We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and super clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Gardens

Save Saved
You added Ocean Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing views and super clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just back from 7 nights at the Ocean Gardens. The hotel and grounds are immaculately kept. We booked via Trivago and had a good deal on 7 nights B & B with an upgraded room - the views from the superior rooms are outstanding and have the sun from midday till sunset. Bed was a bit on the hard side but had no problems sleeping. Bedding and towels changed daily and the room, although a bit tired in places, was very clean. Plenty of hot water, hairdryer and fridge provided in the room but no tea or coffee making facilities so take your own travel kettle if you like a cuppa! Breakfast was ok although same each day which would definitely be a problem for longer than a 7 night holiday. We ate twice in the a la carte restaurant - good service and again great views but food a bit hit and miss and on the expensive side.
We knew before booking that this hotel was out of town and we did go into Funchal each day, sometimes by bus and sometimes by taxi - travel does add up so you need to be aware of this if you decide to stay in the Ocean Gardens. There is a snack bar only about a 5 mins walk downhill from the hotel, which we went to a couple of times for cheap eats and drinks - well worth the walk - no menu but the owner will cook you whatever fresh food she has on the day. As others have mentioned, there is no footpath and you will need to walk on the edge of the road - we didn't find this a problem and the road is well lit.
All in all, a great place to stay in Madeira as long as you don't mind a bit of traveling - enjoy!

Room Tip: Upgrade for the best afternoon sun and sunsets - Room 105 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    58
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
109
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I visited the Ocean Gardens in August 2013. It didnt disappoint! The views are incredible and thats what sells the hotel, staff are so welcoming and friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The hotel is a cab ride/bus/shuttle service away from the main town centre (we did try and walk it but we dont recommend it!) however the bus is only 2 euros approx for a single to the town and the hotel offers a shuttle service twice a day. The drinks are expensive in the hotel, so we drank local beer which was 2 euro 50 cents. We went half board and there was a different choice everyday, the food was of a good standard, you can eat from the normal menu, but you pay extra for this. A continental buffet breakfast is served everyday and it has good choice and is fresh. The swimming pool area is very nice and the views are simply breathtaking, I have seen another review on here saying that no refreshments are available at the pool, however they do provide a telephone service so you can call down for whatever you would like. Ask for an ocean view room. From our balcony we could see the whole of funchal with the water to our left, one of the best if not the best view we've had from a hotel room. In the area we would recommend a boat trip out to see the sealife and also the cable cars. The views are what make this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

just returned from ocean gardens ... such a clean hotel with very very good staff ... upgrade always to a superior ocean view room the view is fantastic ... lovely grounds and plenty of quiet spaces ... breakfast a good continental with a partial hot cooked .. lots of variations on bread.... resturant for half board very good staff always going the one step further to help ... yes there is only an either or alternative but even if you want to buy anything is reasonable and well cooked ,,, sometimes too much choice lets a place down and i know some have complained about the lack of choice ...
hotel shuttle bus ideal and worth using book with reception also a well done to carlos in the bar very friendly and makes a wicked cocktail will go back again . lastly thank you to all the resturant staff for a lovely week the reception staff and cleaners just wish other hotel could visit to see how good this one is

Room Tip: updrade to superior ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Rooms are adequate, air conditioning not in good working order and very noisy. Breakfast was very repetitive but edible. The views from the garden top and restaurant are amazing and that's it as far as it goes. The amenities are very poor the pool is situated on the 4th floor with no refreshment facilities other that a phone to ring down to reception to order a drink!!!
we had taken a half board package and the food was just awful "Fish fried with sprouts", yes we did get sprouts with our fish........ The restaurant is franchised and the food is really nice when your paying an extravagant amount of money for it, but it appears that the owners of the hotel will not pay any extra for the guests so you get a very cheap option. The restaurant staff are great and thanks to them it made a difference. The owner was at the hotel for a few days whilst we were there and the atmosphere was dreadful all the staff appeared to be in fear of them!!! this made our stay uncomfortable.
The hotel is too far out of the town with no shops, bars ect close by. You would take your life in your own hands if you walked down the hill as they drive stupidly fast, this includes the bus drivers.
I can not personally recommend this hotel and I will not be going back. Like most people you work hard and save hard for a holiday and this hotel did not live up to my expectation.
Take my advise and go to another hotel, Funchal is a lovely city and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Rooms adequate, Staff superb, breakfast good, views amazing with the right room. That is where it stops. The amenities are poor. No porter to carry cases. A 4th floor pool with no refreshment facility. The worst of all is the restaurant with a stone age chef and a boring menu. The only other way to get an evening meal of good quality is to bus or taxi into Funchal and get a quality meal at half the price. By the way the bar prices are a disgrace. we booked half board and the choice is abysmal, driving you to the main menu that is over priced and generally only meat and fish with salad for 25 euros each without vegetables. Nice staff save the day. The management need to stop taking the piss.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our room was a good size and very comfortable, the bathroom needs an update and it was difficult to get into the shower/bath. A plug so I could have a bath would have been nice. Had a minor problem with ants in the bathroom, but they soon disappeared. The air con fan was too loud to leave on overnight.The buffet breakfast was excellent. The half board menu was a bit restrictive on a couple of occasions but the food in general was very nice. The staff make the hotel, they were all friendly & helpful, especially the waiters. The rooftop pool was fantastic, but, there was no jacuzzi which was disappointing. The hotel minibus was useful & the local buses are easy to use & very cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had never visited Madeira before this trip but we were told that we would have a lovely time - we certainly did! This was due in no small part to the staff and facilities at Ocean Gardens Hotel in Funchal. Perched on the edge of Funchal just 15 minutes from the airport this hotel was just perfect. Everywhere was totally spotless and the staff could not have been friendlier - the restaurant staff were so lovely and we had a lot of fun with them (special thanks to Carlos and Joan for their superb customer service). Admittedly the hotel did not have entertainment in the evenings (although Portuguese TV is interesting!!) but we were there to relax and the surroundings certainly gave us that. Lovely pool and gardens, beautifully appointed rooms and a real laid back atmosphere. We were half board and certainly didn't think it was too 'samey' - with a choice of starters, meat or fish main and choice of desserts we weren't fishing around for something we fancied Admittedly if you did 2 weeks you might find it boring but it was always well cooked and well presented. The courtesy bus was so handy down to the centre and the local bus stopping right outside the hotel was a bonus. Best tips for trips - use the yellow buses for a cost effective tour if the main sites of Funchal and if you want to do Monte go up by local bus as part of the tourist deal which includes a cable car ride from the botanical gardens - and avoid the taxi drivers and the exorbitant toboggan ride!! The typical Madeiran evening was also well worth it. Fabulous hotel in a fabulous country - thank you Ocean Gardens!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Estrada Conde Carvalhal, 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9000, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.