We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare orchids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pregetter's Orchid Garden

Pregetter's Orchid Garden
Rua Pita da Silva 37, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 55 Attractions in Funchal
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Perigord Noir
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rare orchids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Interesting variety of unusual and usual orchids in all shapes, sizes and colours, grown in jungle style settings indoors with an outside terrace area to enjoy coffee and cake 3,50€ pp and views across Funchal and the harbour. Take the bus no 28 or 29 from town.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    11
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not many orchids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This garden is quite a way down hill from the Botanical gardens, I really don't think it is worth the visit at the moment. It is a bit scruffy and I am sure there are more orchids to be seen in the flower market. I think 5 euros is a bit steep compared to the 4 euros for the Botanical gardens.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful orchids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found this garden using the Sat nav and were really pleased that we made the effort. The staff we met were helpful and friendly and informative. I now know how and why I killed my Wanda orchid. The orchids were simply beautiful as was the smell coming from one or two.
We visited in early December and were surprised to see how many flowers there were.
We also walked round the gardens and took in the view from the terrace.
It was lovely to meet the owner who was on her way to feed the white doves but took time to talk to us.
I suppose the best part was having the gardens to ourselves - very peaceful and relaxing.
It cost us 9 euros each. We did not visit the cafe.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Maybe it was the time of year, barely any colour in November, very dark inside, damp and cold! Wear a raincoat as narrow walkways between dripping plants!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Ok but only just worth the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went here in September taking a taxi from funchal. We negotiated this at 10 euro each way. The entry when we got ther was 5 euro each. The gardens are well up steep hills and i am not aware of buses to car/taxi seem to be the only ways to get there. The gardens were very pleasant but quite small and though we stayed an hour we could have seen the lot in 20 minutes. It was more like a small garden centre at home than what i had expected. Orchids can be purchased there for about 15 euro and there is a small cafe which is very reasonable. Our lasting memory are the lizards, hundreds of them and they eat cake. we stayed for a snak and about 20 lizards gobbled a small piece of cake that we dropped on the floor. We were glad we went but the cost and effort to get there and back were such that we would not bother again and if you have not gone before dont expect too much

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pregetter's Orchid Garden also viewed

 

Been to Pregetter's Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pregetter's Orchid Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.