't a problem, found most people were really friendly and we managed to understand each other, sign language and a smile helps. There were 2 german couples staying there that we saw a few times, they ate in the same mexican restaurant, they were lovely

Its a quite hotel, modern, does seem strange for a start being in 3 blocks but we only really used Block C, restaurant, bar, indoor pool etc were all in that block, and we occasionally went to Block B to reception, or to walk up to the top road via block A

Thanks again to the staff, reception, dining room and room attendants, we found you all really helpful and professional in your jobs, you helped to make our holiday great, weather wasn't as good as it could have been but it wasn't a problem. We will be back :)

Room Tip: If you only want a double/twin room Block C is the best, we were overlooking the banana plantation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel. Sadly we were not able to make use of pool as weather was not friendly. But other than that we enjoyed. We stayed on B&B so tried out several restaurants in walking distance. Breakfast at hotel was good, very busy at certain times and catered mainly for european tastes. with choice of cold meats. But plenty of selection otherwise. We ate in on a few nights as weather so bad. Two supermarkets a few minutes in main shopping across road at back of hotel, smaller one down hill from reception entrance. Fish and meat good quality at both. Apartment does not have kettle or iron, but we managed. Apartment spotless, beds very clean, I found mattress hard, but husband was fine! One slight gripe is many hotels do not not use top sheet under quilt which makes it awkward when its a bit warm and you are trying to avoid mosquitoes! We only had one evening where little blighters got me, but managed by keeping windows shut as it went dark. As far as I know all rooms have wet rooms - another thing that let hotel down was quality and size of bathroom towels. These were changed daily, but did feedback at hotel to say that pool towels were better quality and size. We were in Block A, room 505. Some noise from road, but not too bad. Most noise came from barking dogs, unruly roosters and some very strange frog croaking on land next to hotel. Our side of hotel had sun, when it did appear, until 4pm, it was less windy on balcony than at pool. In early season this may be helpful as other side appeared much colder! This hotel does not offer free bus in to town. We made mistake of buying Yellow bus 2 day ticket with Cosmos Rep - quite cheap but better to buy day tickets, 1/3/5/7 days depending-purchase at reception or at Funchal town- NOT on bus!. The buses run very late in to night, unlike tourist bus which stops around 6pm. We also nearly lost the second day on tourist bus as it is meant to be consecutive days which we had not realised. But Bus Driver was very kind and let us on! Restaurants down hill from reception-we tried Mexican, good food, steak excellent. A better local one was Fish restaurant opposite down lots of steps - beautiful fresh fish, highly recommended. We also ate in two restaurants in old town, reviewed separately - Avos and Portao, both excellent and cheap!
Be prepared for lots of hilly walking here, you can't really get away from it. Many of the accesses to hotels are up steep ramps. This hotel dealt with problem by having access from main road on level 5 and then lift to other floors and blocks.
We would recommend hotel to others, we met some lovely people from all over the world. I felt a bit ashamed that everyone else spoke English.Another good point is the suitability of accommodation for wheelchair use...emergency cords is bathroom and beside beds too. Only issue may be access to rest of resort - I did not see anyone in wheelchair using buses but lots of taxis maybe a solution.

Room Tip: We had suite in Block A [505]- worth paying a little more for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are very happy that we had the opportunity to leave you a positive experience.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you best regards from Madeira.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The beds here are incredibly comfortable and everything we saw was well-maintained and immaculately clean. We arrived by the Aerobus from the airport which drops you on the main road opposite block A. You then have to go down the steps on the right-hand side or walk down the road to the right to arrive at Reception as the doors from Block A are exit only. The only gripe we had was breakfast which doesn't taste as good as it looks. The orange juice is the cheap stuff and the glasses beside it are sometimes warm from the dishwasher. The pancakes are truly awful and there's little choice of cereal. However the bread, cheese and ham are all good. The fruit is variable. Travelling is easy. There are 3 buses locally into Funchal - the 1,2 or 4 - all from different stops but it's great to have that choice when you're coming back in the evening. We would definitely return - but would probably choose a package excluding breakfast.

Room Tip: If you're getting a side sea view room bear in mind that they're either on the east or west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

In regards to your opinion concerning our Restaurant, we would like to inform you that everyday we have available 3 different qualities of cereals, concerning your other personal observations, we very much regret to have disappointed you.

It is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very nice big appartment in Blok B. Very friendly staff. The food is good but the desserts are really excellent!!! Already looking forward to the next dinner.
Close to the sea. In walking distance of the old town of Funchal and if you don't want to walk you can take the bus. Close to a shopping centre that is open every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel and facilities.

The reason we continue improving our services is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights in mid-February, we were very impressed with this hotel, the staff were lovely, they helped in anyway they could and were always friendly and polite. Slightly disappointed that there was not a kettle in our room and the shower pressure was not brilliant and not very hot but otherwise our room was lovely with a very nice balcony. The restaurant and bar were super and run very well by the manager and his staff. Not a great deal of choice for a vegetarian and a lot of cold meat and cheese and no muesli for breakfast but really that is just being picky, we would really recommend this hotel and it's staff they were some of the best hotel staff we have ever met, from front of house to the cleaners, wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Primarily we would like you to know that we where very pleased to read your review regarding your stay in our Hotel!

We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed for not having a kettle in you room and that the shower was not functioning properly, we which you had let us known; we would have gladly solved this situation for you promptly.

Regarding your opinion about our Vegetarian choices, it is very important for us that you know that our guests opinion’s are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEDALE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and everything was immaculate and well run.
Hope the management read my comments in the leaflets asking for them. If they can get the food right (ie. hotter)I would say that in all other ways they cannot improve on what they are doing.
The weather was horrendous but thanks to the lovely room and flat screen t.v. we were not bored.

Room Tip: Ask for Block C closer to the sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers.

Inspite of the weather conditions you encountered, it is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced relaxing moments at Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.