We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The beds here are incredibly comfortable and everything we saw was well-maintained and immaculately clean. We arrived by the Aerobus from the airport which drops you on the main road opposite block A. You then have to go down the steps on the right-hand side or walk down the road to the right to arrive at Reception as the doors from Block A are exit only. The only gripe we had was breakfast which doesn't taste as good as it looks. The orange juice is the cheap stuff and the glasses beside it are sometimes warm from the dishwasher. The pancakes are truly awful and there's little choice of cereal. However the bread, cheese and ham are all good. The fruit is variable. Travelling is easy. There are 3 buses locally into Funchal - the 1,2 or 4 - all from different stops but it's great to have that choice when you're coming back in the evening. We would definitely return - but would probably choose a package excluding breakfast.

Room Tip: If you're getting a side sea view room bear in mind that they're either on the east or west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

In regards to your opinion concerning our Restaurant, we would like to inform you that everyday we have available 3 different qualities of cereals, concerning your other personal observations, we very much regret to have disappointed you.

It is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    152
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
78
249
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very nice big appartment in Blok B. Very friendly staff. The food is good but the desserts are really excellent!!! Already looking forward to the next dinner.
Close to the sea. In walking distance of the old town of Funchal and if you don't want to walk you can take the bus. Close to a shopping centre that is open every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel and facilities.

The reason we continue improving our services is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights in mid-February, we were very impressed with this hotel, the staff were lovely, they helped in anyway they could and were always friendly and polite. Slightly disappointed that there was not a kettle in our room and the shower pressure was not brilliant and not very hot but otherwise our room was lovely with a very nice balcony. The restaurant and bar were super and run very well by the manager and his staff. Not a great deal of choice for a vegetarian and a lot of cold meat and cheese and no muesli for breakfast but really that is just being picky, we would really recommend this hotel and it's staff they were some of the best hotel staff we have ever met, from front of house to the cleaners, wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Primarily we would like you to know that we where very pleased to read your review regarding your stay in our Hotel!

We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed for not having a kettle in you room and that the shower was not functioning properly, we which you had let us known; we would have gladly solved this situation for you promptly.

Regarding your opinion about our Vegetarian choices, it is very important for us that you know that our guests opinion’s are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEDALE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and everything was immaculate and well run.
Hope the management read my comments in the leaflets asking for them. If they can get the food right (ie. hotter)I would say that in all other ways they cannot improve on what they are doing.
The weather was horrendous but thanks to the lovely room and flat screen t.v. we were not bored.

Room Tip: Ask for Block C closer to the sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers.

Inspite of the weather conditions you encountered, it is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced relaxing moments at Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic hotel and very clean. Everything is of high standard and the staff were very professional and helpful. Our room was lovely and spacious. I would return to this this hotel without a doubt. the experience made our holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. Be certain that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth,England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recently returned from a one week stay at this hotel. Judging by the majority of previous reviews we were not likely to encounter any major problems. This proved to be the case. Without repeating over and over what others have said it would just be right to re-affirm that this is a modern,clean,comfortable, and well managed hotel. Two things which we didn't find totally ok were the buffet meals,particularly dinner, which we found to be a little undesirable on some days. This is of course is a personal thing. The other was ants. I notice other reviewers have noted this as well. This was more of an irritation than anything but nevertheless shouldn't be there! Despite a couple of reports to management they seemed unable to cure this. Without that I would have awarded a full five marks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like you to know that we where very pleased to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel!

We were so sorry to hear about the ants you had in your room, however Madeira being a tropical Island it is possible to find ants when leaving any food uncovered. However, we are very sorry for this inconvenience.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave some positive experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin´
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I've always been cautious of 4 star hotels because sometimes they end up being a 3 star, but not in this case.
The hotel itself is only 6 years old and it shows with modern furnishings incredibly ergonomic, well designed and nothing hanging off etc. With 3 young children it was important that we had an indoor heated swimming pool to kill some time during the day, the pool was kept immaculate as was the jacuzzi . We stayed on a b&b basis and ate out in the evenings. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice and freshness and enjoyed the freshly made omelettes most days. There are a number of sea food restaurant's at the bottom of the hill (2 minute walk) where you can enjoy Portugese culinary delights.
The hotel staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help our room was cleaned every day! The staff were polite and all spoke good English .
The apartment we stayed in was for a family of 4+1 infant which great because we could all be together, unlike other hotels which insist you on booking two rooms which becomes costly. The room itself was spacious ,well equipped with a balcony overlooking a banana plantation and the sea.
The sea views from the hotel are fantastic and we enjoyed a coffee every morning sat at the end of the pool area after breakfast overlooking the Atlantic . You can go for a stroll up the coast in either direction on well made paths.We hired a car for the week and opted to park it on the road adjacent to the hotel rather that the hotels underground car park (5€/ day) which to be honest wouldn't of broken the bank .
This hotel is a good 4 star , and now I can see why the reviews were so positive before ours.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Family,

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.