We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Flowers, Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pregetter's Orchid Garden

Pregetter's Orchid Garden
Rua Pita da Silva 37, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 103 things to do in Funchal
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
119 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Lovely Flowers, Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I truly wish there was a rating between very good and average for this particular attraction. I agree with all of the comments with regards to people about general scruffiness of appearance but what I will say is that the flowers they do have are fantastic and a photographers dream. It is a shame that there are some areas which are inaccessible but the variety of orchids maker this somewhere that someone who likes taking pictures of flowers could spend several hours. If you just like looking at flowers, this probably isn't the place for you however, since it isn't very varied and my wife got bored rather quickly. Had it been less money it definitely would have gotten a very good rating, when all the orchids are in bloom it is probably excellent

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    11
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perigord Noir
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rare orchids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Interesting variety of unusual and usual orchids in all shapes, sizes and colours, grown in jungle style settings indoors with an outside terrace area to enjoy coffee and cake 3,50€ pp and views across Funchal and the harbour. Take the bus no 28 or 29 from town.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not many orchids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This garden is quite a way down hill from the Botanical gardens, I really don't think it is worth the visit at the moment. It is a bit scruffy and I am sure there are more orchids to be seen in the flower market. I think 5 euros is a bit steep compared to the 4 euros for the Botanical gardens.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful orchids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found this garden using the Sat nav and were really pleased that we made the effort. The staff we met were helpful and friendly and informative. I now know how and why I killed my Wanda orchid. The orchids were simply beautiful as was the smell coming from one or two.
We visited in early December and were surprised to see how many flowers there were.
We also walked round the gardens and took in the view from the terrace.
It was lovely to meet the owner who was on her way to feed the white doves but took time to talk to us.
I suppose the best part was having the gardens to ourselves - very peaceful and relaxing.
It cost us 9 euros each. We did not visit the cafe.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Maybe it was the time of year, barely any colour in November, very dark inside, damp and cold! Wear a raincoat as narrow walkways between dripping plants!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pregetter's Orchid Garden also viewed

 

Been to Pregetter's Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pregetter's Orchid Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.