We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a personal but private holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Papagaio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa do Papagaio to your Saves list
Casa do Papagaio
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Travessa do Papagaio Verde 31, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Funchal B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a personal but private holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The owners and their friendly staff could not do any more to make you feel welcome ad comfortable. The service was attentive but not intrusive. We stayed in August 2012 in the wonderful garden apartment which felt very private and secluded. The views from Papagaio over the sea are beautiful and the pool is immaculate and we used it every day. Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just came back from this lovely place in the outskirts of Madeira and already looking forward to a next visit. We stayed in the bedroom suite which is a very spacious and comfortable room. It has a great terrace and you can overlook the sea from your bed. The bed was very big and comfortable and we really appreciated the nice arm chairs in the room which give you a great moment to sit and read a book. Overall the house has a very cosy homely feeling, but without that feeling that you are being watched or controlled the whole time. The owners are extremely helpful in planning day trips and know some of the best hiking tours on the island where you can also escape the crowds. We also had a traditional Madeiran dinner in the house one night, which was also one the best meals we had on the island, so also that I can recommend. Overall an extremely relaxing stay in a green and ecofriendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

On arrival we were offered a welcome refreshment in the main house before being offered a free upgrade to the upper apartment which has a southerly sea view from each room. The apartment is well sized and meticulously clean ( it could easily sleep four although I think the max is three ).

You could be forgiven for thinking you have rented a villa as the pool in the garden is under used by the other guest, who were, no doubt out enjoying the fantastic Madeiran hospitality and scenery as were ourselves.

The location on the hillside adds to the properties character giving a fantastic vista over Funchal and out into the southern Atlantic. It would be beneficial to have a car for traveling around Madeira although the bus and taxi service is readily available.

You can also browse a wealth of guide books or use the internet service in the main house to plan those inevitable walks or drives into the National Park a few miles north of the apartments, where you will find stunning views across unspoiled landscapes.

I have already recommend Casa Do Papagaio and would happily holiday there again,,,

Obrigado! Philimena, Nyara and the rest of the staff for making our stay at Cassa Do Papagaio unforgettable.

Room Tip: Google earth directions first !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Fantastic place, beautiful view, peace and quiet, excelent food, and Filomena (owner)
and her crew is making the stay unforgettable. We love them.

We have been there for many years - and will go again !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Casa do Papagaio Verde is a wonderfull property at a perfect location near Funchal. But what made our stay unforgettable is the friendliness and hospitality that we experienced. The staff as well as the owners filled the house with such heartiness that we really felt sad as we had to leave for Germany.

Thank you so much for eyerthing, Filomena and Nyara and all the other staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Papagaio is a very nice cozy place. We stayed in the main building on the ground floor. You have a feeling of staying at smbd’s country house. Its territory is not huge but it is full of flowers and cats. You can relax on the chair or stay by the pool. The room is simple and spacious and clean (no fridge though!), the bathroom is clean and big enough. We have read about smell but didn't notice anything. The overall impression is that the place is not one of this modern things you meet today but it has its own character, rather personal. You have a home-like simple breakfast in the main house. Some vegetables, lettuce is from local garden. The Papagaios are very nice and very hospitable. You can get all advice you need, all the attention you may ask for. We would like to thank Filomena for her attention from the very beginning - our long mail communication. It was a pleasure to meet Filomena personally and thank her for such a nice stay.

The only drawback for us was location. It is in residential area. If you do not have a car, the way down to the beach may take you more than 40 minutes. And the journey is nothing special. So, if you look for a quiet cozy place to feel at home where nobody interferes, you have a car or a taxi to travel up and down the hill, don’t hesitate to come. Filomena and her staff will do their best to make your trip comfortable and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staefa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Casa do Papagaio Verde for the 10 last days in May 2012, and had their Self Catering Studio, on the level of the main house, above the pool level. And we opted for the daily breakfast, where nearly everything fresh came from the house garden.

The Studio was impeccable, spacious and quite suitably furnished. Beds are good, bathroom is good, view out the glass doors is breathtaking, kitchenette and fridge are ok (although we had no ambitions to do three-star-cooking here, we normally went hiking and then for a late lunch, and had just some wine and bits for dinner here).

There are dogs barking on the whole hill (as reported by several people here), there must be hundreds of them (though during the night there was usually silence).
Casa Papagaio has some dogs also, but these are normally quiet and very friendly too. There are a number of cats as well, some of them very shy, some a bit on the nosey side (two of them stole one evening our prepared dinner: a plate of sliced salmon. But this was our own fault, and cats are cats, and therefore we did not even tell the owner; but who would't welcome an occasion to loose weight quasi for free).

As a resumee: a magnificent house, very friendly and caring people, i would recommend this place to everybody seeking a stilish but quiet place high above the center of Funchal.

And again to Doña Filomena and her team: Thank you for a wonderful stay in Funchal.

Ruth and Heinz, Staefa, Switzerland

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietário at Casa do Papagaio, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words about the Casa Papagaio and the Studio Apartment. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff and facilities too.
We are situated in the Funchal countryside, and as we are on a hill the barking also seems to echo which makes it seem like there are more dogs in the area than there actually are.

We look forward to receiving you at the Casa in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Papagaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Papagaio

Address: Travessa do Papagaio Verde 31, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Papagaio 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa do Papagaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Papagaio Hotel Funchal
Casa Do Papagaio Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Papagaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.