We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice church” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Monte

Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Monte
Monte, Funchal, Madeira 9050-208, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 55 attractions in Funchal
Type: Religious Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 18th-century church, a pilgrimage site, is located in the picturesque village of Monte.
Milano
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The position is on the top of the hill, so very beautiful view.
The church itself is not exceptional, but if you go up to the Monte it worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    101
    29
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“must do it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful church, a baptism was going on when we arrived, but the main church was still open to tourists. Worth climbing the steps for.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Landmark visible from the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

While on the island of Madeira for a day (from a cruise ship) my husband and I went to Nossa Senhora do Monte. We made our way to the top hillside parish via the Madeira Cable Car. The cable ends in Monte and is a short walk to the church. When we arrived many people were waiting in line at the bottom of the church steps near the street. We believed these to be tour groups waiting for another to leave the church. (Also people trying to huddle from the rain!) We walked up the side street to the right and there we found a back walk way to the church steps. We walked the steps to the top and toured the church on our own. The ancient church is very elaborate inside with paintings similar to all churches. Outside there is a gift shop and area where you can light a candle in prayer for others. On a clear sunny day the view of the city Funchal below and the ocean is lovely. We unfortunately encountered fog and low visibility. After the weather cleared up and our ship left the port, we were able to clearly see the church and how far it was up the hillside. FYI - lots of step steps to climb for those with mobility issues.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rustic and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Setting on top of a hill it overlooks Funchal town. The church is verry historic and romantic. We we arrived and a service was just starting it was fab.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of Madeira's unmissable landmarks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The attractive Church located high above Funchal City in a deep wood of chestnut trees is one of Madeira's unmissable landmarks for many reasons. Some of them are it dates back to 1470 and is most famous as the location of the tomb of Charles I, Karl von Habsburg-Lothringen, the last Emperor of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.

Many travellers reach the Church by cable car.

Recommended to all travellers for the rich history, views and more..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Monte also viewed

 

Been to Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Monte to your Saves list