We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature lovers' Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Papagaio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa do Papagaio to your Saves list
Casa do Papagaio
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Travessa do Papagaio Verde 31, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Funchal B&B and Inns
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nature lovers' Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just spent nine nights at Casa Papagaio and have really enjoyed our stay. The staff and the owners are extremely helpful and friendly and could not do enough to make sure that you were looked after and felt at home. The house is a fantastic blend of modern build with traditional furniture and is set up on a hill with good views out to sea. Comfortable roomy accommodation and peaceful at night.

The food was excellent - we had a couple of evening meals there and were made to feel like family members.

Although the situation of the Casa Papagaio is fairly rural, it is perfectly easy to locate with the instructions given and a decent map! (or Google ??)

We loved that there were animals around - although this may not suit everyone; they were well behaved and we didn't find them intrusive. The owners looked after them and it made us very happy to see that they were all so obviously well fed and cared for - we have often been abroad and become very distressed at seeing sick and injured animals being neglected so this made a refreshing change. We would both thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wanted a restful holiday in a lovely location, being looked after by fantastic people. Thank you Casa Papagaio!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almere-Stad, Flevoland, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have spent a week in Casa do Papagaio Verde and we have really enjoyed it very much. As written in most other review, the owners and staff are very friendly and do their best to make your stay worthwhile.We loved the sea view from our appartment. It's a quiet and peaceful place to stay and with a rental car you can go out to see beauty of this island. You must be a cat and dog lovers, because there are plenty of them and they will not hesitate to pay you a visit :-) But they are all very friendly too.
We can't but recommend Casa do Papagaio Verde to have a very nice holiday.

Eric and Annemiek

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Without wishing to repeat previous entries, our stay at Casa Papagaio was exactly what we hoped for: peaceful and relaxing. As indicated on their website, they are in a 'remote' location in so much as they are not in Funchal town but there is a bus stop a 5 minute walk away and whilst the buses only run a couple of times an hour, they were always spot on time, making it very easy to plan our trips to and from Funchal. In fact we used the buses on several routes and found them to be extremely efficient, though you need a strong stomach for the speedy manner in which they take the tight, vertiginous bends on the downhill stretches! All the staff at Casa Papagaio were very helpful and friendly. We availed ourselves of the evening meal on the first night and were treated to some Espada which was beautifully cooked. The breakfast selection was generous and perfectly in keeping with a B&B and could be supplemented with scrambled eggs or pancakes. We stayed in the Apartment next to the main house for the first 2 nights. This has a kitchen/lounge downstairs and an ensuite bedroom upstairs. The following 7 nights we moved to the Upper Apartment which is easily, in our opinion, the best accommodation because of the view from the private balcony, but all the rooms/suites looked clean, smart and comfortable (we had a good nose around!) There were places to sit outside all over every bit of the property, and there was lighting throughout the gardens until at least 11pm which was the latest we came back. There is a sensor light at the gate and we had no problem navigating through the beautiful gardens to our apartment. We hired a car for 3 days in the middle of our trip through a company recommended by Casa Papagaio. We got a very good rate and the car was brought to the property for no extra charge. Parking is no problem at all as Casa Papagaio is on a side street with only a couple of other houses. There is a marvellous 'local' bar by the bus stop and we were made very welcome. It's not a place for 'night-life', but frankly you don't go to Madeira for that sort of holiday (no, we are not elderly/retired, we just value peace and quiet). There were 2 excellent restaurants in the next village which offered a free taxi there and back. We availed ourselves of this on 3 occasions. All in all a lovely place to stay and we would certainly visit again. We returned home fully refreshed. Thank you Casa Papagaio.

Room Tip: Go for the Upper Apartment for the view from the balcony. If you don't like dogs barking in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our stay at Casa Papagaio was excellent.
The owners and staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to ensure you enjoy your stay. Our apartment room opened out onto a private and secluded terrace with a marvelous sea view. The rooms are kept spotless and the large bed was very comfortable.
We would recommend enjoying an evening meal ( or several ) at Casa Papagio as the home cooked local dishes are excellent, especially the swordfish.
It is a decent walk from Casa Papagaio into Funchal, but the taxi journey only takes 5 or 6 minutes. Its location also ensures a quiet and peaceful stay.
We will visit again when we are next in Maderia.

Room Tip: Choose one of the apartment rooms that open out onto the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Casa do Papagaio in September and we are truly looking forward for our next visit! We found the location of Papagaio to be ideal as it is quiet and peaceful, but at the same time only at a short drive from Funchal and the main roads that take you to the rest of the Island. The garden is beautifully done, full of tropical flowers and the views over the sea are breathtaking. The cats and dogs in the garden are very friendly.
We stayed in the Upper Suite Apartment, close to the pool, and we could not recommend it more highly, with it's stunning views and decor.
For breakfast a variety of homemade jams and fruits from the home production are served, which gives it a very special homely touch. Besides that everyone was incredible nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just like the previous reviewer, I was hesitant about writing a review about Casa Do Papagaio because the people there were very nice and it seemed to exceed most people's expectations.
However, I feel it's important that we be honest about our stay here.
The main problem that we had was that the house was in such a remote location. There was no bar or restaurant at the house and none within walking distance. As we were staying bed and breakfast we had no fridge and no coffee or tea making facilities so we had to take the hire car all the way into Funchal ( and pay for parking too- which isn't in abundance) to get any food. When we got back at night there were no lights. The roads were windy and narrow and the parking was poor. There were also no lights on at the premises so we struggled to see to get back down the steps to get to the room.

We couldn't sit out at night as we had no balcony (and no light) and our room was so close to everyone elses that we were worried about making any noise. Similarly, at night it was hot in the room, but there was no ventiliation without opening the door. Then we felt we had to whisper all the time. We had a problem with insects too and I suffered with many mosquito bites. Plus of course, there's the 4 dogs and 5 cats that live on the premises who I was concerned could wander into the room at any time.

The continental breakfast was OK, but wasn't substantial enough for me and was somewhat inconsistent. Some days we were offered eggs, some days not. On our 4th day we had no hot water. We spoke to the lady ( Filomena) and she was very apologetic, but we decided to leave to go to another hotel which we arranged with our Thomson rep. The owners were kind enough not to charge a cancellation fee and for this we have to be grateful. The people who own the house and very nice and the staff are lovely, but this accomodation just didn't meet our expectations.
I think this place is probably suited to older couples who want to ' get away from it all'. I would certainly recommend self catering rather than bed and breakfast to anyone thinking of coming here.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a self catering room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The owners and their friendly staff could not do any more to make you feel welcome ad comfortable. The service was attentive but not intrusive. We stayed in August 2012 in the wonderful garden apartment which felt very private and secluded. The views from Papagaio over the sea are beautiful and the pool is immaculate and we used it every day. Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Papagaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Papagaio

Address: Travessa do Papagaio Verde 31, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Papagaio 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa do Papagaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Papagaio Hotel Funchal
Casa Do Papagaio Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Papagaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.