We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to look at other options?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Gardens to your Saves list
Ocean Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Monmouth Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No need to look at other options?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Location: Situated on a hill overl looking bay of Funchal - brilliant sea and bay views
- 5/10 minutes car ride into town plus the hotel has free courtesy coach
Hotel is approx 6/7 years old / 47 ? rooms
Travelling time to airport 15/20 mins

Hotel - very clean / imaginative design with huge roof top beautiful large garden areas and pool - plenty of sun longers available Plenty of small break out areas within hotel both for reading / eating and relaxing bar There is also a bar close to pool for drinks and light refreshment s Used the hotel's restaurant good value meals able to eat outside on sun terrace over the bay

Staff -Excellent always answered every query in a friendly professional manner

Rooms - good idea to book superior room with both a sea and bay view - we had room 109 with own small balcony

Funchal - nice town with interesting areas in Old town / lido and promenade

Car hire - good idea to explore the many beautiful and dramatic areas on the coast and interior - if you have driven abroad before should have no problems but some may find the winding bends / roads on the minor roads a bit of a challange - you just need to take time

We dont tend to return to the same place as there are so may other areas of the world to see but would have no hesitation in going back to Oceans Gardens in the future

A very relaxing break - hotel probably more suited to couples rather than young families who might want more facilities

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    65
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
139
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I actually booked to stay at Ocean Gardens as I had won a 2 day break at a more expensive Hotel in Funchal and wanted to extend my stay without paying too much, I wish the whole week was at Ocean gardens as it was so much more us. The staff was always very friendly, our room was comfortable and the view was fantastic, we went in the Pool and Jacuzzi and Just felt welcome the whole time. Yes you can not walk in to town but that was never a problem as the local buses were so regular you did not need to. We actually went to the west side “Hotel District” while we were there and were so grateful we had not booked a hotel there it was busy and pushy and to be honest a bit trashy where as Ocean Gardens is peaceful but easy to reach after going to town (Taxi’s varied in Price the cheapest were from the Rank in the old town which was about 8 Euros) Bus was 1e50 – each. We will be going back to Ocean gardens as soon as possible.The attached restaurant we found to be friendly and had the most sensational meat dishes and we ate there 3 times while we stayed at the hotel as the quality was so good. We did go for some meals in town and can recommend the Old town section for the best choice and meals otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Others have commented about the traffic noise but we did not find it intrusive - and we slept with windows open. The building, facilities, staff and area are all extremely good. The restraunt is frequented by the locals which is always a good guide to the quality.
This is 4 star plus plus hotel. - A car comes in handy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

I can confirm the positive reviews in generell , the negative is the noisy road in front of the hotel and I definitely recommend to hire a car staying in a hotel outside of towncenter.
We had booked a Low Cost Room over an travel operator. It was shown in the catalogue as having the same amenities as the normal double bed rooms.
But this was not the case!
We were given room 114, which did n o t have
a window at all , but a light shaft, no a/c, no Balcony, no seaview, it was small size and we were embarassed and changed the room right away.
We had to pay 175 Euro's additional for the Week/Room only to get, what we in fact had booked and payed allready out of the catalogue.
Is that 4 Star?
We did not have any experience like this with our past vacations.
This brings down the rating of the hotel by 1 Star
Roberto from the reception desk, however, was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed at the Ocean Gardens for a week in March 2010. The Hotel is on a hill overlooking Funchal just off the Motorway from the Airport (but not near enough to hear or see it!).
Reception was very welcoming and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The Hotel is very clean, with lovely gardens and a roof top pool/terrace area.Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, rolls, scrambled eggs and bacon, juice etc. Fresh tea and coffee wasindividually made as you came in for breakfast so was always hot and fresh.There is a free courtesy bus into Funchal several times a day, plenty of free parking and local buses stop outside. A perfect place for a quiet get away break.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

this hotel on the top of the hill next to funchal gives a perfect view from the ocean and from the city, there is no hotel with a better one there, not even the most expensive brands can beat it, of course you pay a price, you are not in the city centre, it takes you about 15 minutes by bus (hotel puts a free bus several times a day back and forth), but since the best to visit madeira island is to rent a car it shall not be a problem. we where there off season and we paid a ridiculous price for a great room, only small issue, there were ants sneeking into the room, but what can you expect being in tropical climate island! ;-)
facilities included swiming pool with a great view of the city, communitary yacuzzi, ...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

The reviews were correct. A fantatic hotel which had great views (dont forget your binoculars) and very clean.
Tips:
Try to get a' Bay' rather than 'Sea' view - rooms 101 to 110 I think. We had room 106 which was not big but had a great view.
Food in restaurant downstairs ok but rather unimaginative
Dont be affraid to catch the local bus 39 down into the town in the evening - cheap and reliable
Town very relaxed - did not feel at all concerned wandering through back streets even at night
Riso is a great contempary resaurant in the Old Town behind the fort - if you like rice
Like many hotels with tiled corridors the rooms can be a bit noisy at times but really not an issue as the hotel was always quiet by about 10.30!
Pool area is lovely - clean and quiet

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.