We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Residence to your Saves list
Golden Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Cabrestante, 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
donegal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 12 days. Its situated in a quiet part of the town with lovely views of the nearby cliffs. The only negative thing I could say is that the Hotel has a bit of a strange set up, as it is divided into 3 blocks. You have to cross a road to get from the reception to the pool/restaurant area. Also you can have a bit of a trek when using some of the Hotel's facilities, as they were divided between the different blocks. Everything else is positive. The staff are very helpful and multi lingual. The Hotel is very modern and clean with a chilled out vibe. The breakfast is excellent, catering for all tastes. It has a nice pool area in lovely surroundings.

If you want to hire a car just ask at reception and they will organise it with the car being delivered to the hotel- very easy and convenient. Also there is a bus stop just outside the reception (bus no 2) or alternatively try the bus stop on the main road outside Block A. You can pay in cash, use a GIRO card (which can be topped up if you can find a machine to do this!) or alternatively reception sell day passes etc.

When I booked this hotel I was aware that it was a good bit out from the city centre but I didn't realise just how far. It takes a good hour to walk to the Old Town, which is not normally a problem for me but its not so good if when its hot! You really need to use the bus. If you want to stay within the Hotel Zone you can easily do this by foot.

Funchal itself is not a party town but if you want a relaxing safe holiday with a decent choice of restaurants, shops, museums etc, this is the place to go for a chill out holiday.

Room Tip: Anywhere on Block C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank billybastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cologne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel is situated outside Funchal - there is a good bus service, cheap too, which takes about 10 minutes to reach town, but you can walk there in about half an hour.It consists of 3 buildings,one at the upper road level, one in the middle, where the reception is situated and one on the seafront level.The room was fairly large, with a balcony, but rather bare, with wheelchair access in the bathroom.There were tea-making facilities, not something you can take for granted everywhere, and a fridge. There are 'Quiet' notices in the corridors - we later discovered the hotel had originally been built as a sanatorium. In fact, there are different treatment rooms in the upper level building.The hotel décor is modern and attractive with vibrant colours and large cushions. There is a pool, a nice restaurant with an inside and outside area, where a a good breakfast with all the usual items is served. We didn't have dinner, but what we saw looked appetising.We were there in January so it wasn't very full, nor was there much in the way of entertainment, just some music one evening, so generally it was rather quiet. Near the top building there is a mall with a large supermarket, cafés and shops, and you can go for long waks in both seafront directions, enjoying a drink or meal in the many bars and restaurants. Many guests go hiking and this can be arranged from the hotel with bus pick-up.. There was building going on opposite the hotel while we were there, but that was 5 months ago so perhaps it has been compleled.I would recommend the hotel to someone who doesn't mind walking (or taking a bus) and prefers to be away from 'the action.'

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building nearest the seafront with a view of the sea. The other side overooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a very modern hotel, with a relaxed atmosphere. There is a great outdoor pool with a seating area where you can sit having a beer watching the sunset over the Cabo Girao. Madeira is not known for it's party scene but if you are looking for a quiet-ish! break, in a hotel with excellent facilities I can't recommend this enough, especially in this price range. There is an indoor pool in the basement with a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. The breakfast served in the hotel is very high quality, we didn't eat dinner in the hotel but they serve a great selection salads for lunch that were also delicious. There are some great restaurants within walking distance and a shopping centre nearby for snacks. You can walk from the hotel into the centre of Funchal, it is long enough but it definitely builds up a thirst and appetite. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you like walking and getting to know and area through using public transport as we did.

Room Tip: Only the double rooms have "proper" sea views, all of the apartments are further back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellhathnofury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Three blocks stretch lengthwise down the hill from Forum Madeira shopping centre to just above the sea, the hotel is round the corner from the rest of the Funchal lido hotels beyond Punta de Cruz and faces westwards giving good sunsets and afternoon sunshine.
Top block C has top floor street access to Estrada Monumental and 100m to taxi rank (and across road to the Forum ). Block B with reception is in the middle, and you cross a minor road into A with facilities at the bottom level.
A nicer arrangement than you might think from, blocks B &C overlook adjacent apartment block on one side but otherwise good sea views.
Very spacious studio rooms with balcony & large living room with kitchinette properly stocked with utensils. Walk-in wet room bathroom not a success, our floor did not drain off properly.

The hotel is furthest from Funchal but its only a couple more bus stops (you'll need a bus to just about all hotels) and the bonus is that frequent service route 2 (€1.25) stops at the hotel entrance and timekeeping seemed very reliable. Taxi to town €6 to €9 (costs more to come back due to road layout)

Breakfast was good with wide choice of quality ingredients, but content was erratic, bacon only on some days, garlic sausages on others. Freshly cooked eggs.
Didn't eat in for the evening (seems expensive) but plenty of choice on promenade down the hill 150 mtrs or budget catering in the Forum (which includes supermarket & cinema).

Management attended very promptly to a problem we had when power tripped off in our room.
Downsides, lacks any garden atmosphere and €5 daily charge for garage car parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors on NW side of B & C look onto apartment block. Studio rooms are very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel, in fact, apartment hotel is situated rather far from the centre of Funchal, but it is perfectly connected with the centre (by the bus, that stops at the entrance of the hotel) and with the airport - there is an airport bus, which is also not far. The rooms have a kitchenette with some basic utensils (cups, glasses), but, unfortunately, no forks or knives. Also it has a microwave oven and other things necessary to cook a simple meal. The views of the ocean are great, there is a terrace where you can enjoy ourstanding landscapes. My rate had breakfast included, you can also have dinner (which is good) there if you don't want to go out. There is also a swimmin pool and whirlpool on the lower level. I was there in mid-January, not many people, mostly from Germany, but I had an outstanding rest. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professor_lone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were given a fabulous suite in Block B. We looked out onto the banana trees and the sea beyond. Lovely. Wi Fi is now free in all rooms, you just have to arrange for your login info.
We booked direct with the hotel and thought we had a great deal.
Previously we had stayed close by in an apartment so knew the area and we love it because once breakfast is over its a lovely walk along the promenade all the way to Funchal centre in time for lunch? Sort your Giro out at the Bus Station and this gives you a card to swipe on the local buses. You can take the 48 bus which stops close to the hotel all the way up to Monte Palace Gardens.
I agree the decoration in the pool area is a bit boring but its clean and we made good use of the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.
We found a couple of new restaurants closeby this time. You really are spoilt for choice.
Always a smile at reception and particularly informative and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forgedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Structure is new, a bit out of the centre in an area with a lot of other hotels, but there is a very good bus connection to the center of Funchal (bus stops in front of the hotel) and you can easily rent a car for some days to discover the rest of this beautiful island.
The appartment rooms were very comfortable and big, staff was very helpful (having 2 small childs we had some specific requests that were answered immediately). Breakfest buffet is good, outside pool around new year was too cold, but was very nice and the view is on the sea is really great. There is an indoor swimming pool where there was almost nobody, it's not a nice surrounding, but my little daughter loved it, so who am I to say she wasn't right ? Shopping centre for buying goods to cook ourselves very close by, as well as some nice restaurants.
The hotel surroundings are also very quiet, I first thought there was almost nobody, but at breakfast I noticed this wasn't true, so that means that you never have the feeling to be in a too busy place.
Why not give it 5 stars then ? Well, in the end it all was a bit missing that little extra that makes it special.
One more note on Madeira as a whole : very much catered to tourists, but not too touristy and staff everywhere, even bus drivers and in the busiest restaurants, are very friendly, which is usually not the cased in very touristy areas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yaz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Address: Rua do Cabrestante, 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing