We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Gardens to your Saves list
Ocean Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay , clean, efficient, well run, friendly and helpful.
This hotel has a wonderful outlook to Funchal which is an hour downhill walk. Local busses pass every hour and the hotel offers a regular daily drop off and pick up from Funchal. The food is great with plenty to choose from at breakfast, snacks and a restaurant on site means you don't have to leave the hotel if you don't want too. The friendly staff will arrange tours and recommend places to visit or for a relaxing day, just lounge by the great pool. We will definitely be back for another relaxing week!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    62
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
127
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean with a beautiful sea view. Receptionists extremely helpful. I had a twin room & was really pleased with it. Breakfast was fresh and more than adequate. I booked the transfers to/from the Hotel, but Bus 113 goes to/from the airport & stops outside the hotel for about 3 euros & 15 cents. Look at the timetable to ensure the bus you get on is not for example 7.00 (E) as this (E) means it is an express bus and does not stop at the Hotel/ Airport. The hotel has a free shuttle bus that goes into town at 10am and collects at 1pm or goes into town again at 3pm & collects at 5pm. They drop off & collect near the parks.
Bus into town is number 39 (yellow bus) & costs 1.95 euros & stops outside hotel on way into town & opp side of road on way back. The hotel restaurant is really expensive.
You cannot exchange money in the hotel or banks, but can do so at Bureau de change booths in Town.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went in the first week of December and the weather was disappointing, mainly rain with one fine day, which didn't help matters.

This hotel is 15 minutes drive from Funchal along narrow roads without pathways. The hotel did provide a few shuttle twice a day, which was appreciated.

The hotel pool was freezing and no jacuzzi, but sauna working, although I did not try it.

The food at buffet breakfast was hardly warm, although there was a good selection of bread rolls, jams and meat. The evening meal was provided by a restaurant adjacent to the hotel and this was reasonable. The bar prices were nearly double of those in Funchal centre. I forgot to take a travel kettle, so no herbal teas for me.
The hotel was quiet with very few guests, so no evening entertainment, no books and no games available for guests.

If you are not prepared to hire a car, I would say give this one a miss.
I have to give credit to the locals in Funchal, who were all very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfat
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel 1 week in the middle of November.This hotel is not exactly in Funchal,but this can be more advantage for many people who know what and how to do.First,easy access from and to airport,simply use bus nr.113(SAM bus company)3,30 euro each way.Bus station is 10 metres from hotel door.Than easy access from and to city centre,hotel offer shuttle bus for free...or use bus(company Horario)nr.39.Hotel rooms are well done and we found only few problems.Water in bathroom was hot only first 2 days of our stay,than warm enough for quick shower,but not for bath.And 3 from our 7 nights stay,there was some noise coming from some kind of generator belong to hotel as we got info from barman from hotel restaurant.We don't gave problem with sleeping,but for people who have that,we do not recommend staying in rooms 107-111.We were in room 111,and noise was actually very uncomfortable lasting all night and stopped at 7 am...
On the 4 floor of the hotel is massive terrace,with great view over Funchal,harbour and Atlantic Ocean.There is also swimming pool,but water was very cold,I think that couple of solar panels can do nice work and not cost big money..Sauna was also welcoming and apart there was no or broken light inside,worked well.Jacuzzi room was without jacuzzi,we got info from reception,that jacuzzi was broken and taken away just before we arrived.Hotel staffs were nice and friendly,breakfast more than good with wide choice of hot and cold meals and drinks.What we would love say separately was housekeeping service,this women deserve 5*,great everyday service.
We payed for week stay £243,and if we come back to Madeira,and price here will be still around 250-300 for week,we definitely come back here,despite few problems as were written above.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Lovely Hotel Perfect Room great views fantastic staff
have given 5/5 despite the breakfast (it maybe plentiful but there are no words to describe the eggs bacon beans or the sausages) The latter were beige/grey and totally awful
If you're British and like your Tea take some tea bags
Avoid the bar unless you get a quote first. 22 Euros for 3 drinks in town same round was 10 Euros
The restaurant is well worth a visit, we had a table on the veranda, which was perfect.

Room Tip: low numbers are better west facing rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful week at this beautiful hotel. Exceptionally clean, spacious and nicely furnished rooms. (We had a sea view)We opted for B&B and a plentiful breakfast was offered. The pool area ( on top of the hotel with amazing views over Funchal) was lovely and peaceful. The only downside was that there is no pool bar although a phone is provided poolside to order any drinks/food to be bought up to you.
The hotel restaurant offered excellent food with great service but was a little pricey however the weekly Madeiran Folk Evening held in there on Friday was well worth going to and was thoroughly enjoyed by all.
The hotel runs a shuttle bus into Funchal and back twice a day. If you wished to spend the evening down in the town it was easy to get the local bus from just outside the hotel and was cheap (about 2 euros)
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and one even gave us a lift down into the town on her way home one evening to save us waiting for the bus!
It is a 15 minute ride on the bus from the hotel into town. It was not really possible to walk there but we loved the position of the hotel on the cliff as the views were spectacular and it was lovely and peaceful - which is what we were looking for. ( might be a bit quiet for some people though)
Overall it was an excellent hotel and we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just back from our return visit to Ocean Gardens Maderia. Again we were not disappointed, the room was lovely with balcony overlooking the sea. This time we stayed half board as the food is so good in the resturant, the staff are all so very friendly & very willing to help. There is a shuttle bus down into Funchal every day (except sunday) or the service bus stops outside the hotel & passes every 15 minutes. The roof top gardens offer an even more spectacular view over Funchal, where you can sit & enjoy the sunshine or watch the large ocean liners bringing visitors to Maderia. Cant wait to go back again next time in the spring to enjoy all the beautiful flowers the island has to offer. We hired a car for three days & toured the islands many beautiful bays & mountain tops, but if you don't fancy driving yourself there are plenty of tour's available where you can be picked up from the hotel.

Room Tip: The superior rooms will give you a better view over Funchal but all rooms have a balcony & sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.