We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 91 hotels in Funchal
oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked our trip at the drop of the hat in search of sunshine after being surrounded in snow for a month back in the UK and we have not been dissapointed! The hotel staff on arrival were very pleasant and checked us in effortlessly with a breif description of where to find local shops and bus routes, all within a few minutes walk i will add! The hotel staff have a high standard in all they do from cleaning to cocktail making!

The spa is well worth visiting and not overpriced for treatments as is the hair salon (my partner was very happy with the results). The outdoor pool is a little chilly to say the least 19.8 centigrade but was not expecting anything else at this time of year and did still use it to cool down from sun bathing.

We stayed in a non sea view apartment but were still more than happy with the views and if sat on the balcony could still see the sea! the apartment has everything you need to cater for small meals including double hob, fridge, sink etc. It did lack a kettle but boiling a small pan of water was not an issue for me to make a cup of tea, just as quick!

All in all a beautiful location just far enough away from the tourist area to get the 'feel' of local life but close enough to everything you could ever need to have a fantastic time here.

Local taxi to Funchal old town 7 euros from hotel each way. bus is small change.

Would recommend a car for a day or so as can travel around the island in around 5 hours and see much more then you would in a stuffy bus and stop and explore at will! parking in the underground car park is 5 euros a day or simply park alongside block A for free (also a hotel suggestion!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave such positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    134
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
228
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Special design style, modern hotel. Very large and well equipped rooms, super beds. Friendly staff. Lovely view. Busstop in front of the hotel, but we always took a taxi to Funchal, between 7 and 10 euros depending on the traffic. Good breakfast buffet, just stay away from the juice (colmes out of a machine and no good taste). Quality of lunch depends on the chef of the day... Lasagna one week really super and well presented, other day strange taste and totally different look. Buffetdinner is too expensive and not enough choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like to thank you for sharing your reviews.
We are very happy to know that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive experience during your stay at Golden Residence Hotel.

In regards to your opinion concerning the prices of our restaurant, we would like to point out that we have the most accesible prices in comparison with our hotel competitors.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider our Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you best regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and we were more than happy with the hotel. We had a room in Block C which had a side sea view and got the sun in the morning. The room was very spacious with a big bathroom and lots of storage. We were handy for the spa, both pools (indoor and outdoor) and the restaurant. We ate in the hotel a few nights - good buffets with plenty of choice and the breakfasts were very good with something for everyone. Our room had a kettle which was a bonus and was spotlessly clean.
The hotel is a long way from the centre of Funchal but there was a frequent and good bus service that stopped just outside the hotel.
The hotel staff were so pleasant and friendly. They were helpful and amenable at all times as were all the Madeiran people we met. The weather was gorgeous after all the snow at home and the flowers on the island are amazing.
We took two island tours with Lido Tours (much cheaper than the ones offered by the hotel) and these were excellent value with knowledgable guides and comfortable vehicles.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I would certainly go back if I revisited Madeira.

Room Tip: We found Block C quiet and comfortable with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for your kind words.
It is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced good and relaxing moments at Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Golden Residence comes in 3 separate blocks A,B & C. C block houses both outdoor and indoor pools along with spa facilities, hairdresser, restaurant and bar/entertainment area. It is joined to A & B by an underground corridor so no need to get wet if it is raining. Reception is in B block. Our room C0101 was in C block on the same level as the hairdresser, restaurant and bar/entertainment area and outside patio/pool area. Whilst this was very convenient and meant we could pick up the wi fi signal in our room,sadly it also meant that we found it hard to get to sleep before midnight with people making merry out on the patio which was just outside our room. Our room was spacious with large double bed and wet room which would be great for handicapped and comes complete with pull out washing line and a hairdryer (always handy). We also had TV, Free safe, kettle and empty fridge (saved finding a home for all the mini bar stuff we never buy). There is a supermarket 3 minutes walk away so no problem in filling the fridge with things you do want. The indoor pool is free to use but sauna and steam room are charged if used before 5pm (free after). The indoor pool was a little dark and depressing as it is mostly underground and the Jacuzzi was kept a little on the cool side for our liking. The outdoor pool looked nice but in January we were only going to look! Breakfast had a nice variety but at 11 euros we found it a bit pricey and availed ourselves of supermarket fare. Dinner we also thought expensive and found better deals to be had at the local restaurants. In January there was little entertainment, only a couple singing twice during our 10 day stay. The staff were all very pleasant, helpful and all spoke English. The local bus stops right outside the hotel and offers better value and travel cards for 3//5/7 days than the tour bus which cost 12 euros for 2 days and only goes on a circuit of the area in one direction and finishes at 1700hrs. Car parking in the underground cost 5 euros a day but we managed to find a spot in the street for free.
Happily we did not have any problem with ants like nuzzonick reviewer.

Tip: If you do not want to walk up the hill to the main road, there is a door from A block onto the street that you can access by lift from B block.

Room Tip: I would stay here again but would ask to be away from the area overlooking the pool or in A or B blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.
Regarding your opinion about our different prices, it is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have just arrived back from the hotel and I can not say any bad words about it. Very clean, modern hotel, with an amazing staff. The staff is very helpful, they are nice and they really try to make your stay the best. The hotel has a very nice Spa section, where you can relax. The location is amazing, it is situated on the top of a cliff. The beach is approx 200m. Shops, bars, restaurants are just in a short walk. The bus stops at the front of the hotel and takes 10 min to be in the town center.
I highly recommend this hotel if you would like to relax and enjoy all the beauties of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice and modern, we have stayed in a room with side sea view and that was a great cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are very happy that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive and memorable experience.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you best regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in January in a room in Block C overlooking the pool with great side views of the sea and the hills.The room was clean with plenty of storage space and a kitchen area with a microwave and 2 cooker rings. A good shopping mall within 5 minutes of the hotel with plenty of restaurants in the area. This modern hotel was clean with good indoor facilities. Great pool sauna and spa. The breakfasts were very good and varied and all staff extremely friendly, polite and helpful.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

New, modern hotel set across three blocks leading from the main road down to the sea. We were in a room in the block nearest the sea which housed both pools (indoor and outdoor), the spa, hairdresser and the bar and restaurant. Our room was a great size, with "balcony" - we were ground floor - wet room, TV, safe, tea/coffee facilities and mini bar. Fridge and tea coffee were both empty so we filled them ourselves from the local supermarket. Only problem we encountered was ants, loads of them, but we kept them at bay by not leaving stuff out. We also had a slight issue with getting the safe to work (at a cost of €1.50 per day) but this was resolved quickly by the staff on reception. I used the gym and the indoor pool whilst we were there - both were free, as were the sauna and steam room (only available after 5, but this suited as we were out most the day). There was ample parking on the street nearby which saved us the €5 per day the hotel charged for underground parking. All in all a great time, although wifi throughout the hotel would be good, as it is it's only available in the public areas at the moment. We never used the restaurant, breakfast was available for €11 each but as we are not big eaters we would eat at numerous nearby cafes and pay approx $5 for two toasted cheese & ham sandwiches and two coffees. Location wise, it's a way out of the center of town - we had a car which was handy, but it appeared that the island's bus service was very very good and numerous taxis were on hand should you have wanted them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel! We were so sorry to hear about the ants you had in your room, we wich you had let us known, we would have gladly solved this inconvenient situation for you promptly.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Golden Residence Hotel and remain
with best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.