We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Residence Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 91 hotels in Funchal
bruges belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have booked this Hotel through Neckermann Belgium. We stayed there from 22 nd June to 6 th July 2012.
It's the 11 th time we were in Madeira. We visited the hotel two years ago to have an idea what we could expect. So we were not disappointed. We have chosen the B&B formula since we know quite a few good restaurants. We had room C017 on the first floor very close to the swimming pool, so we had a lot of noise of screaming children playing and swimming in that pool. Double glazin of the window and the sliding door were rather ineffective. Our floor was marked as no-smoking, but on our arrival a Dutch neighour was smoking a cigarette and as soon as we hade opened the sliding door, our room was filled with the stench of tobacco smoke. I had to insist that this Dutchman put out his cigarette which he did.
The sunbeds were old and sometimes really dirty, some were full of sunoil. On July 5th all the old sunbeds were removed and replaced by new ones.
We could get 4 suppers for the price of 3. But I must admit that the quality of the food was rather mediocre. Reaching the centre of Funchal was easy: there is a bus stop almost in front of the entrance of the hotel, and with the "giro card" the journey cost about 1,10 euro.
It must be said that the bussing service at Funchal is very well organized, you really can get anywhere in a very short time: Monte, the Botanic Garden, etc. We were lucky the enjoy beautiful weather during the whole period of our holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the swimming pool if you want a little tranquillity! Try to book a room in Block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    134
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
227
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 12 days. Its situated in a quiet part of the town with lovely views of the nearby cliffs. The only negative thing I could say is that the Hotel has a bit of a strange set up, as it is divided into 3 blocks. You have to cross a road to get from the reception to the pool/restaurant area. Also you can have a bit of a trek when using some of the Hotel's facilities, as they were divided between the different blocks. Everything else is positive. The staff are very helpful and multi lingual. The Hotel is very modern and clean with a chilled out vibe. The breakfast is excellent, catering for all tastes. It has a nice pool area in lovely surroundings.

If you want to hire a car just ask at reception and they will organise it with the car being delivered to the hotel- very easy and convenient. Also there is a bus stop just outside the reception (bus no 2) or alternatively try the bus stop on the main road outside Block A. You can pay in cash, use a GIRO card (which can be topped up if you can find a machine to do this!) or alternatively reception sell day passes etc.

When I booked this hotel I was aware that it was a good bit out from the city centre but I didn't realise just how far. It takes a good hour to walk to the Old Town, which is not normally a problem for me but its not so good if when its hot! You really need to use the bus. If you want to stay within the Hotel Zone you can easily do this by foot.

Funchal itself is not a party town but if you want a relaxing safe holiday with a decent choice of restaurants, shops, museums etc, this is the place to go for a chill out holiday.

Room Tip: Anywhere on Block C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel is situated outside Funchal - there is a good bus service, cheap too, which takes about 10 minutes to reach town, but you can walk there in about half an hour.It consists of 3 buildings,one at the upper road level, one in the middle, where the reception is situated and one on the seafront level.The room was fairly large, with a balcony, but rather bare, with wheelchair access in the bathroom.There were tea-making facilities, not something you can take for granted everywhere, and a fridge. There are 'Quiet' notices in the corridors - we later discovered the hotel had originally been built as a sanatorium. In fact, there are different treatment rooms in the upper level building.The hotel décor is modern and attractive with vibrant colours and large cushions. There is a pool, a nice restaurant with an inside and outside area, where a a good breakfast with all the usual items is served. We didn't have dinner, but what we saw looked appetising.We were there in January so it wasn't very full, nor was there much in the way of entertainment, just some music one evening, so generally it was rather quiet. Near the top building there is a mall with a large supermarket, cafés and shops, and you can go for long waks in both seafront directions, enjoying a drink or meal in the many bars and restaurants. Many guests go hiking and this can be arranged from the hotel with bus pick-up.. There was building going on opposite the hotel while we were there, but that was 5 months ago so perhaps it has been compleled.I would recommend the hotel to someone who doesn't mind walking (or taking a bus) and prefers to be away from 'the action.'

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building nearest the seafront with a view of the sea. The other side overooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a very modern hotel, with a relaxed atmosphere. There is a great outdoor pool with a seating area where you can sit having a beer watching the sunset over the Cabo Girao. Madeira is not known for it's party scene but if you are looking for a quiet-ish! break, in a hotel with excellent facilities I can't recommend this enough, especially in this price range. There is an indoor pool in the basement with a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. The breakfast served in the hotel is very high quality, we didn't eat dinner in the hotel but they serve a great selection salads for lunch that were also delicious. There are some great restaurants within walking distance and a shopping centre nearby for snacks. You can walk from the hotel into the centre of Funchal, it is long enough but it definitely builds up a thirst and appetite. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you like walking and getting to know and area through using public transport as we did.

Room Tip: Only the double rooms have "proper" sea views, all of the apartments are further back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Three blocks stretch lengthwise down the hill from Forum Madeira shopping centre to just above the sea, the hotel is round the corner from the rest of the Funchal lido hotels beyond Punta de Cruz and faces westwards giving good sunsets and afternoon sunshine.
Top block C has top floor street access to Estrada Monumental and 100m to taxi rank (and across road to the Forum ). Block B with reception is in the middle, and you cross a minor road into A with facilities at the bottom level.
A nicer arrangement than you might think from, blocks B &C overlook adjacent apartment block on one side but otherwise good sea views.
Very spacious studio rooms with balcony & large living room with kitchinette properly stocked with utensils. Walk-in wet room bathroom not a success, our floor did not drain off properly.

The hotel is furthest from Funchal but its only a couple more bus stops (you'll need a bus to just about all hotels) and the bonus is that frequent service route 2 (€1.25) stops at the hotel entrance and timekeeping seemed very reliable. Taxi to town €6 to €9 (costs more to come back due to road layout)

Breakfast was good with wide choice of quality ingredients, but content was erratic, bacon only on some days, garlic sausages on others. Freshly cooked eggs.
Didn't eat in for the evening (seems expensive) but plenty of choice on promenade down the hill 150 mtrs or budget catering in the Forum (which includes supermarket & cinema).

Management attended very promptly to a problem we had when power tripped off in our room.
Downsides, lacks any garden atmosphere and €5 daily charge for garage car parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors on NW side of B & C look onto apartment block. Studio rooms are very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel, in fact, apartment hotel is situated rather far from the centre of Funchal, but it is perfectly connected with the centre (by the bus, that stops at the entrance of the hotel) and with the airport - there is an airport bus, which is also not far. The rooms have a kitchenette with some basic utensils (cups, glasses), but, unfortunately, no forks or knives. Also it has a microwave oven and other things necessary to cook a simple meal. The views of the ocean are great, there is a terrace where you can enjoy ourstanding landscapes. My rate had breakfast included, you can also have dinner (which is good) there if you don't want to go out. There is also a swimmin pool and whirlpool on the lower level. I was there in mid-January, not many people, mostly from Germany, but I had an outstanding rest. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were given a fabulous suite in Block B. We looked out onto the banana trees and the sea beyond. Lovely. Wi Fi is now free in all rooms, you just have to arrange for your login info.
We booked direct with the hotel and thought we had a great deal.
Previously we had stayed close by in an apartment so knew the area and we love it because once breakfast is over its a lovely walk along the promenade all the way to Funchal centre in time for lunch? Sort your Giro out at the Bus Station and this gives you a card to swipe on the local buses. You can take the 48 bus which stops close to the hotel all the way up to Monte Palace Gardens.
I agree the decoration in the pool area is a bit boring but its clean and we made good use of the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.
We found a couple of new restaurants closeby this time. You really are spoilt for choice.
Always a smile at reception and particularly informative and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Residence Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua do Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence Apartment Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Residence Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Residence Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.