We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamento da Se

Save Saved
You added Hotel Apartamento da Se to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Apartamento da Se
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua do Sabao, 53, Funchal, Madeira 9000-056, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Rugby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We wanted a cheap week in Madeira for the sun. This apartment was ideal. In the middle of Funchal, near the Cathedral and all the Christmas celebrations. We ate out all the time. The weather was lovely. the staff are very friendly and helpful. Even to wishing my husband happy birthday. The rooms were cleaned well every day. Don't expect Claridges but you will get a good clean apartment.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wabush labrador
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I visited Funchal for the first time , and decided on this place...I didnt want a resort hotel or a place with hundreds of rooms. This place was perfect . First of all the staff could not do enough to help me with all the information I needed. Step outside the door and you are in the heart of thebest part of the city in my opinion . You can walk to the city centre, the Cathederal da Se , to the waterfront , close to the cable car, the revitalized area of cafes and restaurants where the doors are works of art...steps away from the hotel there are streets full of cafes and restaurants with great prices...the apartment was more than enough for me as a solo traveller and the fridge was a bonus to keep snacks and beer and wine chilled..also close to the theatre and so much more. while there , there was a festival and there was music everywhere. If you are a traveller that enjoys the local flavor I recommend you stay here , enjoy the neighborhood , the cafes and restaurants, by the way try the special madeira shishkebab with the cubes of a type of fried polenta cubes...all available a few steps away ..if you have time take a trip to Porto Santo ...this Island s 2 hours by boat, and worth the trip....if you have time stay a few days...It's the place to go if you want to escape for a while....I can never thank the people of Funchal for the warm welcome , help, and hospitality ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night after 2 weeks in a 5 start hotel in funchal. we stayed the extra night in order to take advantage of the easyjet flight prices which were £650 for 2 on monday to monday but only £350 for 2 thursday before the two weeks and tuesday afterwards. we booked the resort via expedia and as we were already staying there found its location when we were out walking one day in advance of going there. It was just as well that we did as it is located in the old part of town and in a pedestrain only zone so taxis cannot go up to the hotel but drop off not too far away. The room was only £35 for the pair of us on a room only basis. The room was large and clean , but did not have natural light as the window looked out on a small courtyard but it served our purposes. We found the staff to be unbelievably helpful. We had to vacate our 5 star at 10 am and they allowed us into our room at 10am. We had a late flight the next day and they allowedus to keep our room until 2.30pm all at no extra charge. There are excellent and cheap places to eat within 2 or 3 minutes walk from the hotel. There is no pool and we would not want to stay more than a couple of nights either before or after staying at a main hotel but it was supurb for what we wanted and we would stay again

Room Tip: Rooms large and clean on self catering basis but only downside no views or natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just spent 2 wonderful weeks in Funchal in a superior exterior studio.
Plenty wardrobe/clothes space but the kitchenette lacks a cupboard to put your food.
The extra bed/couch wasnt much use to us as it was just inside the door - the small TV in the bedroom section. Only 1 of the 2 cooker rings worked, but this wasnt a problem as we were mostly eating out. Bedlinen is changed weekly, towels every 3 days and tablecloth and napkins every 5 days. It was no problem to get clean towels from the cleaner though.The room was always cleaned thoroughly.
The aircon wasn't really doing the business and was dreadfully noisy. Very hot weather though.
We had stayed here in January for 3 weeks and loved the rooftop terrace. This time it was not so good because all but 2 of the wicker chairs had een taken away. Several sunbeds and 2 measly chairs, 2 parasols and 4 heavy round tables were available. Not much use. This area was never cleaned which was very disappointing.Filthy full ashtrays were spilling over (smokers could have emptied them,but didnt) We also expected the rooftop bar to be open at this time of year but it wasn't.
The reception staff were very nice and helpful.
Again it is the location of this place that is the best. It's so handy for everything,
We got the aerobus (return is 7.50euros) and it only takes 3 minutes to walk from the stop to the hotel. The bus stop for Lido, Camero de lobos etc is even nearer.
For the price we paid, this hotel was a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had an outside studio apartment in mid-June and it couldn't be faulted. The two things that would have made it better are wifi on the roof and a little welcome pack, coffee, tea etc.

It is conveniently located for pretty much everything and the staff are helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed here in early June for one week.
Hotel is located in the centre of Funchal behind the old cathedral and is in a short walking distance from Avenida de Mar where you can pick up most of the city and intercity bus services – handy for walking and sightseeing trips.
We stayed in an air-conditioned exterior studio apartment on the 4th floor overlooking a side street. It was surprisingly quiet for a city centre location.
The room was clean and as mentioned in previous posts it had small cooking facilities; 2 ring electric hob, a microwave and fridge.
The facilities are excellent for breakfasts and snacks but would not be good if you wanted to prepare a full meal. There are plenty of plates, cutlery and drinking glasses for 2 people. Furniture in the room includes a large fitted wardrobe, a small dining table, two chairs, dressing table and mirror, suitcase stand.
The beds were comfortable although the pillows were a bit soft and lumpy.
The bathroom was clean and well appointed with a good shower. We reported a problem with the hairdryer in the bathroom which was rectified by friendly reception staff on duty 24hrs. Small lobby with sofas and easy chairs and lift to all floors. Free wifi available in the lobby not in the room.
Breakfast is available in the hotel (approx 7euros) but we tended to make our own arrangements which included coffee at the small cafe bar opposite the hotel entrance. The hotel has a roof terrace – which is a great space to sit during the evening with views over the port and back inland. All in all a good budget choice in Funchal.

Room Tip: Go for an exterior room as the interior facing rooms looked to get very little natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartamento da Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento da Se

Address: Rua do Sabao, 53, Funchal, Madeira 9000-056, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Specialty lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apartamento da Se 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of the city of Funchal, in the historical area of Sé, fifty meters from the Cathedral, close to the Sugar Cane Museum & House of Conde João Esmeraldo. Century-old building, entirely restored, comprised of 5(five) floors. All the apartments have their own fully equipped kitchenette (electric 2-plate stove; fridge; microwave; coffeepot; kettle and toaster). All the rooms have air conditioning, telephone with direct line to the exterior, safe deposit box (rented), cable TV, complete bathroom with hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Apartamento da Se reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamento Da Se Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamento da Se, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.