We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, remote, but not for everyone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Papagaio

Save Saved
You added Casa do Papagaio to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa do Papagaio
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Travessa do Papagaio Verde 31, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Funchal B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Friendly, remote, but not for everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just like the previous reviewer, I was hesitant about writing a review about Casa Do Papagaio because the people there were very nice and it seemed to exceed most people's expectations.
However, I feel it's important that we be honest about our stay here.
The main problem that we had was that the house was in such a remote location. There was no bar or restaurant at the house and none within walking distance. As we were staying bed and breakfast we had no fridge and no coffee or tea making facilities so we had to take the hire car all the way into Funchal ( and pay for parking too- which isn't in abundance) to get any food. When we got back at night there were no lights. The roads were windy and narrow and the parking was poor. There were also no lights on at the premises so we struggled to see to get back down the steps to get to the room.

We couldn't sit out at night as we had no balcony (and no light) and our room was so close to everyone elses that we were worried about making any noise. Similarly, at night it was hot in the room, but there was no ventiliation without opening the door. Then we felt we had to whisper all the time. We had a problem with insects too and I suffered with many mosquito bites. Plus of course, there's the 4 dogs and 5 cats that live on the premises who I was concerned could wander into the room at any time.

The continental breakfast was OK, but wasn't substantial enough for me and was somewhat inconsistent. Some days we were offered eggs, some days not. On our 4th day we had no hot water. We spoke to the lady ( Filomena) and she was very apologetic, but we decided to leave to go to another hotel which we arranged with our Thomson rep. The owners were kind enough not to charge a cancellation fee and for this we have to be grateful. The people who own the house and very nice and the staff are lovely, but this accomodation just didn't meet our expectations.
I think this place is probably suited to older couples who want to ' get away from it all'. I would certainly recommend self catering rather than bed and breakfast to anyone thinking of coming here.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a self catering room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The owners and their friendly staff could not do any more to make you feel welcome ad comfortable. The service was attentive but not intrusive. We stayed in August 2012 in the wonderful garden apartment which felt very private and secluded. The views from Papagaio over the sea are beautiful and the pool is immaculate and we used it every day. Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just came back from this lovely place in the outskirts of Madeira and already looking forward to a next visit. We stayed in the bedroom suite which is a very spacious and comfortable room. It has a great terrace and you can overlook the sea from your bed. The bed was very big and comfortable and we really appreciated the nice arm chairs in the room which give you a great moment to sit and read a book. Overall the house has a very cosy homely feeling, but without that feeling that you are being watched or controlled the whole time. The owners are extremely helpful in planning day trips and know some of the best hiking tours on the island where you can also escape the crowds. We also had a traditional Madeiran dinner in the house one night, which was also one the best meals we had on the island, so also that I can recommend. Overall an extremely relaxing stay in a green and ecofriendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

On arrival we were offered a welcome refreshment in the main house before being offered a free upgrade to the upper apartment which has a southerly sea view from each room. The apartment is well sized and meticulously clean ( it could easily sleep four although I think the max is three ).

You could be forgiven for thinking you have rented a villa as the pool in the garden is under used by the other guest, who were, no doubt out enjoying the fantastic Madeiran hospitality and scenery as were ourselves.

The location on the hillside adds to the properties character giving a fantastic vista over Funchal and out into the southern Atlantic. It would be beneficial to have a car for traveling around Madeira although the bus and taxi service is readily available.

You can also browse a wealth of guide books or use the internet service in the main house to plan those inevitable walks or drives into the National Park a few miles north of the apartments, where you will find stunning views across unspoiled landscapes.

I have already recommend Casa Do Papagaio and would happily holiday there again,,,

Obrigado! Philimena, Nyara and the rest of the staff for making our stay at Cassa Do Papagaio unforgettable.

Room Tip: Google earth directions first !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Fantastic place, beautiful view, peace and quiet, excelent food, and Filomena (owner)
and her crew is making the stay unforgettable. We love them.

We have been there for many years - and will go again !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Casa do Papagaio Verde is a wonderfull property at a perfect location near Funchal. But what made our stay unforgettable is the friendliness and hospitality that we experienced. The staff as well as the owners filled the house with such heartiness that we really felt sad as we had to leave for Germany.

Thank you so much for eyerthing, Filomena and Nyara and all the other staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Papagaio is a very nice cozy place. We stayed in the main building on the ground floor. You have a feeling of staying at smbd’s country house. Its territory is not huge but it is full of flowers and cats. You can relax on the chair or stay by the pool. The room is simple and spacious and clean (no fridge though!), the bathroom is clean and big enough. We have read about smell but didn't notice anything. The overall impression is that the place is not one of this modern things you meet today but it has its own character, rather personal. You have a home-like simple breakfast in the main house. Some vegetables, lettuce is from local garden. The Papagaios are very nice and very hospitable. You can get all advice you need, all the attention you may ask for. We would like to thank Filomena for her attention from the very beginning - our long mail communication. It was a pleasure to meet Filomena personally and thank her for such a nice stay.

The only drawback for us was location. It is in residential area. If you do not have a car, the way down to the beach may take you more than 40 minutes. And the journey is nothing special. So, if you look for a quiet cozy place to feel at home where nobody interferes, you have a car or a taxi to travel up and down the hill, don’t hesitate to come. Filomena and her staff will do their best to make your trip comfortable and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Papagaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Papagaio

Address: Travessa do Papagaio Verde 31, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Papagaio 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Casa do Papagaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Papagaio Hotel Funchal
Casa Do Papagaio Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Papagaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;