We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madeiras hidden pearl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Papagaio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa do Papagaio to your Saves list
Casa do Papagaio
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Travessa do Papagaio Verde 31, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kristiansund, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Madeiras hidden pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The place, the people, the food and the view is unbelievable.
If you want pease in mind and complete relaxation - just og there and
find out.
A very good place to start exploring Madeiras fantastic nature, the nearest levada runs
beside the garden.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms by the pool. Very quiet - with a fantastic view, and you can jump rigth into the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This lovely home is a 25 euro taxi ride from the airport, set on a terraced hillside, overlooking a valley to the sea. The rooms are simple and comfortable - tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV etc, cleaned carefully daily by a courteous and friendly staff.
Breakfast is fresh tea of coffee, cheese, ham, fresh fruit, cereals bread and jams etc, with cooked eggs, pancakes, even doughnuts one morning. It is served on the terrace if the weather is good, if not, indoors.
If you want an evening meal, order it at breakfast and a lovely 2 course meal is produced, with a selection of wines, for a fair price - prepared by the staff - not formula food - excellent.
The house is well served by buses, there is a friendly local bar and minimarket - where we survived despite a complete lack of Portuguese, ordering what the locals ate and drank at lunchtime, and just amazingly cheap - find out for yourself.
Fellow guests were from Norway - been there 10 times before - which is a story in itself and a strong recommendation - and Netherlands - and Germany - a mix of older folk like us and young couples. Some had hired a car and they seemed to have a greater freedom to explore - to go whalewatching and other interesting experiences, which are more difficult by public transport.
So - no negatives - off the beaten track comfort, looked after by good people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A very nice place with a very pleasant welcome. Everything is perfect: the location with a beautiful view on the sea and sky in a tropical garden, closeby Funchal and the biggest sandy beach of Madeira (black but very nice anyway), the large upper appartment where you can see the sea from everywhere including from your shower (!), the breakfast and very good dinner including fresh fruits and vegetables from the garden. All the team including the pets) is so welcoming that you feel as if you were coming there for years even if it is the first time (as it was the case for us). Do not change anything !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just spent nine nights at Casa Papagaio and have really enjoyed our stay. The staff and the owners are extremely helpful and friendly and could not do enough to make sure that you were looked after and felt at home. The house is a fantastic blend of modern build with traditional furniture and is set up on a hill with good views out to sea. Comfortable roomy accommodation and peaceful at night.

The food was excellent - we had a couple of evening meals there and were made to feel like family members.

Although the situation of the Casa Papagaio is fairly rural, it is perfectly easy to locate with the instructions given and a decent map! (or Google ??)

We loved that there were animals around - although this may not suit everyone; they were well behaved and we didn't find them intrusive. The owners looked after them and it made us very happy to see that they were all so obviously well fed and cared for - we have often been abroad and become very distressed at seeing sick and injured animals being neglected so this made a refreshing change. We would both thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wanted a restful holiday in a lovely location, being looked after by fantastic people. Thank you Casa Papagaio!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere-Stad, Flevoland, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have spent a week in Casa do Papagaio Verde and we have really enjoyed it very much. As written in most other review, the owners and staff are very friendly and do their best to make your stay worthwhile.We loved the sea view from our appartment. It's a quiet and peaceful place to stay and with a rental car you can go out to see beauty of this island. You must be a cat and dog lovers, because there are plenty of them and they will not hesitate to pay you a visit :-) But they are all very friendly too.
We can't but recommend Casa do Papagaio Verde to have a very nice holiday.

Eric and Annemiek

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Without wishing to repeat previous entries, our stay at Casa Papagaio was exactly what we hoped for: peaceful and relaxing. As indicated on their website, they are in a 'remote' location in so much as they are not in Funchal town but there is a bus stop a 5 minute walk away and whilst the buses only run a couple of times an hour, they were always spot on time, making it very easy to plan our trips to and from Funchal. In fact we used the buses on several routes and found them to be extremely efficient, though you need a strong stomach for the speedy manner in which they take the tight, vertiginous bends on the downhill stretches! All the staff at Casa Papagaio were very helpful and friendly. We availed ourselves of the evening meal on the first night and were treated to some Espada which was beautifully cooked. The breakfast selection was generous and perfectly in keeping with a B&B and could be supplemented with scrambled eggs or pancakes. We stayed in the Apartment next to the main house for the first 2 nights. This has a kitchen/lounge downstairs and an ensuite bedroom upstairs. The following 7 nights we moved to the Upper Apartment which is easily, in our opinion, the best accommodation because of the view from the private balcony, but all the rooms/suites looked clean, smart and comfortable (we had a good nose around!) There were places to sit outside all over every bit of the property, and there was lighting throughout the gardens until at least 11pm which was the latest we came back. There is a sensor light at the gate and we had no problem navigating through the beautiful gardens to our apartment. We hired a car for 3 days in the middle of our trip through a company recommended by Casa Papagaio. We got a very good rate and the car was brought to the property for no extra charge. Parking is no problem at all as Casa Papagaio is on a side street with only a couple of other houses. There is a marvellous 'local' bar by the bus stop and we were made very welcome. It's not a place for 'night-life', but frankly you don't go to Madeira for that sort of holiday (no, we are not elderly/retired, we just value peace and quiet). There were 2 excellent restaurants in the next village which offered a free taxi there and back. We availed ourselves of this on 3 occasions. All in all a lovely place to stay and we would certainly visit again. We returned home fully refreshed. Thank you Casa Papagaio.

Room Tip: Go for the Upper Apartment for the view from the balcony. If you don't like dogs barking in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our stay at Casa Papagaio was excellent.
The owners and staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to ensure you enjoy your stay. Our apartment room opened out onto a private and secluded terrace with a marvelous sea view. The rooms are kept spotless and the large bed was very comfortable.
We would recommend enjoying an evening meal ( or several ) at Casa Papagio as the home cooked local dishes are excellent, especially the swordfish.
It is a decent walk from Casa Papagaio into Funchal, but the taxi journey only takes 5 or 6 minutes. Its location also ensures a quiet and peaceful stay.
We will visit again when we are next in Maderia.

Room Tip: Choose one of the apartment rooms that open out onto the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Papagaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Papagaio

Address: Travessa do Papagaio Verde 31, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Papagaio 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa do Papagaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Papagaio Hotel Funchal
Casa Do Papagaio Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Papagaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.