We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best way to Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel is located near the beach Praia Formosa, the largest public, free beach in Madeira. The hotel offers apartments with a side view of the ocean. Golden Residence is divided into 4 blocks of buildings, from A to D. The best suites are, of course, in Block A, which is the outdoor pool. In block B has a restaurant, bar and spa. Block C and D are the most remote, but not worse.
Classic double room is large enough, a bedroom, bathroom, living room and balcony with side views of the Atlantic.
To get to the beach, it is a little tread, but the experience is guaranteed.
Near the hotel is a mall, store, car rental, several restaurants and a bus stop. I recommend their own transportation. For parking in the underground garage to pay € 5 per day.
Hotel is very clean, the staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast at the hotel are very rich and tasty. I recommend Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your experience in our Hotel!
On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I thank you for your kind words.
Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    122
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
62
219
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in September 2012 and found the experience very enjoyable and relaxing. Everything about the hotel was in the interest of the customer and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our package included Bed & Breakfast but having eaten a meal there on three of the evenings we would have no problem in booking Half Board if we were to stay in hotel again. The meal could be ordered from an A La Carte menu but they also have a buffet option which most people selected and it was excellent and there were loads of choices with a different theme each evening.
The location was a little bit out from the city centre but the hotel was well served by buses which stopped right outside the front door of the reception.

We would definitely return to this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to other who just want to chill out and relax.

Room Tip: We had a side sea view double room in Section B which opened onto a very quiet side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed in the Golden Residence Apartment Hotel recently and really enjoyed my holiday. I stayed half board and was not disappointed with the meals which were delicious with a great choice and variety of food and fruit served daily. I must mention the soup which was always tasty and delcious my complements to the chef and his dedicated team who were most professional at all times, they went about their tasks quietly and always ensured that the guests were satisfied and their needs met.

The staff at reception were excellent and friendly and most helpful. My rooms were spacious, large bedroom with en-suite, living room with sofa tv and hidden kitchen which I never uses. There was also a balcony with table and chairs. The room was situated on the 4th floor which was non smoking and very quiet,I noticed the sign SILENCE which was displayed just as one exited the lift. I slept so well is was peaceful and relaxing. Most evening I went for a swim in the indoor poor, there was also a jacussi, steam room and sauna.

It was a lovely holiday and I certainly will be returning to this hotel and would highly recomment it..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It was just perfect! The food, thank you the Chef, his team and the restaurant team! I have lots of intolerances in food, I felt like home.

The room, the view.. amazing.. the beach, the sea, the mountain and the swiming pool. The hotel situation is perfect near the center and quiet area.

The hotel is respecting the nature, it is not a huge building that kills the nature and the view...I really felt like home and relax, sereine. And this is the atmosphere of the whole building!

My room was in front of the swiming pool, and I could sleep during the day with the open window.

I tasted the massage anti-stress..nice

The whole staff is nice and available.

The two things I have regret are the cancellation of the yoga and the pilate sessions.

Room Tip: Room C015 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Situated outside Funchal it is modern and quite hotel with quality services and rooms. Modern decor with pleasing front desk welcomed us with great warmth when we entered this place and we realized that very moment we are at right place. We were not disappointed at all during our four day stay. Rooms were spacious, clean and well-furnished with balcony and sofa and tea machine. Bed was very comfy and provided us sound eight hour sleep every night. Not only outside even inside hotel it is so peaceful and collected that one remains imperturbable in the room even during the day. Bus stop is five minutes walk away from where any ride can take you to the city within 30 minutes, Sea is nearby and we took a daily walk to seaside restaurants and cafes however there is another mall in close vicinity with bunch of large restaurants, cafes and shops. Staff and services were impeccable and food at the restaurants inside hotel was scrumptious with lots of variety. Pool and other recreational facilities make it awesome place with family and friends, it also provides bus pick-up for guests interested in going for hiking. Truly majestic and peerless place to stay, highly recommendable!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruges belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have booked this Hotel through Neckermann Belgium. We stayed there from 22 nd June to 6 th July 2012.
It's the 11 th time we were in Madeira. We visited the hotel two years ago to have an idea what we could expect. So we were not disappointed. We have chosen the B&B formula since we know quite a few good restaurants. We had room C017 on the first floor very close to the swimming pool, so we had a lot of noise of screaming children playing and swimming in that pool. Double glazin of the window and the sliding door were rather ineffective. Our floor was marked as no-smoking, but on our arrival a Dutch neighour was smoking a cigarette and as soon as we hade opened the sliding door, our room was filled with the stench of tobacco smoke. I had to insist that this Dutchman put out his cigarette which he did.
The sunbeds were old and sometimes really dirty, some were full of sunoil. On July 5th all the old sunbeds were removed and replaced by new ones.
We could get 4 suppers for the price of 3. But I must admit that the quality of the food was rather mediocre. Reaching the centre of Funchal was easy: there is a bus stop almost in front of the entrance of the hotel, and with the "giro card" the journey cost about 1,10 euro.
It must be said that the bussing service at Funchal is very well organized, you really can get anywhere in a very short time: Monte, the Botanic Garden, etc. We were lucky the enjoy beautiful weather during the whole period of our holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the swimming pool if you want a little tranquillity! Try to book a room in Block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 12 days. Its situated in a quiet part of the town with lovely views of the nearby cliffs. The only negative thing I could say is that the Hotel has a bit of a strange set up, as it is divided into 3 blocks. You have to cross a road to get from the reception to the pool/restaurant area. Also you can have a bit of a trek when using some of the Hotel's facilities, as they were divided between the different blocks. Everything else is positive. The staff are very helpful and multi lingual. The Hotel is very modern and clean with a chilled out vibe. The breakfast is excellent, catering for all tastes. It has a nice pool area in lovely surroundings.

If you want to hire a car just ask at reception and they will organise it with the car being delivered to the hotel- very easy and convenient. Also there is a bus stop just outside the reception (bus no 2) or alternatively try the bus stop on the main road outside Block A. You can pay in cash, use a GIRO card (which can be topped up if you can find a machine to do this!) or alternatively reception sell day passes etc.

When I booked this hotel I was aware that it was a good bit out from the city centre but I didn't realise just how far. It takes a good hour to walk to the Old Town, which is not normally a problem for me but its not so good if when its hot! You really need to use the bus. If you want to stay within the Hotel Zone you can easily do this by foot.

Funchal itself is not a party town but if you want a relaxing safe holiday with a decent choice of restaurants, shops, museums etc, this is the place to go for a chill out holiday.

Room Tip: Anywhere on Block C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.